HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

The AMD Zen2 Ryzen 3000 Discussion Thread

Like Tree113Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 24-07-2019, 01:44 PM   #106
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,191
Incorrect.

(M2A_SOCKET):
Š 3rd Generation AMD Ryzen™ processors:
- 1 x M.2 connector (Socket 3, M key, type 2242/2260/2280/22110 SATA and
PCIe 4.0 x4/x2 SSD support)
You're right, I copied the wrong info. The one I copied was for the Vega Graphics.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Mainboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Graphics Card
ASUS Dual RTX 2080 OC Edition
Memory
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 32GB
Display
Dell Alienware AW3418HW
Storage
Sabrent 1TB Rocket NVMe 4.0 Gen4 PCIe M.2
Optical Storage
-
Casing
Corsair Graphite 760T
PSU
Corsair AX860i
Audio
-

nckai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 01:53 PM   #107
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,191
Should not be any issue.

You must first understand Ryzen PCIE lanes.

There is total 28x lanes in Ryzen 3000 series.

Of which, 4x lanes goes to the chipset. This 4x lanes that goes to chipset. The user has to choose, either u go for SATA ports, or you use it for m.2 nvme. If you choose to go for m.2 nvme, they will disable a few SATA ports instead. This m.2 slot that is connected to the chipset is usually the bottom slot m.2... or the last pcie slot.


The rest of the 24x lanes will be distributed to the pcie slots.

Some high end x570 have 3 m.2 slots. 1st 2 slots are direct to the cpu.

If you choose to put 2 gpus, you will run it at x8x8. The remaining x8 is divided into x4x4 for first 2 m.2 slots.

So in all you should not be running out of pcie lanes. Not unless you go for triple gpu set up.

And all m.2 slots are not hindle by speed. And all are supporting x4 gen 3.0 lanes.
Thanks for the explanation! Am I right to say that the remaining 24x lanes are distributed to slots that only have components connected?

Any difference whether the SSD is connected direct to CPU or chipset? My concern is that the first M.2 slot may be obstructed by Noctua D15S and GPU, making removal difficult.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Mainboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Graphics Card
ASUS Dual RTX 2080 OC Edition
Memory
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 32GB
Display
Dell Alienware AW3418HW
Storage
Sabrent 1TB Rocket NVMe 4.0 Gen4 PCIe M.2
Optical Storage
-
Casing
Corsair Graphite 760T
PSU
Corsair AX860i
Audio
-

nckai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 02:00 PM   #108
Master Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,825
Thanks for the explanation! Am I right to say that the remaining 24x lanes are distributed to slots that only have components connected?

Any difference whether the SSD is connected direct to CPU or chipset? My concern is that the first M.2 slot may be obstructed by Noctua D15S and GPU, making removal difficult.
CPU is usually fastest. Second slot is even more obstructed. Why remove it?
shadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 02:09 PM   #109
High Supremacy Member
 
royfrosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25,443
Thanks for the explanation! Am I right to say that the remaining 24x lanes are distributed to slots that only have components connected?

Any difference whether the SSD is connected direct to CPU or chipset? My concern is that the first M.2 slot may be obstructed by Noctua D15S and GPU, making removal difficult.
The cpu is the fastest. But however this time round, they have it all link back to cpu. Even the chipset one is allocated from the cpu. Is just a flexibility for you to choose between pcie lanes or sata ports.
hg2 likes this.
Processor
AMD R9 3900X
Mainboard
MSI Prestige X570 Creation
Graphics Card
Palit RTX 2080 8gb Gaming Pro OC
Memory
Gskill Trident Z 3733Mhz 2x16gb kit
Display
LG 32GK850G Gsync display
Storage
Samsung Evo 960 1tb + Adata XPG SX8200 1tb Pro
Optical Storage
Can eat or not?
Casing
Lian Li O11 Air
PSU
Seasonic Prime 850w 80+ Gold
Audio
Bose Soundtouch 300 + Bose Acoustimass 300 + Bose Invisible 300
OS
Windows 10 Pro

royfrosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 03:04 PM   #110
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,191
Thanks everyone, I shall stick to slot 1 then, better don't kay kiang.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Mainboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Graphics Card
ASUS Dual RTX 2080 OC Edition
Memory
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 32GB
Display
Dell Alienware AW3418HW
Storage
Sabrent 1TB Rocket NVMe 4.0 Gen4 PCIe M.2
Optical Storage
-
Casing
Corsair Graphite 760T
PSU
Corsair AX860i
Audio
-

nckai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 03:31 PM   #111
hg2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 261
Thanks everyone, I shall stick to slot 1 then, better don't kay kiang.
I just pick the spot that comes with e bundled M.2 heat sink+fan on Aorus X570 motherboard.
That's the best cooling option for 1TB NVME, and if you using 3900x the I/O bandwidth is symmetric, and it can get pretty hot for prolong read/writes.


Last edited by hg2; 24-07-2019 at 04:32 PM..
hg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 04:06 PM   #112
hg2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 261
Thanks

On another note I feel that AMD is a bit to aggressive with XFR2/PB/PBO algorithms.
On auto doing a 6 min video encoding with handbrake shoots the temps on my 3600X to
about 90 over degrees on the wraith spire stock cooler. A little too hot for my taste.
Going manual on stock voltage of 1.225Vcore with a cpu ratio of 41 gave me the roughly
the same performance, with better package power of about 70~75 watts and temps when down to
about 80 degrees, a whole lot better than Auto!!.
Maybe with the Wraith Prism or a better cooler/AIO it would be ok I guess but for me I'm sticking
with my manual settings.

And on yet another note a better way to O.C. the R3K cpus seems to be per CCX O.C. for those
that like to tinker instead of an all core O.C. I did try it but am limited with my cooler.

Vid by der8auer and a reddit link below on how peeps go about doing it.....have fun!!
Yeah, thanks for suggestions. Have fun trying der8auer methods, with Ryzen master to overclock the RAM and CPU.
Very impressed with Ryzen master software, and must say AMD has done a very good integration with the motherboard. So much so, that u can do most manual overclocking safely without touching the bios at all...

Too bad, sinkie weather is so hot that u can't get any decent results in room ambient temperature. During tests the Ryzen CPU temp can spike to 105c so AIO and aircon is a must-have,

7845 Cinebench R20 with 3900x, X570, Rx5700. (1.6X faster stock 9900k...)
Any higher will definitely need nitro for my chip...LoL



CPUZ Single core

9900k still king of the hills for single core, but 3900x can equalize with a bit of OCs....

CPUZ multi-cores


Bye bye 9900k

Results with AGESA 1.0.0.3AB, AIO pump+fan at 99%.
Ryzen Master. OC DDR4 Memory clock 1600 ->1800, Fabric clock 1600->1800. 1:1:1 Ratio wih infinity fabric
Ryzen Master per CCX, VCORE OC.

ALL WITHIN AMD OFFICIAL OC SOFTWARE LEGAL LIMITS. INDIVIDUAL MILEAGES MAY VARIES.

Last edited by hg2; 24-07-2019 at 07:38 PM..
hg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 06:36 PM   #113
Supremacy Member
 
hlots123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,099
On another note I feel that AMD is a bit to aggressive with XFR2/PB/PBO algorithms.
On auto doing a 6 min video encoding with handbrake shoots the temps on my 3600X to
about 90 over degrees on the wraith spire stock cooler. A little too hot for my taste.
Going manual on stock voltage of 1.225Vcore with a cpu ratio of 41 gave me the roughly
the same performance, with better package power of about 70~75 watts and temps when down to
about 80 degrees, a whole lot better than Auto!!.
Maybe with the Wraith Prism or a better cooler/AIO it would be ok I guess but for me I'm sticking
with my manual settings.
kiv, limit ppt & 3533 to ssrr,
https://old.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...ermals_reduce/
https://old.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...or_at_3600mhz/
https://old.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...e_limit_boost/
hlots123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 07:19 PM   #114
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Solojaywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18,009
i would say msi x470 gaming plus is a good shout... but if x570 gaming plus is another few tens away, would gladly go for a full fledge 3K combo. BIOS update on older gen sure slower than current gen.

what u get from MSI is:
  1. very2 decent components especially VRM
  2. quite frequent BIOS update
  3. Daisy Chain for better dual DIMMs memory OC

Unless u need sli and other extra features, b450 is better value.
thank you guys for informative post! I will decide on one mobo soon

thanks alot
__________________
Sent while 边posting边过马路
Solojaywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 09:31 PM   #115
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,011
https://youtu.be/SY2g9f7i5Js

Ryzen 3 seems weak for games. I suspect is amd turbo limited, giving lower fps and bigger dips. Manual overclock also limited
9700k is about same price or thereof.
kimsix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 10:21 PM   #116
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Rashkae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,927
https://youtu.be/SY2g9f7i5Js

Ryzen 3 seems weak for games. I suspect is amd turbo limited, giving lower fps and bigger dips. Manual overclock also limited
9700k is about same price or thereof.
"AMD turbo"??

You mean pure clockspeed - yes, games love this.

But AMD gives better multithreaded results at lower power consumption. In that video, the 9700k was liquid cooled. The AMD system used the supplied stock HSF.

"9700k is about same price or thereof."

330 USD vs 409 USD. That's not the "same price".
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X
Mainboard
Gigabyte Aorux Xtreme x570
Graphics Card
MSI 2080Ti Trio X
Memory
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB (4x8GB)
Display
Alienware 3418DW
Storage
Sabrent 2TB PCIE-4
Optical Storage
Who needs one
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo EvolvX
PSU
Asus ROG Thor 850w
OS
Windows 10 Pro 64

Rashkae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 11:33 PM   #117
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,011
amazon prime 9700k only S$530, add $40 for hsf. Amd biggest problem with rzyen 3 is low clock speeds like that. The video is already at stock Intel winning, if all cores 5ghz lagi worse, no wonder Intel like boh action still. haiz not sure if should wait for cascade lake lga2066 instead 16 cores ryzen 3.
kimsix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 11:37 PM   #118
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Rashkae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,927
amazon prime 9700k only S$530, add $40 for hsf. Amd biggest problem with rzyen 3 is low clock speeds like that. The video is already at stock Intel winning, if all cores 5ghz lagi worse, no wonder Intel like boh action still. haiz not sure if should wait for cascade lake lga2066 instead 16 cores ryzen 3.
What monitor are you using?
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X
Mainboard
Gigabyte Aorux Xtreme x570
Graphics Card
MSI 2080Ti Trio X
Memory
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB (4x8GB)
Display
Alienware 3418DW
Storage
Sabrent 2TB PCIE-4
Optical Storage
Who needs one
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo EvolvX
PSU
Asus ROG Thor 850w
OS
Windows 10 Pro 64

Rashkae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2019, 11:50 PM   #119
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Rashkae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,927
amazon prime 9700k only S$530, add $40 for hsf. Amd biggest problem with rzyen 3 is low clock speeds like that. The video is already at stock Intel winning, if all cores 5ghz lagi worse, no wonder Intel like boh action still. haiz not sure if should wait for cascade lake lga2066 instead 16 cores ryzen 3.
Since you die die want to get Intel and are making every excuse to overcome Intel shortcomings, just go buy your 9700k and leave the thread.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X
Mainboard
Gigabyte Aorux Xtreme x570
Graphics Card
MSI 2080Ti Trio X
Memory
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB (4x8GB)
Display
Alienware 3418DW
Storage
Sabrent 2TB PCIE-4
Optical Storage
Who needs one
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo EvolvX
PSU
Asus ROG Thor 850w
OS
Windows 10 Pro 64

Rashkae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2019, 12:18 AM   #120
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,319
experienced something funny today, cpu fan became very loud once i did anything
pulled up task mgr and found that for any process that is active, it always consumes very high cpu
once that process gets closed, another will take up high cpu

googled and found this
Open administrative command prompt and enter these commands, this resets power configs and idledisable feature which might have been enabled by mistake with the update

C:\WINDOWS\system32>PowerCfg /SETACVALUEINDEX SCHEME_CURRENT SUB_PROCESSOR IDLEDISABLE 000

C:\WINDOWS\system32>PowerCfg /SETACTIVE SCHEME_CURRENT

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...ws_10_updates/


good info for anybody who experiences this
hg2 and gld998 like this.
lumpyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On