HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

The AMD Zen2 Ryzen 3000 Discussion Thread

Like Tree119Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 17-01-2020, 07:28 AM   #1456
Supremacy Member
 
Gaminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,409
These are Ctl or die temps?
Dunno leh, just monitoring on Ryzen Master (RM)...

The Ryzen CPU's have this tendency to have wild temp spikes, temps can be 39C at idle, but open Chrome or Firefox and the temp may spike up anywhere from 5C to 10C.....really weird. When I hit the 'clear log' tab on RM, temps would just drop to 39C again.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X+Tt Water 3.0 360/Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X+H150i Pro/i7 4770K+ Tt Floe Riing 360
Mainboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme/Asus Rampage IV Extreme/MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Graphics Card
PC Vega64 Red Devil/GB RX VEGA 64 Gaming OC//LeadTek GTX1080 Hurricane
Memory
2x 8GB Patriot VS 3733MHz/4x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator Plat 2133MHz/4x 4GB DDR3 RipJawsZ 1600MHz
Display
Acer XR341CK 21:9/Samsung C49HG90DME 32:9/Panasonic 65" 4K TV
Storage
256GB Sabrent Rocket NVMe M.2 (OS) + 4TB 860 EVO + 2TB 860 QVO + 2x 1TB 850 EVO + 6TB WD Black
Optical Storage
Liteon EB1 BR RW
Casing
CM MasterCase H500M/Caselabs Magnum M8/Tt View 31
PSU
Corsair HX1000 Plat/Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MAX REVO 1500
Audio
Oppo HA1 + Philips Fidelio HTL9100/iFi Micro iDSD BL + Samsung HW-K651/Mobo Audio + Samsung HW-N650
OS
64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro

Gaminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2020, 10:03 AM   #1457
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Rashkae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 20,084
Dunno leh, just monitoring on Ryzen Master (RM)...

The Ryzen CPU's have this tendency to have wild temp spikes, temps can be 39C at idle, but open Chrome or Firefox and the temp may spike up anywhere from 5C to 10C.....really weird. When I hit the 'clear log' tab on RM, temps would just drop to 39C again.
Perfectly normal. When there is a sudden activity burst (cache management, etc) the core will of course heat up. But because of the small die size, it takes a bit of time for the IHS to absorb the heat, so wild temperature fluctuations are normal and expected.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X
Mainboard
Gigabyte Aorux Xtreme x570
Graphics Card
MSI 2080Ti Trio X
Memory
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB (4x8GB)
Display
Alienware 3418DW
Storage
Sabrent 2TB PCIE-4
Optical Storage
Who needs one
Casing
Phanteks Enthoo EvolvX
PSU
Asus ROG Thor 850w
OS
Windows 10 Pro 64

Rashkae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2020, 11:38 AM   #1458
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,278
3000 Ryzen migrated users, you find win10 very snappy?
Not sure is because of new pcie4 ssd or intel security mitigations.
But switching from old haswell-e to zen2, my apps is noticeably more responsive.
kimsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2020, 11:39 AM   #1459
Supremacy Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,822
Now that I've been using my rig for gaming & work, I'm starting to forget all about the crazy heat spikes as it runs smoothly and quiet. Q now is whether to overclock. A bit lazy plus the system is so responsive so no urgency right now.

Phil
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Mainboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Formula
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX1080Ti
Memory
32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Display
Acer x34
Storage
512GB Samsung 950 Pro + 6TB WD Green + 12TB Seagate Ironwolf
Casing
Lian Li PC-O11
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
Swan M60
OS
Win 10 Pro

Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2020, 11:46 AM   #1460
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,278
Actually zen2 'over clock' is easy, enable pbo, enable autooc +200, change base clock to 101. Should add another 200 mhz to your load.
kimsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2020, 12:24 PM   #1461
Supremacy Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,822
3000 Ryzen migrated users, you find win10 very snappy?
Not sure is because of new pcie4 ssd or intel security mitigations.
But switching from old haswell-e to zen2, my apps is noticeably more responsive.
Really? I was previously using 5930K, don't really feel a huge diff. Possibly because i'm still using Gen 3 NVME. Having said that, having twice the number of cores means I can run so many programs concurrently with no performance penalty.

Phil
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Mainboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Formula
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX1080Ti
Memory
32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Display
Acer x34
Storage
512GB Samsung 950 Pro + 6TB WD Green + 12TB Seagate Ironwolf
Casing
Lian Li PC-O11
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
Swan M60
OS
Win 10 Pro

Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2020, 12:32 PM   #1462
Supremacy Member
 
Koenig168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,503
3000 Ryzen migrated users, you find win10 very snappy?
Not sure is because of new pcie4 ssd or intel security mitigations.
But switching from old haswell-e to zen2, my apps is noticeably more responsive.
Haswell to Ryzen. Win 10 boots faster with the switch to Ryzen and NVMe SSD but can't feel the difference in daily use.

Win 10 has always been snappy for me even under Haswell as my version has been highly tuned.
Processor
Ryzen 3700X
Mainboard
Gigabyte AX370 Aorus Gaming K7
Graphics Card
Galax GTX 1070Ti EX-SNPR
Memory
Team T-Force Night Hawk 2X8GB DDR4-3200@3600 16-17-19-36 1.36V
Display
Acer Predator Z35
Storage
Adata 2TB SX8200 Pro + Sandisk 480GB Extreme Pro + 2X4TB HGST NAS + 8TB Seagate Barracuda
Casing
Phanteks P400S
PSU
Corsair AX1200i
OS
Windows 10 Pro

Koenig168 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2020, 12:50 PM   #1463
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,278
Ya maybe i came from sata ssd to nvme. Like chrome with history tabs loaded faster. Surfing sites page images load faster. Hwinfo open faster. AV open and scan faster. Steam open faster. Switching tabs smoother.
kimsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2020, 01:45 PM   #1464
High Supremacy Member
 
MacClipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 33,380
32GB kit of Crucial BLS2K16G4D32AESC (White) now at SGD174 only from Amazon US source (not SG) via Amazon.sg, nice overclockable RAM (YMMV).

Delivery ETA seems a bit slow so only if you are not in a hurry.

GL
__________________
♪ What good is life, if in the end we all must die... ♫

Looking to Casket Late-eX for Intel...
MacClipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2020, 10:26 PM   #1465
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,096
32GB kit of Crucial BLS2K16G4D32AESC (White) now at SGD174 only from Amazon US source (not SG) via Amazon.sg, nice overclockable RAM (YMMV).

Delivery ETA seems a bit slow so only if you are not in a hurry.

GL
Yup can personally vouch for its potential and great value. I bought a 2x8GB set same model, 3200CL16, now it's at 3800CL16, still tightening and testing timings. Got it off Amazon SG in mid-Dec for around $96. No doubt it can go slightly higher clock, but I don't think the Infinity Fabric can match clocks past 3800 (i.e. 1900MHz), which will add latency.
Processor
AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Mainboard
MSI B450M Mortar Max
Graphics Card
ZOTAC GTX1070Ti
Memory
2x8G Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200C16 @ 3800C16
Display
PRISM+ W270 v2
Storage
512GB ADATA SX8200 Pro & 1TB WD Blue 7200rpm
Casing
Sharkoon T28 (green)
PSU
Corsair HX650 80+ Gold (modular)
Audio
Onboard Realtek ALC892
OS
Windows 10 Professional x64

Nuclear Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2020, 02:39 PM   #1466
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,278
Yup can personally vouch for its potential and great value. I bought a 2x8GB set same model, 3200CL16, now it's at 3800CL16, still tightening and testing timings. Got it off Amazon SG in mid-Dec for around $96. No doubt it can go slightly higher clock, but I don't think the Infinity Fabric can match clocks past 3800 (i.e. 1900MHz), which will add latency.
Just tried 3733 1:1:1 on 3200 e-die, only change from my bios settings was to increase ram volt to 1.39v.

Seems stable with windows memory test overnight.

Aida64 scores.
kimsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2020, 03:39 PM   #1467
Member
 
curryloti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 198
Just tried 3733 1:1:1 on 3200 e-die, only change from my bios settings was to increase ram volt to 1.39v.

Seems stable with windows memory test overnight.

Aida64 scores.
[img]https://i.imgur.com/BtwbMhA.png[img]
16 or 32GB kit?
__________________
~~~ worn and fatigued ~~~
curryloti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2020, 04:53 PM   #1468
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,278
32gb kit got from amazon

Now is $40 cheaper from when i bought last year! Hoot! Ram prices supposedly going up soon!

Also my aida64 scores should be 2-3% lower than norm because i turned on virtualization
curryloti likes this.

Last edited by kimsix; 19-01-2020 at 05:06 PM..
kimsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 01:58 AM   #1469
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
platee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,194
Hey guys are idle temps of 45 to 55 reasonable for stock 3600? Then during gaming highest I saw was 75.

Funnny is my GPU never exceeds 70 even when gmaing.
platee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 09:22 AM   #1470
Supremacy Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,822
Hey guys are idle temps of 45 to 55 reasonable for stock 3600? Then during gaming highest I saw was 75.

Funnny is my GPU never exceeds 70 even when gmaing.
Lol. Get used to the ridiculous idle temps of Ryzen3.

Phil
Processor
AMD Ryzen 3900X
Mainboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Formula
Graphics Card
Zotac GTX1080Ti
Memory
32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Display
Acer x34
Storage
512GB Samsung 950 Pro + 6TB WD Green + 12TB Seagate Ironwolf
Casing
Lian Li PC-O11
PSU
Corsair HX1000i
Audio
Swan M60
OS
Win 10 Pro

Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On