HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Wireless IP Camera thread

Like Tree453Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2010, 04:41 PM   #31
Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,171
Re

The last computer show the price of the DLINK 5635 was the same as the DLINK 6620G i.e. $999 because I chose the 6620G over the 5635. Don't know why it costs so much now.

I think you did not set your 6620G properly. The 6620G would have auto switched to B/W when the light is low and the color settings too. If you've bought the 6620G very early on then the color quality would not have been good but latest batches seem to have improve much because I replaced my older 6620G with a newer one a few months back when I purchased it during the last computer show.

Anyway the 6620G is going away soon.
HomerMadeMeDoIt likes this.
Apparatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 06:44 PM   #32
Master Member
 
Dr_ARCHer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,607
The last computer show the price of the DLINK 5635 was the same as the DLINK 6620G i.e. $999 because I chose the 6620G over the 5635. Don't know why it costs so much now.

I think you did not set your 6620G properly. The 6620G would have auto switched to B/W when the light is low and the color settings too. If you've bought the 6620G very early on then the color quality would not have been good but latest batches seem to have improve much because I replaced my older 6620G with a newer one a few months back when I purchased it during the last computer show.

Anyway the 6620G is going away soon.
The last computer show (in Sep) did not have the DIR-5635. It only has the DIR-5605, which is the non-wireless version. I have checked with Dlink both at the show and calling them. I've also asked Mediapro if they can get DIR-5635, but they can only get the DIR-5605.

My DIR-6620G is over 1 year old. So not sure if this is the old batch or new batch. Like I said in my earlier review, I didn't meddle around with the settings to see if I could get better results. My last group test showed that the DIR-6620G has quite a bit of options, and I could actually set the aperture to give a better picture in low-light mode compared to auto setting.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Dr_ARCHer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 10:46 PM   #33
Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,171
Re

The last computer show (in Sep) did not have the DIR-5635. It only has the DIR-5605, which is the non-wireless version. I have checked with Dlink both at the show and calling them. I've also asked Mediapro if they can get DIR-5635, but they can only get the DIR-5605.

My DIR-6620G is over 1 year old. So not sure if this is the old batch or new batch. Like I said in my earlier review, I didn't meddle around with the settings to see if I could get better results. My last group test showed that the DIR-6620G has quite a bit of options, and I could actually set the aperture to give a better picture in low-light mode compared to auto setting.
Hmmmm......you could be right regarding the version
Apparatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 01:24 PM   #34
Master Member
 
Dr_ARCHer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,607
Hmmmm......you could be right regarding the version
At the Comex 2010, the DIR-5605 was listed at $999.

http://bootstrike.com/itfairsg/comex...chure-leaflet/
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Dr_ARCHer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2010, 10:23 PM   #35
Master Member
 
Dr_ARCHer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,607
Wonder if the new DIR-5635 will be on sale at the coming computer show......
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Dr_ARCHer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2010, 03:14 PM   #36
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 15,141
Wonder if the new DIR-5635 will be on sale at the coming computer show......
if yes ... price still super exp ?
HomerMadeMeDoIt likes this.
jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2010, 06:46 PM   #37
Master Member
 
Dr_ARCHer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,607
if yes ... price still super exp ?
It is a premium camera. The feel doesn't give you that cheap plasticky feeling... and it is heavy.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Dr_ARCHer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2010, 11:53 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 671
Hi,

I understand that there are three versions of uNetCams by the same company:-

uNetCams : Multiple IP Camera & Webcam Viewer (US$19.99)

uCamPro : IP Camera & Webcam Viewer (US$6.99)

uCamViewer : Ubiquitous Viewer for IP cameras (US$4.99)


Would appreciate your comments on them. TIA.


Just sharing my experience

I've 9 DLINK IP cams at home and all are wirelessly connected to my DLINK router and DLINK modem. Cams include 6620G, 2120G and 2100G and I've been using them for a couple of years now.

For Windows PC you can use the Blue Iris to see all your cams



For my iPad and iPhone 4 I'm using the uNetCams to view all the cams. You can get it from iTunes

If your cam is not listed on their current list of supported cams you can write to the company and ask them to test it remotely for you. I did it before.
HomerMadeMeDoIt likes this.
jerrypt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2010, 09:43 AM   #39
Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,171
RE

Hi,

I understand that there are three versions of uNetCams by the same company:-

uNetCams : Multiple IP Camera & Webcam Viewer (US$19.99)

uCamPro : IP Camera & Webcam Viewer (US$6.99)

uCamViewer : Ubiquitous Viewer for IP cameras (US$4.99)


Would appreciate your comments on them. TIA.
Hi, I'm using the uNetCams

If I'm not wrong

uNetCams for viewing multiple cams and thats why it's the most expensive of the 3

uCamPro for single cam viewing

uCamViewer for single cam viewing with limited features support than that of uCamPro and thats why it's the cheapest of all 3
Apparatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2010, 01:19 PM   #40
Master Member
 
Dr_ARCHer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,607
Now I have a bit of a problem. Have upgraded from ADSL to Singnet Fibre, but the included 2wire 5012NV gateway does not support DDNS.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Dr_ARCHer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2010, 10:45 PM   #41
Master Member
 
Dr_ARCHer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,607
At the coming Sitex, DCS-5605 is selling at S$999. DCS-5635, the wireless (N) version, is selling for S$1,099.

I paid close between S$1.4 to S$1.5K for my DCS-5635. Heck, if I pay the normal price for 2 units of DCS-5635, I could get 3 units at Sitex... with lots of spare change.

Should I get 2 more units to replace my WVC200? Hmmmm.......
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Dr_ARCHer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2010, 03:54 PM   #42
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 30
Hi Dr Archer,

On your previous ADSL, was this a Mio 2wire box by any chance?
Would i be correct to say this is what i have to do in order to view my ip cameras remotely

>setup port forwarding on Mio 2wire
>setup dyndns

Im thinking of buying a Dlink 5605/5635 but am not sure if i can get it to work with my Singtel Mio 2wire box (mine's a 2700 or 2701 i think)

Appreciate any input
Cheers,
Jay

Last edited by cannibal33; 25-11-2010 at 05:40 PM..
cannibal33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2010, 09:23 PM   #43
Master Member
 
Dr_ARCHer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,607
Hi Dr Archer,

On your previous ADSL, was this a Mio 2wire box by any chance?
Would i be correct to say this is what i have to do in order to view my ip cameras remotely

>setup port forwarding on Mio 2wire
>setup dyndns

Im thinking of buying a Dlink 5605/5635 but am not sure if i can get it to work with my Singtel Mio 2wire box (mine's a 2700 or 2701 i think)

Appreciate any input
Cheers,
Jay
Sorry. Previously, I was using the DIR-655. I don't think 2wire supports DDNS. The 2wire for fibre (5012NV) certainly doesn't support DDNS.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Dr_ARCHer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2010, 05:31 PM   #44
Senior Member
 
davpiyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,958
I had just order DLINK DSC-2121 I like to record 24/7 video but can I use a online hosting company to record coz I don't want to invest on NAS.
__________________
www.SayNoMLM.org
davpiyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2010, 05:43 PM   #45
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
touchme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,497
Everyone notice all ip cams, not wide angle enough..less than 120 degrees. I find those pan cameras not practical, cos' u dn usually keep panning and monitor...just wanna capture wider-angle whole day, unattended, recap only if sth happens. Is this deliberate, so got reason to sell more cams & pan function which is quite useless. Seriously, who needs pan function?

I end up buying few wide-angles lens adapters to screw on top existing for 160 coverage, not bad solution, but compromise on image quality...anycams with >150 coverage wide angle lens?

Last edited by touchme; 27-11-2010 at 03:13 PM..
touchme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On