Wireless IP Camera thread

Dr_ARCHer

Master Member
Reaction score
This thread is created to talk about wireless IP cameras. The aim is to consolidate various posts that has been written on HWZ about wireless IP cameras for users interested in wireless IP cameras.

My own fascination with wireless IP cameras started when my daughter was born. I bought a baby monitor, but found that while I could only hear sounds, I couldn't see what was going on. After some research on the Internet, I came to know about wireless IP cameras. Basically, a wireless IP camera is much like a webcam, except that it is connected wireless instead of through a USB port.

I am no expert on wireless IP cameras. My experience was as a father who wanted to be able to watch his kids while in another room. I am keen to share what I know, and hopefully, other users can do the same.

Dr_ARCHer

Master Member
Reaction score
A casual comparison of 3 wireless IP cameras: Linksys WVC200, Dlink DCS-6220G and SMC SMCWIPCAM-PZ

[This post was written a while back when SMC launched their latest wireless IP camera during one of the computer exhibition. I've edited it slightly here.]

The first wireless IP camera I bought was the Linksys WVC200. Essentially, I was searching for a better alternative to an audio only baby monitor. I wanted to be able to see what my baby was doing while I am working in another room. As you can see later, the WVC200 is quite a suitable camera for monitoring young kids, especially in the dark, since it has a built-in infra-red (IR) cut filter.

Subsequently, I bought a LevelOne WCS-2040, followed by a Dlink DCS-6220G. Functionally, the WCS-2040 and the DCS-6220G are identical. In fact, they appear to be coming from the same OEM, since the specs are identical and the user interfaces are similar.