Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 5

kevin301

Hello pros, i've got a question to ask, my crank threads (due to forceful wrong direction of fixing the pedals in) are gone and my pedal simply just drop out, is there any fix to it? if i need to but new one is its possible to buy the crank arm alone rather then the whole crank set?

Your crankset v expensive? If not expensive, change new one more worthwhile.

So far I see non-drive-side crank arm for sale, but hardly any drive-side cranks.
There are thread repair kits (helicoil) on the market. Apparently v expensive.

achtung7

Albedo, this is my recent oversea trips :

Naha-shi, Okinawa-ken, Japan
https://www.strava.com/activities/323118247

Ishigaki-shi, Japan
https://www.strava.com/activities/323118188

taiwan :
https://www.strava.com/activities/323118346

So how's 北宜? I did it in Nov on a sunday and they were many motorbikes.. so it was kinda risky going downhill as we take the same line.. but this is one of the rare times that cars are actually impeding you on the downhill..

Sadisticnoob

Ok, bike case.
But cycling overseas not as simple as doing in sg. Here got problem just flag cab, overseas rides may not end up at starting point, some hotels may not allow bike to go into rooms etc. A lot of planning is def needed.
Dunno about binary but when I was in Malaysia doing century ride, they got support one . so if got any problems with the bike I will DNF the ride if the problem is unsolvable just throw the bike into the van and forget about it.

But if youre going with a tour group is okay la they got backup support plus you dont need to bring your bike just rent one from them can liao. and they got support vehicle behind.

The last time round when I was in Hong Kong I just brought a multi tool. a mallet and my tire levers. I didnt encounter any problems with the bike though, but if the bike got problem, most of the time I can limp into the shop and ask them for help. It also helps to at least change your chain and have brand new tires to reduce chances of your bike having mechnical failure.
But quite fun la, go hong kong explore the hills all never ride before one, scenery abit different compared to here

not really an issue
Hello pros, i've got a question to ask, my crank threads (due to forceful wrong direction of fixing the pedals in) are gone and my pedal simply just drop out, is there any fix to it? if i need to but new one is its possible to buy the crank arm alone rather then the whole crank set?

Depends on how cheap your crank arm is . anyway replacement of the crank arm is quite expensive as opposed to buying a totally new crank arm. for road bike, ,most crank arm replacement can only be found at the ultegra level.

kevin mentioned helicodial set to retap but I never use before (forget how to use liao last time use was in army) think can retap smaller but cannot retap the same thread

kevin301

helicoil can result in same thread for the pedal.
step is:
1. drill a bigger hole
2. tap it using special helicoil tap
3. Install helicoil insert.
4. Result is the original thread hole for the pedal.

I think the problem is that bicycle pedal threads are not common elsewhere, so the helicoil is rare... Rare = expensive :(

Sadisticnoob

drill sure crank arm gg ,i think most inside are hollow forged, got one big hole inside the crank

binary_0011

So how's 北宜? I did it in Nov on a sunday and they were many motorbikes.. so it was kinda risky going downhill as we take the same line.. but this is one of the rare times that cars are actually impeding you on the downhill..

someone i know and met recently died few days ago coz he met an accident in 北宜 (cycling down hill). it was shocking and sad to us....

binary_0011

Ok, bike case.
But cycling overseas not as simple as doing in sg. Here got problem just flag cab, overseas rides may not end up at starting point, some hotels may not allow bike to go into rooms etc. A lot of planning is def needed.

can one lar. usually i dont have to worry about logistic, people will handle.

u can also rent bike if you find it too hassle..

I'mknotdumb!

OpJJ2sP.jpg

JDPFJ1Z.jpg

likehotbutter

now garmin has the new glomass gps chip i think its more accurate than the phone gps chip.

More or less same accuracy but acquisition is SUPER FAST cause more satellites to make up the optimal 4

Like others have mentioned helicoils are the way to go.

Best if you duno how or lack the machining tools to let a machine shop do it.

I recommend The Rebound Center, they specialise in custom frames and bike refurbs/repairs.

Did my stripped XT cranks with them (Hollow forged but well its not really that hollow tbh). Abt $50 avg and I'm still ripping trails with that crank.

When collect dont forget to bring your pedals to test. Sometimes fresh threads need to ream abit more.

_bEar_

If i am 1.7m 66.6kg looking for a light, mobile, durable and easy to control bicycle, what measurements shld i look out for?

So far the bicycle i tried are either too big or too small, hence ordering online

rarenick

If i am 1.7m 66.6kg looking for a light, mobile, durable and easy to control bicycle, what measurements shld i look out for?

So far the bicycle i tried are either too big or too small, hence ordering online
Risky to buy online when u don't know if it is comfortable for u.

If no choice but to choose between a bigger n smaller bike, I would take a smaller one to play safe.

Sent from . using GAGT

Akai Ryu

The video pretty much useless. Don't show much leh.
zefal%20lock%20n%20roll%20wheel%20anti%20theift%20qr%20lever.jpg

Item sold

Im using the seatpost qr lock. Not using its wheel skewer lock but its the same concept of not being able to qr open when in normal position. Basically i push my bike vertically beyond 90degree to unlock my seatpost qr clamp now. Will be the same for the wheel skewers

beast

Sometimes is pretty hard to determine if the bike really fits when can only test ride within a small area around the shop. You will only know it better after at least a 20km ride whether body start to ache:s13:

Jose Antonio Hermida is shorter than me and he is riding 17". Sometimes I still feel that my 17" is abit too big, maybe is matter of getting used to

tremor

orr ok the zefal is basically tilt lock lah, to prevent wheels and seatpost from being stolen when parking, still must use in tadem with a frame lock.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.