Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

ritzcms

Actually not much difference. I chose MHI because it's 3x12k btu instead of starmex's 3x9k btu for a system 3. Starmex get a lot of hype due to marketing but to me they are similar in quality. You can't go wrong with Starmex, MHI or Daikin.

but MHI compressor only 24k leh. 3x9k btu already 27k liao, sufficient ah? my house will be using 3 units at the same time.

ritzcms

if sys3, 3 units using during the night. what's e recommendation?

got a quote from air connection.

1. daikin 3 ticks, outdoor 29k + indoor 9kx3 model 3MKS71FSG + FTKS25DVM x 3 @$2980
2. starmex 5 ticks, outdoor 30k + 9k x3 model MXY-3G28 + MSY-FJ10 x 3 @ $3450 with free $200 voucher
3. daikin 5 ticks, outdoor 34k +9kx2 + 12k @$3388

is the package okay? or is there any other recommendations? i heard 5ticks not really very good ah? is that true?

idjekyll

but MHI compressor only 24k leh. 3x9k btu already 27k liao, sufficient ah? my house will be using 3 units at the same time.

Yeah I thought about that but it's just me and the wife for the foreseeable future. If got kids also 1 extra room so won't be running 3 at the same time. I posed that question to the salesman from Best Tech and he said if it's 12k btu for small room, even if 3 at the same time no issue cause unit wont blast max the whole time. Don't know if its true or he blow smoke up my ass though :s22:. But it makes sense though.

idjekyll

if sys3, 3 units using during the night. what's e recommendation?

got a quote from air connection.

1. daikin 3 ticks, outdoor 29k + indoor 9kx3 model 3MKS71FSG + FTKS25DVM x 3 @$2980
2. starmex 5 ticks, outdoor 30k + 9k x3 model MXY-3G28 + MSY-FJ10 x 3 @ $3450 with free $200 voucher
3. daikin 5 ticks, outdoor 34k +9kx2 + 12k @$3388

is the package okay? or is there any other recommendations? i heard 5ticks not really very good ah? is that true?

I've heard from one of the IDs that Starmex 5 ticks a bit unstable. Not sure if its true but maybe it's something to think about. I would go with option 3. At least you get a 12k unit.

SnorlaxGorGor

eh power same layout as me but i got the MHI sys 3 instead. 18k should be more than enough. just make sure room doors closed and install a kitchen door as well.

Ya, planning to install the kitchen door. Just thinking if 1 set of system 3 (for bedroom) and 1 set of system 2x 12k btu (for living room). Will need to discuss with Cold Engine again.

Your quote from cold engine? How many ticks? I have similar floor plan as yours, and I'm considering going for 24k btu for open concept kitchen/living

Btw i have receive a quote, is it okay?
Mitsubishi starmex system 4 - $3850
MXY4A28/MSYGE10 x 3/MSYGE18

Ya.. from Cold Engine :)

terumo

Sounds very cheap, you checked the materials they are using?

Just contacted jexaircon, quotation given for Mitsubishi electric system 4, 5 tickets, 3x9k btu and 1x24K btu total net price is $4168. No charge for arranging 2nd trip for system 3 and above. Anyone has any experience with them? I'm considering using them.

scouter

Yeah I thought about that but it's just me and the wife for the foreseeable future. If got kids also 1 extra room so won't be running 3 at the same time. I posed that question to the salesman from Best Tech and he said if it's 12k btu for small room, even if 3 at the same time no issue cause unit wont blast max the whole time. Don't know if its true or he blow smoke up my ass though :s22:. But it makes sense though.

wah, i was also struggling between this 2 exact models between MHI and ME. Also was posed the same question, whether 3 rooms at once will turn on anot. And was told if all 3 turn on , MHI model wont be so strong for certain room, since compressor is smaller. While the ME model, since its a bigger compressor, it would be more even across all.
Then was told but another sales guy, that since I don't use often , MHI is a better option, since its a 12k btu indoor unit, vs the 9k btu indoor unit for ME.

Both price quoted are relative same, so much struggle between the two. :s22:

idjekyll

wah, i was also struggling between this 2 exact models between MHI and ME. Also was posed the same question, whether 3 rooms at once will turn on anot. And was told if all 3 turn on , MHI model wont be so strong for certain room, since compressor is smaller. While the ME model, since its a bigger compressor, it would be more even across all.
Then was told but another sales guy, that since I don't use often , MHI is a better option, since its a 12k btu indoor unit, vs the 9k btu indoor unit for ME.

Both price quoted are relative same, so much struggle between the two. :s22:

If you're on the fence then I say go with ME. Almost everyone buys it so spare parts might be cheap if it goes nuts. I chose MHI cause of the higher BTU.

idjekyll

I thought starmex 5 ticks not stable?

I heard from 2 IDs and 1 air con specialist that the 5 ticks is a little unstable and the indoor unit is slightly noisier. They said that even the distributor is pushing to sell the 2 ticks rather than the 5 ticks.

scouter

If you're on the fence then I say go with ME. Almost everyone buys it so spare parts might be cheap if it goes nuts. I chose MHI cause of the higher BTU.

thanks for the advice. haha it's always interesting to see similar comparisons other homeowners are having.

since you took mhi , you might want to visit their homepage; apparently there's additional rebate if you complete a survey.:s13:

idjekyll

I got cold engine to install system 3 in my house yesterday.

The only negative is that they didn't bring enough trunking. Hence, they had to use 2 to 3 pieces for the casing cover when one long piece is enough. It looks uglier when there are so many joints in the casing cover.

I told the installer about it. They said that their boss didn't give them enough trunking.

For one part, a thicker trunking was used when small trunking can be used. This maybe miscommunication between me and the installer. Or it could be due to insufficient small trunking. Hence, he used a thicker trunking.

Why didn't you insist on using the right trunking? Either they go and get it on the spot or arrange another day?

Medicated Oil

I got cold engine to install system 3 in my house yesterday.

The only negative is that they didn't bring enough trunking. Hence, they had to use 2 to 3 pieces for the casing cover when one long piece is enough. It looks uglier when there are so many joints in the casing cover.

I told the installer about it. They said that their boss didn't give them enough trunking.

For one part, a thicker trunking was used when small trunking can be used. This maybe miscommunication between me and the installer. Or it could be due to insufficient small trunking. Hence, he used a thicker trunking.

How is their workmanship for the rest of the installation ?
Hope you can shed some light.
Thanks.

hellcustomx

Hi, I am enquiring if anyone used the Daikin Smile Series? How is it?

At the same time, is the following configuration good for a five room flat?
MKS80QVMG - Compressor 25,000 BTU
CTKS71QVM - 24220 BTU x 1
CTKS35QVM - 11940 BTU x 1
CTKS25QVM - 8500 BTU x 2

b9NdD

Thanks =)

jas663

Configuration

Hi All

I have recently gotten approval from HDB to install another compressor unit for my flat. The original one is outside Master bedroom. The new one on bedroom 2.

Intend to install 3A28 (10K+10K +12K) for 3 bedroom.
Another 1 to 1 unit (10-12K) for study room.

As I usually use study room during day time and sometime open up till living hall. So prefer to separate the compressor in order not to overwork.

Is this configuration ok?
Thank you!

smoothtalker

Brother and sisters, any recommendation which brand inverter aircon won't have the on/off cycle of the compressor? So far my LG and Starmex inverter all got this problem. I heard MHI inverter don't cycle off. Is this true? I know, yes, I'm talking about inverter. As I like to blow aircon directly at my face, when the compressor cycle off can feel the temperature rise.. IIRC when I measured the outlet temperature difference can be like 10 degrees off during cycle off..

I'm thinking is there any inverter aircon which can really scale down and don't cycle off one.. Of course you can blame me for oversizing the BTU but 9k is the smallest when I bought it

2) Any hvac / acmv / Mechanical engineer here? Is there any non rotary compressor aircon? I find even dual piston rotary compressor a bit noisy.. Thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.