HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

2.0 & 2.1 speaker discussion thread IV [consolidated]

Like Tree124Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 31-12-2018, 02:48 PM   #901
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
YouHeypiCanLiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12,852
I am Using Y cable TRS to computer, not considered specialised cables ah?




To combine both advice for my situation, I need a sound interface.
The connection is PC->Interface->Speakers
PC->Interface default is USB/optical SPDIF?
Interface-> Speakers is XLR/TRS individual cables

any other interface recommended? The focusrite seem to be able to plug in guitar and mic to record.. which can be a renewed hobby haha.

Thanks for all help
I have a DAC that has balanced but usually for non critical listening I use my o2 + SDAC and this JBL 305 doesn't accept RCA so I have to switch on my balanced DAC will be abit of a hassle la because I don't have a pre-amp and I have a 2 sources , of course I can just use my balanced DAC but I like the o2/sdac for non critical listening. any advice?
__________________
You are being watched
https://www.privacytools.io/
YouHeypiCanLiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 02:51 PM   #902
Senior Member
 
Amon86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 667
I have a DAC that has balanced but usually for non critical listening I use my o2 + SDAC and this JBL 305 doesn't accept RCA so I have to switch on my balanced DAC will be abit of a hassle la because I don't have a pre-amp and I have a 2 sources , of course I can just use my balanced DAC but I like the o2/sdac for non critical listening. any advice?
Buy a cable which is Balanced to RCA problem solve

https://www.lazada.sg/products/neutr...8142_118727157
Amon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 02:58 PM   #903
High Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26,749
I am Using Y cable TRS to computer, not considered specialised cables ah?

To combine both advice for my situation, I need a sound interface.
The connection is PC->Interface->Speakers
PC->Interface default is USB/optical SPDIF?
Interface-> Speakers is XLR/TRS individual cables

any other interface recommended? The focusrite seem to be able to plug in guitar and mic to record.. which can be a renewed hobby haha.

Thanks for all help
Depend on your budget, can go Swee Lee or valentine dj shop take a look around.
Alternate is mini mixer like Yamaha AG03/06 but these are bigger than sound interface.
__________________
Life in SG is stressful so managed it well if not it will consume you.
techidiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 03:57 PM   #904
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
YouHeypiCanLiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12,852
Buy a cable which is Balanced to RCA problem solve

https://www.lazada.sg/products/neutr...8142_118727157
can mix single ended to balanced de ah?
__________________
You are being watched
https://www.privacytools.io/
YouHeypiCanLiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 04:13 PM   #905
Senior Member
 
Amon86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 667
can mix single ended to balanced de ah?
Can I think...DAC connect RCA must connect the right port pre out if your dac have not pre in...then balanced in to your speaker...optical to RCA also got but that one need a hub actually there are a lot of ways to solve this kinda problem

Ya forgot to tell u you must make sure your DAC's pre out is variable(variable means the volume control your DAC will take over) not fixed if not connect is max volume

Last edited by Amon86; 31-12-2018 at 04:19 PM..
Amon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 04:25 PM   #906
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
YouHeypiCanLiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12,852
Can I think...DAC connect RCA must connect the right port pre out if your dac have not pre in...then balanced in to your speaker...optical to RCA also got but that one need a hub actually there are a lot of ways to solve this kinda problem

Ya forgot to tell u you must make sure your DAC's pre out is variable(variable means the volume control your DAC will take over) not fixed if not connect is max volume
if the volume control by JBL ok wut.......dac max vol to active
__________________
You are being watched
https://www.privacytools.io/
YouHeypiCanLiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 04:28 PM   #907
Senior Member
 
Amon86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 667
if the volume control by JBL ok wut.......dac max vol to active
Then that's okay provided your active speakers have in build volume control if not is max volume...must tell this cause someone might take my advise to do it on a active speaker that has no volume control...or if not is variable on their DAC they must volume control on their DAC to max to have sound for the speaker

Last edited by Amon86; 31-12-2018 at 04:35 PM..
Amon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 04:45 PM   #908
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,177
I have a DAC that has balanced but usually for non critical listening I use my o2 + SDAC and this JBL 305 doesn't accept RCA so I have to switch on my balanced DAC will be abit of a hassle la because I don't have a pre-amp and I have a 2 sources , of course I can just use my balanced DAC but I like the o2/sdac for non critical listening. any advice?
I don't understand what you are saying.

1. JBL 305 doesn't accept RCA.
Use RCA to xlr/ts cable

2. switch on my balanced DAC will be abit of a hassle la because I don't have a pre-amp
Why do you need a pre-amp with powered speakers? Just connect dac to speakers.

3. I have a 2 sources
2 speakers or headphone and speakers? o2 is a headphone amp.
lucied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 05:05 PM   #909
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
YouHeypiCanLiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12,852
I don't understand what you are saying.

1. JBL 305 doesn't accept RCA.
Use RCA to xlr/ts cable

2. switch on my balanced DAC will be abit of a hassle la because I don't have a pre-amp
Why do you need a pre-amp with powered speakers? Just connect dac to speakers.

3. I have a 2 sources
2 speakers or headphone and speakers? o2 is a headphone amp.
2. What I mean I seldom use the balanced. Usually I use my sdac/o2 for iem use. No speakers setup yet.

3. I have 2 sources . My balanced dac has digital pre.


Iíd see how. Maybe speakers use balanced. Iem can use sdac or balanced.
YouHeypiCanLiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 05:06 PM   #910
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
YouHeypiCanLiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12,852
Then that's okay provided your active speakers have in build volume control if not is max volume...must tell this cause someone might take my advise to do it on a active speaker that has no volume control...or if not is variable on their DAC they must volume control on their DAC to max to have sound for the speaker
Oh yeah jbl canít control volume. Thanks for the advice
YouHeypiCanLiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 07:05 PM   #911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,177
2. What I mean I seldom use the balanced. Usually I use my sdac/o2 for iem use. No speakers setup yet.

3. I have 2 sources . My balanced dac has digital pre.


I’d see how. Maybe speakers use balanced. Iem can use sdac or balanced.
I'm actually surprised that you got a non-portable amp/dac for iems. Iems are meant to be portable and don't need much power.

You can actually use the balanced dac for speakers and connect the rca output to the o2 amp for your iems.

JBL 305s actually have the volume control on the back.

Last edited by lucied; 31-12-2018 at 07:08 PM..
lucied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2018, 11:52 PM   #912
High Supremacy Member
 
shadow84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29,709
Oh yeah jbl can’t control volume. Thanks for the advice
JBL can control vol leh, but in steps of 20.
shadow84 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:16 AM   #913
High Supremacy Member
 
mypillowtalks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 30,024
In the past i used "3.5mm to 2 x xlr". Direct from pc to speaker

Many years ago i started to use a mixer.
While using a mixer, i used "3.5mm to 2 x 1/4inch unbalaced jack".

Sound quality i cant recall much difference, cos all from the same computer. Didnt suddenly sound very nice for my case.

With mixer it will be easier, can slide the fader easily to control volume.

But w mixer may need to set some gain structuring...which i feel is quite important....

Sent from Your Favourite Non-Biting Talking Pillow using GAGT

Last edited by mypillowtalks; 01-01-2019 at 11:19 AM..
mypillowtalks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 04:23 PM   #914
Member
 
icecapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 488
Adding a mixer isn't supposed to change the sound, it's just a "middleman" to accept multiple inputs and outputs, but it's useful for the analog volume control. The LSR305 volume control is at the back so it definitely helps. Some mixers have inbuilt dac though, which will definitely improve sound over onboard sound.
icecapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 07:59 PM   #915
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
YouHeypiCanLiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12,852
I think for audiphile term is pre amp la.
It’s a device where you can connect your sources like dac , vinyl etc

Actually I prefer a stand-alone preamp rather than a dac digital preamp


Adding a mixer isn't supposed to change the sound, it's just a "middleman" to accept multiple inputs and outputs, but it's useful for the analog volume control. The LSR305 volume control is at the back so it definitely helps. Some mixers have inbuilt dac though, which will definitely improve sound over onboard sound.
YouHeypiCanLiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On