HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

2.0 & 2.1 speaker discussion thread IV [consolidated]

Like Tree124Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2019, 11:21 AM   #946
High Supremacy Member
 
mypillowtalks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 30,016
Recently assisted to set up a 2.1 system in an industrial building unit, about 1000 square feet with 4.5m ceiling

Initially i proposed to use 2 subwoofers, but try out 1 piece first.

Running 2 x 15" Turbosound Milan M15 speakers with an 18" Front Firing Ported subwoofer



Result was that 1 x 18" subwoofer met expectations. Things were vibrating. I Also expected visitors from neighbouring units.

Later on speakers are mounted at a height of about 2 meters from FFL.

Sent from Your Favourite Non-Biting Talking Pillow using GAGT

Last edited by mypillowtalks; 05-01-2019 at 11:32 AM..
mypillowtalks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 01:11 PM   #947
Member
 
xiangzeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 227
Unboxing edifiers S1000db now

Don't mind tell us your experience so far on using this $500 plus speakers. Thanks.
xiangzeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 01:20 PM   #948
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
5star_pundit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 20,321
Don't mind tell us your experience so far on using this $500 plus speakers. Thanks.
good except the bottom rubber feet is missing

i assume it comes off easily
5star_pundit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 04:05 PM   #949
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 550
edifier s3000 already out in china, will be available for rest of world early 2019

https://www.edifier.com/cn/zh/speakers/s3000
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2698RsVVppo
zhiming1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 07:41 PM   #950
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
YouHeypiCanLiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12,688
Are you sure it’s $500?

Don't mind tell us your experience so far on using this $500 plus speakers. Thanks.
YouHeypiCanLiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 08:44 AM   #951
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,744
noob qn;

Wanted to check, i've not used TV box or added a sound bar to TVs.

if my soundbar is hooked up to the TV (spdif), and my tv box is hooked up to the tv (hdmi), while watch programs on the tv box, can i use the soundbar for enhanced SQ?

zephyr11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 01:45 PM   #952
Senior Member
 
Amon86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 666
noob qn;

Wanted to check, i've not used TV box or added a sound bar to TVs.

if my soundbar is hooked up to the TV (spdif), and my tv box is hooked up to the tv (hdmi), while watch programs on the tv box, can i use the soundbar for enhanced SQ?

nowadays ppl don't use spdif already as mostly 4k tv comes with port hdmi ARC out...now soundbars also have hdmi ARC port

Amon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 05:08 PM   #953
Master Member
 
meandyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,412
edifier s3000 already out in china, will be available for rest of world early 2019

https://www.edifier.com/cn/zh/speakers/s3000
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2698RsVVppo

meandyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 08:54 PM   #954
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,744
nowadays ppl don't use spdif already as mostly 4k tv comes with port hdmi ARC out...now soundbars also have hdmi ARC port



sadly my soundbar don't have, only have 1 spdif.

so back to my noob qn;

Wanted to check, i've not used TV box or added a sound bar to TVs.

if my soundbar is hooked up to the TV (spdif), and my tv box is hooked up to the tv (hdmi), while watch programs on the tv box, can i use the soundbar for enhanced SQ?
zephyr11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 09:28 PM   #955
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,288
u need to set your tv setting to output to spdif

sadly my soundbar don't have, only have 1 spdif.

so back to my noob qn;

Wanted to check, i've not used TV box or added a sound bar to TVs.

if my soundbar is hooked up to the TV (spdif), and my tv box is hooked up to the tv (hdmi), while watch programs on the tv box, can i use the soundbar for enhanced SQ?
zephyr11 likes this.
loster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 09:32 PM   #956
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,744
****, just realised coaxial and spdif is same but diff. TMD

my soundbar only have toslink head, and the tv i plan to buy is only with coaxial rca, hdmi arc, usb, and regular rca (red, white) .

anyone have solutions? i know of coaxial rca to toslink converters, but wondering if usb to toslink is possible for sound? think there's a usb2 and usb3.


Last edited by zephyr11; 07-01-2019 at 09:57 PM..
zephyr11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 10:31 PM   #957
Senior Member
 
Amon86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 666
****, just realised coaxial and spdif is same but diff. TMD

my soundbar only have toslink head, and the tv i plan to buy is only with coaxial rca, hdmi arc, usb, and regular rca (red, white) .

anyone have solutions? i know of coaxial rca to toslink converters, but wondering if usb to toslink is possible for sound? think there's a usb2 and usb3.

maybe u need this there is nothing that can't be solve in av world

RedAunt HDMI To HDMI ARC Adapter With Optical TOSLINK SPDIF Audio Output, HDMI Audio Extractor Converter Support CEC 1080P For Home Theater Application

https://www.lazada.sg/products/redau..._limit=1000000

or

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/HDMI-TO-HD...CABEgJKLPD_BwE
zephyr11 likes this.

Last edited by Amon86; 07-01-2019 at 10:35 PM..
Amon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2019, 08:10 PM   #958
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,744
maybe u need this there is nothing that can't be solve in av world

RedAunt HDMI To HDMI ARC Adapter With Optical TOSLINK SPDIF Audio Output, HDMI Audio Extractor Converter Support CEC 1080P For Home Theater Application

https://www.lazada.sg/products/redau..._limit=1000000

or

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/HDMI-TO-HD...CABEgJKLPD_BwE
yea saw something like that on qoo10, was hoping it can be without external power, or like a direct cable.

looks like no other way.

thanks!
zephyr11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2019, 08:59 PM   #959
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 131
Looking for a desktop speaker for movies music and casual gaming. Limited space. A side note, is there any shop selling audioengine speaker in Singapore?
D3st1nY85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 10:17 PM   #960
Member
 
icecapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 488
Looking for a desktop speaker for movies music and casual gaming. Limited space. A side note, is there any shop selling audioengine speaker in Singapore?
Yes, there is a shop in adelphi and beauty world selling audioengine. If i am not wrong it's called horizon acoustics.
icecapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On