HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Advice for what speakers to get

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2019, 03:40 PM   #1

Advice for what speakers to get

Guys, noob here.

Moving into a penthouse with an outdoor area of about 600sqf on the top deck. Building up half the area and leave the other half exposed to elements.

Planned to stall a TV and mounted speakers. Was looking at Bose 251 but the 2 speakers with amplifier is $1200.

Any other suggestions and ideas are welcome. TIA.
leo_llw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 04:48 PM   #2
High Supremacy Member

Best to consult AV vendors like from Adelphi as if it is for outdoor.
You will have to consider outdoor speakers like Bose 251 that
can withstand weather and etc.

Speakers sold in retail shops and etc. when expose to sun/rain it will get
damaged.
What I know for outdoor you will need:

- Speaker that is weather resistant, if you want loud sound
than PA speakers
- Mixer/amplifier so you can hookup multiple devices
as well as have microphone or DJ console installed.
- You need a portable AV rack to store the equipment like amplifier.
This is also for easy storage and portability if you want to keep it
when there is no event/function.
Can just move it inside the house and lock it.

What is best equipment especially pricing, best let vendors quote you.
Old 01-10-2019, 07:23 PM   #3
High Supremacy Member

https://www.jblonlinestore.com/products/control-x
Old 02-10-2019, 09:33 PM   #4

Thank you bro techidiot for your inputs. I am also able to install it indoor under the polycarbonate roofing so looking at both outdoor and indoor speakers. The only criteria is to be mounted.

Went to look at Bose because it is recommended by a friend. The store recommended me 251 and said i have to buy the amplifier else there is no power input into the speakers. Housing the amplifier is also a headache.. my ID suggested custom made a mount for it.