HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Soundbar discussion Thread IV [consolidated]

Like Tree13Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2018, 01:50 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 676
Hoping someone here can help with my beginner question:

Am looking at getting a soundbar for my really old TV (~6-8 years min) which does not support HDMI ARC. Will I still be able to use HDMI as the input?

eg. Cable box -> HDMI ARC Port on Soundbar -> TV HDMI non Arc port.

Also, is the Yamaha YAS 107 the best option for my budget (~$350)
nexxusdev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 03:35 PM   #32
High Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25,446
Hoping someone here can help with my beginner question:

Am looking at getting a soundbar for my really old TV (~6-8 years min) which does not support HDMI ARC. Will I still be able to use HDMI as the input?

eg. Cable box -> HDMI ARC Port on Soundbar -> TV HDMI non Arc port.

Also, is the Yamaha YAS 107 the best option for my budget (~$350)
I doubt it will work, best to use optical cable instead.
__________________
Life in SG is stressful so managed it well if not it will consume you.
techidiot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 09:24 PM   #33
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 14,661
Hoping someone here can help with my beginner question:

Am looking at getting a soundbar for my really old TV (~6-8 years min) which does not support HDMI ARC. Will I still be able to use HDMI as the input?

eg. Cable box -> HDMI ARC Port on Soundbar -> TV HDMI non Arc port.

Also, is the Yamaha YAS 107 the best option for my budget (~$350)
ARC's purpose is to send audio signals from your display TV to the sound device (sound bar, AVR, etc). And this is only applicable if the source of the media is from within the TV, i.e. tuned programs on your TV, media apps built into TV, etc. In your case, if the source of the media is always from the cable box, it doesn't matter if your TV doesn't have a HDMI ARC port.

But your connection diagram is wrong. It should be:
Cable box -> HDMI In port on Soundbar
HDMI Out (ARC or non-ARC doesn't matter) port on Soundbar -> TV HDMI non-ARC port
LiLAsN likes this.
wacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 11:18 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
JX1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,175
Just purchased the Samsung K950 soundbar today at $1599 with $200 Robinson vouchers. Is it expensive? Already exceeded my budget as initially this soundbar was not in my list though but after listening it I bought it.. Initially was considering the MS750, CT800 and SJ8 but after listen to the K750 it won me over maybe because is in the room also haha.

I hope is not a mismatch of my tv mu7000.. hopefully price will drop again 3 months later since my delivery is on Apr lol..
__________________
Slow and crawling

Last edited by JX1983; 08-02-2018 at 01:25 AM.. Reason: Typo error
JX1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 11:03 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 291
Just purchased the Samsung K750 soundbar today at $1599 with $200 Robinson vouchers. Is it expensive? Already exceeded my budget as initially this soundbar was not in my list though but after listening it I bought it.. Initially was considering the MS750, CT800 and SJ8 but after listen to the K750 it won me over maybe because is in the room also haha.

I hope is not a mismatch of my tv mu7000.. hopefully price will drop again 3 months later since my delivery is on Apr lol..

Can't find k750 online.. Are u talking about k850?
mjzsakae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 01:23 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
JX1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,175
Can't find k750 online.. Are u talking about k850?
Sorry the K950 gosh typo error must be sleeping time lol..
__________________
Slow and crawling
JX1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 07:47 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
iamnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 872
Hi. I just got the Yamaha Yas-107. Happy with the performance.

However after connecting it using the ARC port, my TV remote control can't power it on and off. Volume up, down, mute etc is working well. It's only the power button that doesn't work. Anyone has similar experience and was able to get it to work?
iamnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 11:29 AM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 130
sony soundbar ST5000

just bought the sony soundbar st5000 from harvey norman.

i paired it up with sony X9000e TV -55inch.
overall, i am pleased with the soundbar performance, especially with ATMOS materials.
it certainly blown me away.
rockboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 05:13 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
JX1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,175
just bought the sony soundbar st5000 from harvey norman.

i paired it up with sony X9000e TV -55inch.
overall, i am pleased with the soundbar performance, especially with ATMOS materials.
it certainly blown me away.
How much u bought the st5000?

Last edited by JX1983; 10-02-2018 at 02:28 PM..
JX1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 12:18 AM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 291

Sorry the K950 gosh typo error must be sleeping time lol..
Great, I bought it too. . Bro.. Can u test if u can get sound from the rear speakers when u play music via bluetooth? Mine is pretty soft, seems like it only works when u are playing atmos content which I don't have.. Haha
JX1983 likes this.
mjzsakae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 05:16 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
JX1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,175
Great, I bought it too. . Bro.. Can u test if u can get sound from the rear speakers when u play music via bluetooth? Mine is pretty soft, seems like it only works when u are playing atmos content which I don't have.. Haha
Haha mine haven’t deliver yet. What’s ur setup for the tv and player?
__________________
Slow and crawling
JX1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 05:57 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
LiLAsN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 870
Great, I bought it too. . Bro.. Can u test if u can get sound from the rear speakers when u play music via bluetooth? Mine is pretty soft, seems like it only works when u are playing atmos content which I don't have.. Haha
Are you the type that expects a 'stereo' sound to come out even at the back speakers?

I guess you can mess with the effects option to upconvert the stereo content to play on all speakers but for me with my Logitech Z906, I just click the effect to copy the front stereo and play it at the back since my rear speakers closer to me allowing me to play music at a softer volume but still sound loud to me.

Then I just go back to the normal surround when watching movies that plays 5.1 surround audio and above.

Best of luck in finding the right effect for you since I have no knowledge of the ST5000 effects.
LiLAsN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2018, 08:34 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 300
I was following forums of Samsung K950 before but due to the firmware issue, I went for the wired option..

Anyway.. I just went to BD in Taka last weekend.. sat down on the Samsung K950 display area.. . I guess the firmware caught up already and I was impressed by the atmos demo sound.. $1599 (with a $200 voucher) is a great price btw.
JX1983 likes this.
Jamesky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2018, 09:33 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 291
Haha mine haven’t deliver yet. What’s ur setup for the tv and player?
I am intending to play movies from my laptop. I will be connecting the output from laptop to a hdmi splitter and send one hdmi signal to soundbar and one to a projector. New house not ready yet, so haven't set it up yet. Just playing with the speakers alone now.. 😁
JX1983 likes this.
mjzsakae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2018, 09:36 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 291
Are you the type that expects a 'stereo' sound to come out even at the back speakers?

I guess you can mess with the effects option to upconvert the stereo content to play on all speakers but for me with my Logitech Z906, I just click the effect to copy the front stereo and play it at the back since my rear speakers closer to me allowing me to play music at a softer volume but still sound loud to me.

Then I just go back to the normal surround when watching movies that plays 5.1 surround audio and above.

Best of luck in finding the right effect for you since I have no knowledge of the ST5000 effects.
Yeah. If it's possible that would be great. Tried all combinations. Can't get it to work on Bluetooth man.. Maybe I shld call Samsung and ask.. Hmm
JX1983 likes this.
mjzsakae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On