~Buyers who pay high prices for old flats face reality check

linbeier

onli rich ppl will use words rike rare n fair price.
they probably juz hooting it before exceeding the hdb income ceiling.

vesso2002

She got it for a steal. It’s better than a fair price.

Two things can happen.

First, her house gets SERed, so no loss to her.

Second, the lease on her house will run out and HDB will take it back in 55 yers time.

Between now and 55, nothing stops her from buying a condo and renting out this 3-room TERRACED UNIT, Given the size of the flat and that it is landed, I’m sure it can easily be rented for $3000, if not more. AMDK in particular love to rent these landed properties

Without taking into account inflation, she can collect $3000/mth for 50 years. Good deal? Hell yeah.
You forgot to calculate the interest, the tax, and the maintenance needed?

vesso2002

Queenstown got some old hdb terrace asking about 1 mil

Who wants to buy. :o quickly go

bastogne

bai riao skali within 1 ear gahmen say en-bloc tio pawn 12% ssd how ar? :o

drkcynic

Right on. Everybody is responsible for their own choices. Too many Singaporeans want to keep the profits from selling property but socialize their losses.

Recently so many of these threads. Why?

Jelly? Create fear? Mocking people?

Subprimer

she shouldn't buy thinking she can profit from it. Now that the minister has stated it so clearly so good luck to all these expensive resales buyer

Propanone

I know this lady, she valuation specialist.

Anw why suddenly there's a "Miss Wong" in the paragraph zzz never proofread

ocs_woodlands

She got it for a steal. It’s better than a fair price.

Two things can happen.

First, her house gets SERed, so no loss to her.

Second, the lease on her house will run out and HDB will take it back in 55 yers time.

Between now and 55, nothing stops her from buying a condo and renting out this 3-room TERRACED UNIT, Given the size of the flat and that it is landed, I’m sure it can easily be rented for $3000, if not more. AMDK in particular love to rent these landed properties

Without taking into account inflation, she can collect $3000/mth for 50 years. Good deal? Hell yeah.

Rental yield got ordinary fh landed is lesser than 2%.....

A rental of 3k on a purchase price of 700k is implying a yield of >5%...

You might want to get more education about property in SG...

boyinhersense

Rental yield got ordinary fh landed is lesser than 2%.....

A rental of 3k on a purchase price of 700k is implying a yield of >5%...

You might want to get more education about property in SG...

You answered your own question. A FH landed costs how much? I’m not surprised the rental yield is less than 2%.

A 3-rm terraced unit cannot rent out for $3k? There are HDB FLATS whose rental nets more than $3k if the location is good and flat is big.

The renters don’t give a damn that it’s a $700k HDB, they are renting for the fact it’s like a landed home.

fandango

She will be debt free when her husband dies.

Just saying.

Where to buy arsenic?

ocs_woodlands

You answered your own question. A FH landed costs how much? I’m not surprised the rental yield is less than 2%.

A 3-rm terraced unit cannot rent out for $3k? There are HDB FLATS whose rental nets more than $3k if the location is good and flat is big.

The renters don’t give a damn that it’s a $700k HDB, they are renting for the fact it’s like a landed home.

OK lah. Tell you what. The true test is in the market. Go check out the rental rates of the terraced HDB homes in the vicinity from srx.....

Talk much - no use. The data is out there. Do a screen cap and tell us about the 3k rental at Whampoa HDB terrace - if you can find it :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.