HoNg KoNg TrIp...Hooray!!~~

deckcard

There is no tax in HK which is why I only buy my stuff there. Do not understand what you are trying to ask in your 2nd question. You mean when you bring the ipod into Sing? There is no way they can tell if you bought in Sing or HK unless you tell them :D

ArsenalGear

Booked my plane tix to hongkong on Jan, but can't get a hotel within my budget, haiz.

Was wondering have anyone tried like booking a double or triple room, then smuggle 1 or 2 more person in? Cause in total, I'm going in a group of 4.

So was wondering if by doing so, will get caught by hotel anot, and dunnoe what will happen if got caught. Haiz.

yamashita

Flying over this week, so looking forward to it.

Just changed hong kong currency at the rate of HKD5.30 to SGD1.

:)

gnixer

hey guys what the current latest updates for the places die die must go 1 and the foods ?
where to exchange to get the best rate ?

any bros on SQ this fri morning flight ?

reverie62

ArsenalGear said:
Booked my plane tix to hongkong on Jan, but can't get a hotel within my budget, haiz.

Was wondering have anyone tried like booking a double or triple room, then smuggle 1 or 2 more person in? Cause in total, I'm going in a group of 4.

So was wondering if by doing so, will get caught by hotel anot, and dunnoe what will happen if got caught. Haiz.
i'm gonna do that after x'mas.

booked a triple room but we have got 4 people...

will let u know...

bluesky1

yama****a said:
Flying over this week, so looking forward to it.

Just changed hong kong currency at the rate of HKD5.30 to SGD1.

:)
hi, may i know where u change it? and how much u change? is it must change alot then u managed to get this rate?
i'll be going in dec... =)

aoco

Evening all, will be going HK end of the month, any comments on hong kong ocean park, is it worth going? now seems like Macau is being promoted on radio so thought of going for a day trip. i know can't cover everything in a day so would welcome suggestions on must visit places in macau. thanks in advance. :s12:

deckcard

aoco said:
Evening all, will be going HK end of the month, any comments on hong kong ocean park, is it worth going? now seems like Macau is being promoted on radio so thought of going for a day trip. i know can't cover everything in a day so would welcome suggestions on must visit places in macau. thanks in advance. :s12:

Ocean Park is definitely worth going. It is actually more worth going than Disneyland imo.

Dont know Macau much since I dont go there often but I will recommend "Tai Sam Ba" (Cantonese) landmark with the front of the church left. The "tower" so you can see the whole macau from top of the world. The Venetian is the latest Casino and it is HUGE. Sands, reasonably new Casino and very near the ferry terminal.

For food, you must try "Xuang Pi Nai" (Double skinned milk desert..), you can get this desert in HK too but Macau's version is stronger and better imo and "Zhu Pa Bao" (Pork chop burger) all well know in Macau.

ed_styler83

Well...Macau very small lor..Places to go are the Left over church, casinos if u gamble and the macau tower lor..other than tt...u can just simply take a trishaw which will get u tour ard macau in ard 30-45 mins..hahaha...i did tt though abit ex...cuz in SG nvr will i take a trishaw..hahaha..

ed_styler83

For food, you must try "Xuang Pi Nai" (Double skinned milk desert..), you can get this desert in HK too but Macau's version is stronger and better imo and "Zhu Pa Bao" (Pork chop burger) all well know in Macau

WHERE TO FIND?!?!?!?! I know cfm at Senado Square...but near where??

yamashita

bluesky1 said:
hi, may i know where u change it? and how much u change? is it must change alot then u managed to get this rate?
i'll be going in dec... =)

Hi bluesky1,

I did my exchange at parkway parade. Outside the mall, there's 2 currency exchange shops. Both offered the same rate of HKD5.30 to SGD1.

I changed SGD500, was initially offered HKD5.25 to SGD1. After asking, I walked off and was called back, given the rate of HKD5.30 instead. :)

mrbean008

ed_styler83 said:
Well...Macau very small lor..Places to go are the Left over church, casinos if u gamble and the macau tower lor..other than tt...u can just simply take a trishaw which will get u tour ard macau in ard 30-45 mins..hahaha...i did tt though abit ex...cuz in SG nvr will i take a trishaw..hahaha..
how u go from hk to macau twrs..? isit worth going?

mrbean008

anybody knows the best method to get to my hotel

my hotel MAP

map.jpg

1)

By Bus and Taxi
A31 from airport to Discovery Park than taxi to my hotel

2)

Airport Express to tsing yi and taxi

3) Other methods
http://www.lhotelhk.com/chi/images/map.jpg

qqspot

go to the Raffle Place you will get the best rate in town in at The Arcade!!

There you got 10 over money changer fight to change your $$$

messydirty

all bro out there.. i ish going to hong kong on 30th dec - 4th jan.. last yr same timing go once b4.. but neber really go good place to eat.. only shopping.. anyone intro me place tat have good dim sum for breakfast? sea food for dinner ???? tks lar..

ed_styler83

mrbean008 said:
how u go from hk to macau twrs..? isit worth going?

Take Ferry at Tsim Sha Tsui Ferry Terminal to Macau from there...You can just take a cab. Cheap cheap nia...haa..if nt u can just walk to the bus stop outside the Macau Ferry Terminal. Go see the directory or ask the ppl there...most ppl either gg to Casinos,Macau Tower or Senado Square. =)

Hm...u went to Macau Tower b4? if nt, just go walk one round lo...at least u come back u can tell ppl..i been to macau tower..hahahaha...no harm gg la..wont eat up much of ur time..so dun worry!

ed_styler83

messydirty said:
all bro out there.. i ish going to hong kong on 30th dec - 4th jan.. last yr same timing go once b4.. but neber really go good place to eat.. only shopping.. anyone intro me place tat have good dim sum for breakfast? sea food for dinner ???? tks lar..

If you browse thrgh this thread, u will see some gd food introduction. but since its 180+ pages i spare u some browsing time. hahaha...

For Seafood, u shld go to Sai kung.
For Wanton Noodle, u shld go to Yuen Long.
For Dim Sum, Tsim Sha Tsui,Mong kok, Jordan and Yau Ma tei. hahaha..so many places have..lol!

I oso gg in dec...27 Dec-1st Jan..hee

bluesky1

tks ggspot.. the rates at the Arcade will be better than those in Chinatown?

i'll be staying in Royal Plaza hotel at MOngkok... any "must try" food tat i must try around the area? is it a gd location?

planning to cover the following locations... can any one comment whether its too cramp for comfort?

- The Peak (maybe going MT oso)
- Avenue of Stars (symphony of lights)
- Ocean Park
- Disneyland (will be staying 1 night at the disneyland hotel)
- the usual markets... ladies, fa yeun st, etc... including TST area and nathan road area... (are they very near to each other able to cover in a day?)
- maybe LKF and SOHO just to see see...
- Repulse bay
- Lantau Island ( giant buddha, ngong ping360), maybe Tai O or Lamma island for seafood
- Wong Tai Sin temple
- if really have spare time wish to go to Macau... but i doubt got time....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.