When is the suitable time to travel to Hong Kong

Venny Lin

I am planning a trip to Hong Kong for the first time.
Any suggestion which month is the best?

s7460597

I am planning a trip to Hong Kong for the first time.
Any suggestion which month is the best?

For me summer months are too hot. Spring, autumn and winter are fine. Summer sales are from July to September. Should avoid China golden week holidays and period when there's exhibitions in hk and Guangzhou. Hotel prices go up a lot.

What period are you looking at?

Venny Lin

I should choose to go to HK in Spring months. How about the weather in Spring months?

For me summer months are too hot. Spring, autumn and winter are fine. Summer sales are from July to September. Should avoid China golden week holidays and period when there's exhibitions in hk and Guangzhou. Hotel prices go up a lot.

What period are you looking at?

Ruriel

I would try to avoid late November / early December as its very rainy (at least it rained quite a bit - scattered thunderstorms - the few times I was there at those period). It was very troublesome to keep opening and closing the umbrella lol. And trips to Ngong Ping and The Peak were disappointing coz it's just covered in fog.

oceanicmanta

usually late Oct til Dec are good months ... shldnt rain that much, but weather's uncertain

was there during Umbrella Revolution in Nov 14 and it as very nice

but same time Nov 15 was humid like Singapore

May 16, heat was unbearable plus rain !

tiger2013

Interesting question to ask...

Depending on what you are there for and what your likes and dislikes are, you would have a rough idea of when you would want to visit a country.

I guess most of us here have enough of Singapore's hot weather, so we generally prefer to go HK when it's cooler. Most recommendations will be around those periods.

Peak periods to avoid are during the various fairs and conferences in HK, as well as China golden holiday weeks.

dede1217

hk would be quite cold, between 10 to 20 degree till mar end ...
the last time went in feb, was around 18 degree
seems like genting weather

feb , hotel seems cheaper compared to peak mth such as jun dec, etc
managed to find b 3* hotels 4d3n at about 200sgd ...
evengreen was about 70+ per nite for two

KingOfSbw

sian jus realised my Apr 2017 trip last 2 days are HK public holidays, 14 and 15 Apr.

15th still ok because my return flight will be in afternn so wont be doing much

but i am planning the following on 14th, recommended to go anot during HK PH.

Chilin Nunnery, Diamond Hill MTR exit C2 follow the sign, 5min walk
Nan Lian Garden nearby the above
Jennys Cookies
Harbour City Shopping Mall
Victoria Harbour - A Symphony of Light

dede1217

sian jus realised my Apr 2017 trip last 2 days are HK public holidays, 14 and 15 Apr.

15th still ok because my return flight will be in afternn so wont be doing much

but i am planning the following on 14th, recommended to go anot during HK PH.

Chilin Nunnery, Diamond Hill MTR exit C2 follow the sign, 5min walk
Nan Lian Garden nearby the above
Jennys Cookies
Harbour City Shopping Mall
Victoria Harbour - A Symphony of Light

Went to Chilin Nunnery and Nan Lian Garden
the walk from diamond hill mtr is actually 10min not 5 min
seems like nearby, but when u walk is far :)

jenny cookies - buy at mirador mansion (need queue up), or sheung wan (nobody usually)

Ruriel

jenny cookies - buy at mirador mansion (need queue up), or sheung wan (nobody usually)

Eh? I walked around 5min only leh. The Nan Lian Garden entrance is very near the MTR station. The garden a bit boring though (I think I'm spoilt by the gardens in Japan liao).

thwysg

Jenny Bakery - Sheung Wan nobody? You sure? We queued for 1.5hrs in the rain plus the black faces we saw. My SO and friend said it's the first and last time. Lol.

dede1217

Jenny Bakery - Sheung Wan nobody? You sure? We queued for 1.5hrs in the rain plus the black faces we saw. My SO and friend said it's the first and last time. Lol.

we went there around 4+ pm ... no queue at all ...
depends on your luck ... sometimes many mainland tourist queue up there ...

thwysg

we went there around 4+ pm ... no queue at all ...
depends on your luck ... sometimes many mainland tourist queue up there ...

Lucky you. Yes, lots of tourists and when the shop was about to open, suddenly big group of people just slotted themselves into the queue in front of us. So no more. We would take the money to buy other brands instead.

Ruriel

is it very cold in HK in feb 23?

Hard to predict weather, but generally it's cold in HK during feb. Wearing just fleece jacket on top of a normal tee is enough for me though, plus windbreaker if going windy places.

s7460597

Temperatures can ride or drop pretty quickly. Temp was 19-24 earlier this week. These few days expected to drop this morning was 15°

Toney_h

I generally prefer to go there July August perfect weather and also shopping still ok not like December Jan when go mostly got winter wear - don't need for singapore weather!!

dede1217

went there during feb mar nov ...
weather quite cooling
around 13 to 18 degree

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.