HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread III

Like Tree57Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 15-11-2016, 10:58 PM   #1651
Supremacy Member
 
Magickiller9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6,399
The cheapest get from q10 ah???
Magickiller9 is offline  
Old 16-11-2016, 10:24 AM   #1652
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
ekardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 15,438
it's interesting to know that there's no 1 product that any HWZer can recommend ...

I am wondering what is the limitation of the product that there's no 1 value for money brand or model...

how come huh?
__________________
Live today likes there's no tomorrow
ekardo is offline  
Old 16-11-2016, 11:48 AM   #1653
Supremacy Member
 
Norman Chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,962
It boil down to individual , if you buy cheap later overheat and spoil than people will start saying recommend lousy product. If buy expensive (got a bit of brand name) than people will comment got cheap why need buy expensive.
adv_illusioned likes this.
Norman Chan is offline  
Old 16-11-2016, 02:51 PM   #1654
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
ekardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 15,438
so kinda think the industry is not normalised yet...bad/unstable product, ridiculous price, and too many varying factor like reception?

guess just have to wait and see...this is really 1 technology that is 1 step forward, 10 step backward...
__________________
Live today likes there's no tomorrow
ekardo is offline  
Old 16-11-2016, 09:10 PM   #1655
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,684
gUYS, I just got a new TV and was recommended to buy the Daiyo eu1705 flat antenna.

However, the shows intermittently lags! AND stutters!

DId I get ripped off? I Already have a SCV cable point in this new BTO flat.

WHat should I do?

Subscribe to Starhub? What if I wanna view only the free to air chananels?
Can I just connect a cable direct to the scv outlet without a set top box?
gardiboy is offline  
Old 16-11-2016, 09:48 PM   #1656
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 691
gUYS, I just got a new TV and was recommended to buy the Daiyo eu1705 flat antenna.

However, the shows intermittently lags! AND stutters!

DId I get ripped off? I Already have a SCV cable point in this new BTO flat.

WHat should I do?

Subscribe to Starhub? What if I wanna view only the free to air chananels?
Can I just connect a cable direct to the scv outlet without a set top box?
I am in the same boat. But I got a simple standing type antenna from SLS for $18. Works great.
ipevery is offline  
Old 16-11-2016, 10:44 PM   #1657
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 802
I am in the same boat. But I got a simple standing type antenna from SLS for $18. Works great.
what kind? got link of similar or pic?

Thanks
bberry is offline  
Old 16-11-2016, 11:09 PM   #1658
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,166
still using the built in dvb-t2 tv is better, most decoder the built quality is very poor. UI is ugly, the feeling of the remote control is damn bad while pressing the buttons.
my6600 is offline  
Old 17-11-2016, 09:15 AM   #1659
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
tank_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,026
I am in the same boat. But I got a simple standing type antenna from SLS for $18. Works great.
may I know which level you stayed? how far is the antenna from the window.

right now I testing for a friend who stays on level 2. I used my draco STB at his place. however the signal is pretty weak and the picture stutters a lot.
signal strength measured from draco stb fluctuates a lot 99% can drop to 10%.
and the tv is about 2-3m away from the window.

was thinking to recommend a better antenna.
tank_t is offline  
Old 17-11-2016, 01:54 PM   #1660
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,684
may I know which level you stayed? how far is the antenna from the window.

right now I testing for a friend who stays on level 2. I used my draco STB at his place. however the signal is pretty weak and the picture stutters a lot.
signal strength measured from draco stb fluctuates a lot 99% can drop to 10%.
and the tv is about 2-3m away from the window.

was thinking to recommend a better antenna.
Will subscribing to StarHub cable resolve the issue?
gardiboy is offline  
Old 17-11-2016, 02:57 PM   #1661
Senior Member
 
StoopiakIdiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 875
Guys.. previous issue still there.
Only HD 5.

And something worse now..

When I turn in my PC which is beside the tv, about 1 meter to the left, the signal quality drops to 1. Then TV no more signal.

When I turn off my PC, signal goes back up to 7 to 8.

Wtf!
StoopiakIdiot is offline  
Old 17-11-2016, 03:22 PM   #1662
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,477
Guys.. previous issue still there.
Only HD 5.

And something worse now..

When I turn in my PC which is beside the tv, about 1 meter to the left, the signal quality drops to 1. Then TV no more signal.

When I turn off my PC, signal goes back up to 7 to 8.

Wtf!
most likely you can only receive dvb-t, and you are very lucky to receive it because dvb-t signal is very weak.

try getting a dvb-t2 box and see whether it is better.
gregory_choo is offline  
Old 17-11-2016, 06:04 PM   #1663
Supremacy Member
 
Norman Chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,962
may I know which level you stayed? how far is the antenna from the window.

right now I testing for a friend who stays on level 2. I used my draco STB at his place. however the signal is pretty weak and the picture stutters a lot.
signal strength measured from draco stb fluctuates a lot 99% can drop to 10%.
and the tv is about 2-3m away from the window.

was thinking to recommend a better antenna.
You think an active digital antenna will solve the problem? Or get a higher range db passive digital antenna?
Norman Chan is offline  
Old 17-11-2016, 06:56 PM   #1664
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 137
gUYS, I just got a new TV and was recommended to buy the Daiyo eu1705 flat antenna.

However, the shows intermittently lags! AND stutters!

DId I get ripped off? I Already have a SCV cable point in this new BTO flat.

WHat should I do?

Subscribe to Starhub? What if I wanna view only the free to air chananels?
Can I just connect a cable direct to the scv outlet without a set top box?
Yes, you can receive all the sg free to air analogue tv signals from the scv outlet. You need to buy a coaxial antenna cable with one end that can screw into the scv outlet and the other end normal plug into antenna socket on your tv.
I'm surprised that nobody EXPLICITLY mentioned this before. All the sg analogue signals are there so an ordinary analogue tuner of any tv can tune into. You don't need to subscribe to Starhub and don't need the set top box to decode these analogue signals. Your ordinary standard analogue TV tuner can tune into these like those from free standing independent antenna.

I also have a cheap digital tuner but I seldom use it because it tends to overheat. I use the tv analogue tuner and the scv analogue signals are very clear and stable. The picture quality is almost close to the digital tuner quality so I don't miss using the digital tuner at all. I have a 65in very cheap Philips tv and people say 65in must be 4K otherwise very ugly, even digital tv 1080p signal is not supposed to be good enough. Well the analogue tv is clear and stable, colors are vibrant. Of course most people will not take the risk and that's why Philips has to sell this big tv so cheap.

Of course, they are saying these free to air signals will stop by end of next year and all analogue tuners will not work. But they make no effort to make the digital tuners affordable before then. I would expect them to compel Starhub to carry the digital signals into their scv outlets in the DVBT2 format instead of the less common DVB-C format. Then we won't see mini antennae sprouting from numerous high rise Windows and mess up the facade like before the 1970s when communal antenna started. We have communal antennae and yet we are wasting them next year.

Last edited by azbyza; 17-11-2016 at 07:04 PM..
azbyza is offline  
Old 17-11-2016, 10:48 PM   #1665
Senior Member
 
StoopiakIdiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 875
I finally found something

I went to see what freq the channels are

The freq is for tvb t! Not t2!

Now.. my tv is t2 compatible.
How to toggle?
StoopiakIdiot is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On