HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread III

Like Tree57Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 29-06-2016, 09:03 PM   #946
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,562
so i got the antenna n now i am able to receive ch5 hd, ch8 hd, suria hd, vasantham hd, channel newsasia hd, channel U and okto hd.

is this correct? no other channels i am missing rite?
which ant you bought?
gregory_choo is offline  
Old 30-06-2016, 12:07 AM   #947
Moderator
 
Ottoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 84,626
so i got the antenna n now i am able to receive ch5 hd, ch8 hd, suria hd, vasantham hd, channel newsasia hd, channel U and okto hd.

is this correct? no other channels i am missing rite?
If you are talking abt Mediacorp channels only then yes
__________________
爱·回家之开心速递 | 牛下女高音 | 解决师

TWICE 트와이스 | IZ*ONE 아이즈원

TVB Dramas | List of Dramas | TWICE Fanclub | S.H.E Fanclub | PL 2019/20 Fixtures
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Ottoke is offline  
Old 30-06-2016, 12:00 PM   #948
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 782
Anybody using this?
Daiyo eu1702 indoor antenna?
Selling $64 at BEST
Good?

Or the funke5.1 better?
spec116 is offline  
Old 30-06-2016, 01:35 PM   #949
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
5star_pundit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 24,532
Anybody using this?
Daiyo eu1702 indoor antenna?
Selling $64 at BEST
Good?

Or the funke5.1 better?
Diff between daiyo and funke is the former need to plug into tv usb port where the latter one uses ac to power up
5star_pundit is offline  
Old 30-06-2016, 03:36 PM   #950
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 782
Diff between daiyo and funke is the former need to plug into tv usb port where the latter one uses ac to power up
I tot funke also using usb port to power?
spec116 is offline  
Old 30-06-2016, 07:21 PM   #951
Senior Member
 
Windowlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,555
When it is going to install a permanent socket for indoor ? That will be best for all.
Windowlover is offline  
Old 30-06-2016, 10:05 PM   #952
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
allanzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24,792
When it is going to install a permanent socket for indoor ? That will be best for all.
Don't think they will when a cheap antenna can make it work.

allanzzz is offline  
Old 30-06-2016, 10:41 PM   #953
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 509
ebay has cheaper antenna, some is less than s$1.50

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1M-3Ft-Digit...-/182099848646

http://www.ebay.com/itm/5dBi-Freevie...-/131226834472
The one in the link seems to be for DVB-T TV. I read somewhere it is different from DVB-T2?
singapore's channels are within 530-600MHz.

Most areas in singapore are indoor-reception ready, so most of the time, these simple antenna should work.

But sometimes you may encounter blindspots in the house, in this case, you may have to change the location of antenna, shift it somewhere nearer the windows.

In some extreme cases, you may have to buy powered antenna.

Most receivers provide EPG.
i have been reading this thread for a while. I am thinking should I be getting those antennas from daiyo, funke OR buy those affordable ones from ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...tenna&_sacat=0

Anyone using those from ebay can share their experience vs the more expensive ones from Daiyo & funke?

**ebay seems to only have DVB-T and not DVB-T2 antennas, any difference?

Lastly, with digital signals, those our local channels broadcast schedule guide just like how normal singtel & starhub STB do?

Last edited by COL Juay; 30-06-2016 at 10:54 PM..
COL Juay is offline  
Old 30-06-2016, 10:57 PM   #954
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 105,706
i have been reading this thread for a while. I am thinking should I be getting those antennas from daiyo, funke OR buy those affordable ones from ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...tenna&_sacat=0

Anyone using those from ebay can share their experience vs the more expensive ones from Daiyo & funke?

**ebay seems to only have DVB-T and not DVB-T2 antennas, any difference?

Lastly, with digital signals, those our local channels broadcast schedule guide just like how normal singtel & starhub STB do?
DVB-T and DVB-T2 are using the same UHF band, so the antenna is the same.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.





PM me if you require Keppel Electric referral code.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 06:38 AM   #955
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 113
i have been reading this thread for a while. I am thinking should I be getting those antennas from daiyo, funke OR buy those affordable ones from ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...tenna&_sacat=0

Anyone using those from ebay can share their experience vs the more expensive ones from Daiyo & funke?

**ebay seems to only have DVB-T and not DVB-T2 antennas, any difference?

Lastly, with digital signals, those our local channels broadcast schedule guide just like how normal singtel & starhub STB do?
I am using the 5 dBi and 16 dBi ones. They are working fine, one connected to K2-box (16 dBi) and the other one directly into a DVB-T2 ready TV (5 dBi). See my post #893.
COL Juay likes this.

Last edited by honestguy; 01-07-2016 at 06:42 AM.. Reason: Additional info
honestguy is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 12:17 PM   #956
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 509
I am using the 5 dBi and 16 dBi ones. They are working fine, one connected to K2-box (16 dBi) and the other one directly into a DVB-T2 ready TV (5 dBi). See my post #893.
Thanks for sharing! given that the prices do not differ much, I presume getting a 16dBi antenna to connect to my DVB-T2 ready TV is "safer".

For your DVB-T2 ready TV, do you get the option of the digital TV guide?
COL Juay is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 02:30 PM   #957
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 113
Thanks for sharing! given that the prices do not differ much, I presume getting a 16dBi antenna to connect to my DVB-T2 ready TV is "safer".

For your DVB-T2 ready TV, do you get the option of the digital TV guide?

No EPG for my DVB-T2 ready TV.

Last edited by honestguy; 01-07-2016 at 04:37 PM.. Reason: Correction
honestguy is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 04:25 PM   #958
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
5star_pundit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 24,532
[QUOTE=honestguy;102272636]
Thanks for sharing! given that the prices do not differ much, I presume getting a 16dBi antenna to connect to my DVB-T2 ready TV is "safer".

For your DVB-T2 ready TV, do you get the option of the digital TV guide?[/QUOT

No EPG for my DVB-T2 ready TV.
Wat tv ?
5star_pundit is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 04:49 PM   #959
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 113

Wat tv ?
Panasonic TV
honestguy is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 09:49 PM   #960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 701
Hi guys I own a Philips tv 46PFL6606H/12 and in the specs sheet it's stated to have DVB-C. Currently planning to terminate my Starhub cable subscription as it's not worth the monthly $.

Q:Can I still connect coaxial cable from the SCV wall box directly to my TV to receive FTA channels or do I need a stb/antenna for this?

Quite confused as this this model doesn't have Singapore listed in the region settings, mostly EU countries etc. So I'm not sure if I can even scan local frequencies?

Paiseh if I'm using terms wrongly, am a TV signal noob here I just need FTA channels for the family to watch some local programmes.
chester121 is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On