HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread IV

Like Tree322Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2018, 11:41 PM   #1741
Master Member
 
Jurong640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,643
The news article did mentioned the $100 can be used to purchase an integrated digital TV, but not sure if the govt will list selected models or not..
Hopefully, need to get 1 32" one. Keep toggling between 2 remote controls is painful. 1 remote for switching on tv and volume, the other for STB switching of channels.
Jurong640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 03:47 PM   #1742
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 209
Hopefully, need to get 1 32" one. Keep toggling between 2 remote controls is painful. 1 remote for switching on tv and volume, the other for STB switching of channels.
Some remote can copy certain button from the other remote. Need to read the user guide to find out,however, such features may not stated inside the user guide.
in1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 07:37 PM   #1743
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,333
Hopefully, need to get 1 32" one. Keep toggling between 2 remote controls is painful. 1 remote for switching on tv and volume, the other for STB switching of channels.
Well, can always get a cheap universal remote costing around $4 that do the functions you require. The only con is, the main TV remote is still needed if need to adjust TV related settings.
__________________
PM me if you're looking for Ohm referral code. Tks.
albertlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 08:48 PM   #1744
Master Member
 
Jurong640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,643
Some remote can copy certain button from the other remote. Need to read the user guide to find out,however, such features may not stated inside the user guide.
Well, can always get a cheap universal remote costing around $4 that do the functions you require. The only con is, the main TV remote is still needed if need to adjust TV related settings.
Yeah understand the universal remote part, but not sure if my old DVB-T2 box bought from Qoo10 can support universal remote or not.

Even though can, like what you said, some features might not work. Cos my family member always find the hassle of 2 remotes, always press wrong. Perhaps shall see if i receive the letter and can use the $100 to get a new tv.
__________________
One Life, Live it. Outdo yourself, be yourself. Believe in yourself.
Jurong640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 09:58 PM   #1745
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,333
Yeah understand the universal remote part, but not sure if my old DVB-T2 box bought from Qoo10 can support universal remote or not.

Even though can, like what you said, some features might not work. Cos my family member always find the hassle of 2 remotes, always press wrong. Perhaps shall see if i receive the letter and can use the $100 to get a new tv.
Of course can, me and some fellow HWZers also using.

The one I'm talking about, has almost the same remote layout as K2/K3 STB. It has additional 4 buttons for TV control, namely power, volume up/down and AV/TV. For the TV part, it can "learn" from the TV remote but for older TV model, it require multiple tries to get it to work correctly.
__________________
PM me if you're looking for Ohm referral code. Tks.
albertlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 07:52 AM   #1746
Master Member
 
Jurong640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,643
Of course can, me and some fellow HWZers also using.

The one I'm talking about, has almost the same remote layout as K2/K3 STB. It has additional 4 buttons for TV control, namely power, volume up/down and AV/TV. For the TV part, it can "learn" from the TV remote but for older TV model, it require multiple tries to get it to work correctly.
Thanks Albert. I'll give it a try with my universal remote to see how.
Jurong640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 11:24 AM   #1747
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
jtjt00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 14,941
Anyone know where to buy Funke 5.1 Combo antenna?
jtjt00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 07:47 PM   #1748
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 66
Any one know LC52LE835X support digital TV?
Do I need to get a setup box or just an antenna will do ?

Thanks
mhgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 09:30 PM   #1749
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,498
Any one know LC52LE835X support digital TV?
Do I need to get a setup box or just an antenna will do ?

Thanks
dvb-t only.

check your manual to confirm, under the spec page.
gregory_choo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 10:19 PM   #1750
Master Member
 
Jurong640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,643
Anyone know where to buy Funke 5.1 Combo antenna?
I bought from Giant. Courts also selling
Jurong640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2018, 11:42 PM   #1751
Master Member
 
Lil_d3viLz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,036
Oh no. That is really pain to see. If i'm not wrong, if you are eligible for the free STB, you can choose either a STB+Antenna or a $100 voucher to buy your own STB and antenna.

Not sure if that voucher can buy a new 32" TV, so don't need another STB
How to see if eligible or when will receive?
Moving to new home BTO soon.
__________________
I <3 Maths
Lil_d3viLz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2018, 12:06 AM   #1752
Master Member
 
Jurong640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,643
How to see if eligible or when will receive?
Moving to new home BTO soon.
Can't remember where I saw the roll out phases, some places will receive a letter in April, Some in May.

Those eligible are household without Starhub/Singtel TV set up box. If you don't have you, you might be eligible
Jurong640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2018, 10:05 PM   #1753
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Caulibeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22,940
Hi, is there any dvb t2 set top boxes that can receive both sg and my channels?
Caulibeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2018, 09:04 AM   #1754
Master Member
 
Jurong640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,643
Hi, is there any dvb t2 set top boxes that can receive both sg and my channels?
It's really dependant on your antenna and signal strength. I don't use the box as my tv is dvb-t2 ready. I can receive Singapore and Malaysia digital channels.

I live low floor, need a stronger amplified antenna as my area is blocked by high rise blocks and trees. Sometimes still got distortions .
Jurong640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2018, 09:34 PM   #1755
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 197
DVB-C terminated?

Is the DVB-C transmission from Starhub terminated? I cannot receive any channel on my STB in the past few days.
Leisure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

Samsung
Rewards