HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread IV

Like Tree348Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 22-09-2017, 07:18 PM   #991
Great Supremacy Member
 
amazingone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 55,497
Actually still got time as Mediacorp has not announce the date of the switching off of analogue Tv.
Not this year end?
amazingone is offline  
Old 22-09-2017, 08:16 PM   #992
Senior Member
 
singmob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,328
Got any small(25">) DVB T2 TV to recommend other than sheet brand?
singmob is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 06:13 AM   #993
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 133
Anyone bought K2 box recently? It seems the remote control quality is getting worse. Bought 2 units recently and both remote controls are not as sensitive that the one came with K2, I bought last year. Got to press multiple times before the command is accepted.

Thought was the box receiver or the IR angle issue. But after I changed to using a universal remote, no such issue. Consider invest in a universal remote control and instead of fiddling with 2 remote controls, I just use 1 to control both K2 and TV.
honestguy is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 08:34 AM   #994
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 764
Try this one. Last I check like in early Aug, the rest are old models. Get this with Chinese Menu.

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/NEW-CHIPSE...ectedOptions=;
The Chinese menu is only for the STB setup and tuning interface?

Or it can display Chinese text in the electronic TV program guide, where others can't?

May be useful to Chinese educated elderly who cannot read English.
u0206397 is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 09:40 AM   #995
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,875
Anyone bought K2 box recently? It seems the remote control quality is getting worse. Bought 2 units recently and both remote controls are not as sensitive that the one came with K2, I bought last year. Got to press multiple times before the command is accepted.

Thought was the box receiver or the IR angle issue. But after I changed to using a universal remote, no such issue. Consider invest in a universal remote control and instead of fiddling with 2 remote controls, I just use 1 to control both K2 and TV.
Let me guess, brought from the infamous Sin** seller?

What is the brand/model of your universal remote? Cost?
albertlee is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 09:42 AM   #996
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,875
The Chinese menu is only for the STB setup and tuning interface?

Or it can display Chinese text in the electronic TV program guide, where others can't?

May be useful to Chinese educated elderly who cannot read English.
Me also interested to know but I doubt it can be done as the EPG text is transmitted in English. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Also wanted to know if this STB model can support displaying of Chinese filename of video file when using the media player.
albertlee is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 02:05 PM   #997
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,083
There is a language option for EPG but it still shows up in English.

The Chinese menu is only for the STB setup and tuning interface?

Or it can display Chinese text in the electronic TV program guide, where others can't?

May be useful to Chinese educated elderly who cannot read English.
csc12345678 is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 02:06 PM   #998
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,083
Let me guess, brought from the infamous Sin** seller?

What is the brand/model of your universal remote? Cost?
Is Sin** that bad ? Service or machine bad ?
csc12345678 is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 02:13 PM   #999
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 764
Let me guess, brought from the infamous Sin** seller?

What is the brand/model of your universal remote? Cost?
He's not a good seller?

Seems like he's the only guy carrying Chinese STBs for Singapore market? The other China sellers do not indicate if their DVB-T2 STB can work in Singapore, so it's basically buy at your own risk.

Last edited by u0206397; 23-09-2017 at 02:16 PM..
u0206397 is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 02:47 PM   #1000
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,875
Is Sin** that bad ? Service or machine bad ?
There are many complaint from buyers, go and read their review. Me only brought once from him, and have issue with the provided antenna. In short, bad QC on his part.

He's not a good seller?

Seems like he's the only guy carrying Chinese STBs for Singapore market? The other China sellers do not indicate if their DVB-T2 STB can work in Singapore, so it's basically buy at your own risk.
Apparently those sellers I brought from no longer selling or not selling these cheap STB. Most of these STB should work but always good to double check with them.
albertlee is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 04:42 PM   #1001
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 133
Let me guess, brought from the infamous Sin** seller?

What is the brand/model of your universal remote? Cost?
Yes. Bought 3 sets from the same seller. To be fair, the one I bought in 2016, the remote control is quite responsive. The latest 2 I bought in 2017, the quality is bad.

I bought Logitech Harmony 350. $54, the cost is 2x the K2 box. Very responsive.
honestguy is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 07:29 PM   #1002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 764
Yes. Bought 3 sets from the same seller. To be fair, the one I bought in 2016, the remote control is quite responsive. The latest 2 I bought in 2017, the quality is bad.

I bought Logitech Harmony 350. $54, the cost is 2x the K2 box. Very responsive.
So basically it's "you get what you pay for."

Then most people who wants a trouble free experience should go back to the New Media Solutions, Akira and Draco $99 and above. Pay more for better quality.
u0206397 is offline  
Old 23-09-2017, 08:16 PM   #1003
Master Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,083
So basically it's "you get what you pay for."

Then most people who wants a trouble free experience should go back to the New Media Solutions, Akira and Draco $99 and above. Pay more for better quality.
Has anyone bought these cheaper boxes and manage to use it for 1,2 or 3 years ?
csc12345678 is offline  
Old 24-09-2017, 06:22 AM   #1004
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 133
So basically it's "you get what you pay for."

Then most people who wants a trouble free experience should go back to the New Media Solutions, Akira and Draco $99 and above. Pay more for better quality.
I have different thought. The $99 branded box (vs. K2 box) will be totally down the drain after I changed to a new TV. The universal remote that I invested in can be re-use on other 8 devices as backup.

K2 box quality is quite OK, except the recent batch of remote controls. My 2016 K2 box is 1.5 years old now and still going strong.
csc12345678 likes this.
honestguy is offline  
Old 24-09-2017, 06:32 AM   #1005
Supremacy Member
 
Qubicfactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,465
I have different thought. The $99 branded box (vs. K2 box) will be totally down the drain after I changed to a new TV. The universal remote that I invested in can be re-use on other 8 devices as backup.

K2 box quality is quite OK, except the recent batch of remote controls. My 2016 K2 box is 1.5 years old now and still going strong.
Well, still can use actually, if got old LCD monitor or projector lying around.
__________________
ThinkSECURE OSSA/OSWA/OSWAP | EC-Council ECSA/CHFI/CEH | CompTIA Security+
Qubicfactor is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On