HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread V

Like Tree37Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2018, 07:11 PM   #271
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 559
Need to buy digital tv antenna to buy TV, WTF?

Visited a major electronic store wanting to buy a digital TV and make use of the $100 discount.

Was told by salesperson that need to buy antenna to buy TV, this is despite me saying that I already have one. WTF. Anyone encountered this before?
__________________
Want to know where is cheapest phone in sg?

http://shoestringbudgetrc.blogspot.sg/

Last edited by zyklon86; 11-07-2018 at 07:13 PM..
zyklon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 07:18 PM   #272
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
get the DTV starter kit will do
As we r PR,we can't get the kit.
angel_i16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 07:43 PM   #273
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,580
Hmmm. S long s its a usb device, its power usage supposed to b supported by the usb port host?
not true.
.......

Last edited by gregory_choo; 13-07-2018 at 10:30 PM..
gregory_choo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 07:51 PM   #274
Senior Member
 
wongminmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,981
Visited a major electronic store wanting to buy a digital TV and make use of the $100 discount.

Was told by salesperson that need to buy antenna to buy TV, this is despite me saying that I already have one. WTF. Anyone encountered this before?
wongminmin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 08:20 PM   #275
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,960
All bundle antenna are indoor use model. If you want outdoor can go for Funke Combo 5.1, Courts selling at $59.

https://www.funke.nl/64_891_Combo_5_1.aspx
https://www.courts.com.sg/funke-city...tenna-ip079626
This model can redeem?
PPkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 09:16 PM   #276
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,492
This model can redeem?
Of course, this and perhaps another antenna like Funke DSC250 @$39.

https://www.courts.com.sg/funke-dsc2...tenna-ip132034
__________________
PM me if you're looking for Ohm referral code. Tks.
albertlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 09:25 PM   #277
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 34
I managed to redeem 2 of the Funke 550 antennas using the redemption letter. Was using another antenna that couldn’t get Malaysia channels, but now managed to with the Funke 550.

Location: Bukit Batok, mid-level

However, really need to stick the antenna out of the window then can receive.

prayerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 09:38 PM   #278
Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5,555
Of course, this and perhaps another antenna like Funke DSC250 @$39.

https://www.courts.com.sg/funke-dsc2...tenna-ip132034
我宜家用緊哩款。接收能力夠。。。啱啱好。
Ed.YEO is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 04:19 PM   #279
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 202
You can get a new dvb-t2 box on qoo10. I got it a few years ago at around $20 for the box. Antenna is optional, if you are using antenna now, you can reuse it. You need antenna only if your tv is connected to the MATV ( the wall antenna port connected to hdb rooftop).

Won't cost $100 So expensive.
the wall antenna port that is previously connected to Starhub settop box, is that MATV? Can I use that port as an antenna if its previously connected to Starhub STB? Or I still need to get a separate antenna?
zapzap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 04:26 PM   #280
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 162
UA39EH5003MXXS

hi guys,

My Samsung LED TV UA39EH5003MXXS (https://www.samsung.com/sg/support/m...A39EH5003MXXS/), from the user manual and samsung website, it can receive digital broadcast without a set-top box.

I bought an external antenna and connect to this TV, but I could not received any digital channel. since the DVB set-top box is not expensive, i bought one and connect to the same external antenna, it can receive all digital channels.

just wondering could it be this is the first generation of digital TV not compatible with DVB-T2?
kokho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 04:32 PM   #281
High Supremacy Member
 
amazingone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 36,947
hi guys,

My Samsung LED TV UA39EH5003MXXS (https://www.samsung.com/sg/support/m...A39EH5003MXXS/), from the user manual and samsung website, it can receive digital broadcast without a set-top box.

I bought an external antenna and connect to this TV, but I could not received any digital channel. since the DVB set-top box is not expensive, i bought one and connect to the same external antenna, it can receive all digital channels.

just wondering could it be this is the first generation of digital TV not compatible with DVB-T2?
UA39EH5003MXXS doesn't support DVB-T2, likely is the older DVB-T.
kokho likes this.
__________________
喜歡自己的樣子
喜歡自己喜歡你的樣子 🤞
amazingone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 04:34 PM   #282
High Supremacy Member
 
amazingone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 36,947
the wall antenna port that is previously connected to Starhub settop box, is that MATV? Can I use that port as an antenna if its previously connected to Starhub STB? Or I still need to get a separate antenna?
That is the StarHub cable point, you can't use it to receive digital TV.

You will have to get an indoor antenna if your TV supports DVB-T2. Otherwise, you will have to get an digital T2 box too.
kokho likes this.
__________________
喜歡自己的樣子
喜歡自己喜歡你的樣子 🤞
amazingone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 04:36 PM   #283
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 162
UA39EH5003MXXS doesn't support DVB-T2, likely is the older DVB-T.
Thanks for the quick reply, as such I didn't waste money to get the set-top box
kokho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 05:43 PM   #284
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 8
UA39EH5003MXXS doesn't support DVB-T2, likely is the older DVB-T.
DVB-T tv can receive channel 5 only as it broadcasting both on dvbT& dvbT2, other HD channels are broadcasting only on Dvbt2. So those digital tv on dvbT have to use full set top box.
Cocoon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 05:55 PM   #285
High Supremacy Member
 
amazingone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 36,947
DVB-T tv can receive channel 5 only as it broadcasting both on dvbT& dvbT2, other HD channels are broadcasting only on Dvbt2. So those digital tv on dvbT have to use full set top box.
Eh I thought Mediacorp has ceased transmission on DVB-T platform and already fully transitioned to DVB-T2?
amazingone is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On