HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread V

Like Tree77Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 16-08-2018, 05:22 PM   #631
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 246
got link for the $1.98 antenna?
I just checkedl lazada, looks like price increase to 5.99. You can search for digital antenna in lazada. The set fron China. Store is magicriver store
Forseti is offline  
Old 16-08-2018, 07:27 PM   #632
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,558
I just checkedl lazada, looks like price increase to 5.99. You can search for digital antenna in lazada. The set fron China. Store is magicriver store
S$1.7 from ebay with free shipping

https://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/5dBi-Fre...F/142875967532

https://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/5CB5-5dB...v/113189039660
Forseti likes this.

Last edited by gregory_choo; 17-08-2018 at 08:28 AM..
gregory_choo is offline  
Old 16-08-2018, 08:09 PM   #633
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,437
I just checkedl lazada, looks like price increase to 5.99. You can search for digital antenna in lazada. The set fron China. Store is magicriver store
S$2.20 from Lazada, free delivery direct to home.

https://www.lazada.sg/products/redco...UEu8Y&search=1
__________________
PM me if you're looking for Ohm referral code. Tks.
albertlee is offline  
Old 17-08-2018, 08:58 AM   #634
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
Understand that Mediacorp channel audio 1 track is 5.1 sound (think is HE AAC format). Anybody manage to get 5.1 sound if it is feed to a AVR receiver?
Think so far only TV can do surround sound. The TV will transcode the HE-AAC audio to either AC3, DTS or PCM to support current sound system.
dexter9898 is offline  
Old 18-08-2018, 10:11 AM   #635
Senior Member
 
Windowlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,555
When mediacorp will change all free ch to HD... ? Seem too late compare to other asian courtry,
Windowlover is offline  
Old 18-08-2018, 10:36 AM   #636
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,437
When mediacorp will change all free ch to HD... ? Seem too late compare to other asian courtry,
Huh? Isn't all FTA channels already in HD?
__________________
PM me if you're looking for Ohm referral code. Tks.
albertlee is offline  
Old 18-08-2018, 11:12 AM   #637
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,517
Huh? Isn't all FTA channels already in HD?
Nw FTA channels is alrd digital transm. He talked abt HD. HD is depend on tv itself rite?
sporeknight76 is offline  
Old 18-08-2018, 11:26 AM   #638
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,437
Nw FTA channels is alrd digital transm. He talked abt HD. HD is depend on tv itself rite?
Isn't transmission in 1080i not HD? It is not "full HD" or "true HD" as that will require 1080p.

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/feat...-should-i-care
__________________
PM me if you're looking for Ohm referral code. Tks.
albertlee is offline  
Old 18-08-2018, 12:10 PM   #639
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,517
I currently using analog. Arld get the STB n watch on digital transm. V clear. Full HD or wat D, i don care. V gd n clear. 😁 can choose subtitle somemore
sporeknight76 is offline  
Old 18-08-2018, 12:20 PM   #640
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,558
Nw FTA channels is alrd digital transm. He talked abt HD. HD is depend on tv itself rite?
depends on the eyes too.
gregory_choo is offline  
Old 19-08-2018, 08:53 PM   #641
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 138
Just redeemed for the NMS at Courts Hypermart Tampines.Hope no problem using it.😄
abkt99 is offline  
Old 20-08-2018, 01:03 AM   #642
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,517
Try use it n review. Some say learning function on the remote gt prob. Try recording c if any unusual stuff crops up.
sporeknight76 is offline  
Old 20-08-2018, 10:36 AM   #643
Senior Member
 
AnDyLe0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,242
Understand that Mediacorp channel audio 1 track is 5.1 sound (think is HE AAC format). Anybody manage to get 5.1 sound if it is feed to a AVR receiver?
yes can. make sure your home theater system is able to decode AAC5.1 and Dolby5.1.
if u recv via DVB-T2 over the air, the audio is AAC5.1, recv via starhub cable tv the audio is Dolby5.1.
also make sure your set top box audio output is set to raw or passthrough when sending audio to HTS/AVR.

btw, most of the fta tv channels around the world broadcast in 1080i, not p, 1080i is HD. 2160p is 4K/UHD.
__________________
Luv`N`Peace
AnDyLe0 is offline  
Old 21-08-2018, 11:07 AM   #644
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 39
Any particular brand/model AVR that can decode AAC5.1? As most in the market only decode Dolby and DTS.

Thanks.
neji_kun is offline  
Old 21-08-2018, 10:26 PM   #645
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
Hi all,

I redeemed the New Media Solutions Set-top box a few months back, and I am currently experiencing some problems because the non-digital TV attached to the STB died this afternoon. I tried to hook it up to multiple 1440x900, 1600x900 and 1280x1024 PC monitors via HDMI but all of them could not receive the video signal. The monitors either does not display anything, displays "out of range" error messages or flashes purple in colour. Previously, I have toyed with the settings of the STB and came to know that the default resolution/format of the STB is 720i/1080i(I forgot which, but it is i), with options to switch to 720p/1080p manually. I am suspecting the monitors cannot receive i signals. Now that I have no TVs to check out the menu, I am attempting to do a blind settings change to other resolutions, in hoping for one of the monitors to 'pick up' the video signal somehow. I am hence requesting for pictures/screenshots of the settings menu (up till resolution change) so that I can hopefully use the monitor as a TV.

Thanks for any help in advance!
weareanomalousweareregion is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On