HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread V

Like Tree78Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 16-10-2018, 05:47 PM   #1126
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 106,608
Thanks for your suggestion, I have thought of that but I found it quite hard to remove the living room's antenna from the wall, worry the paint may comes out when force removal. During the installation i didn't see, wonder if it's using double sided foam tape?
Where did I say about removing your living room's antenna? Just leave it alone and let the STBs do the moving.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.



Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 16-10-2018, 08:41 PM   #1127
High Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 36,630
new Draco model comes with additional free antenna!
Any idea what is the model number and where can we get it ??
Medicated Oil is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 11:14 AM   #1128
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 498
Hi all,

Want to check if anyone has a similar experience.

I got the free DVB box in Sep 18. It is the NewMedia Solutions box provided by M1 and IMDA.

Initially it was working for a couple of days. It then started to fail to boot up (we turn off the box together with the TV). It would get stuck at the boot screen, showing NewMedia's splash screen. Now it does not even boot. The system is powered on as the LED is lit green.

For display, we wired it up to an old CRT TV (yes I still have one of those) via the AV cables as my father is not familiar with operating the newer TV.

I doubt this is the cause so something must have gone wrong in the box itself.

Calling the hotline at 6655 5571 is useless. The engineer was supposed to call me back but I waited the entire day and did not receive a callback.

I do not have cable TV or Internet TV subscription as my parents rarely watch them.

tl;dr this is what I want to ask

1. Anyone face the same issue with the NewMedia Solutions box failing to boot? If so, what did you do?
2. Now that I've already claimed the free box, I suppose I have to cough up my own cash to buy a new one if the free box can't be fixed?

Thank you
simwb90 is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 11:31 AM   #1129
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,498
Any idea what is the model number and where can we get it ??
ANT900 according to the ads over at Courts.

https://www.courts.com.sg/draco-hdt2...eiver-ip119582
Medicated Oil likes this.
albertlee is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 12:19 PM   #1130
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,646
Hi all,

Want to check if anyone has a similar experience.

I got the free DVB box in Sep 18. It is the NewMedia Solutions box provided by M1 and IMDA.

Initially it was working for a couple of days. It then started to fail to boot up (we turn off the box together with the TV). It would get stuck at the boot screen, showing NewMedia's splash screen. Now it does not even boot. The system is powered on as the LED is lit green.

For display, we wired it up to an old CRT TV (yes I still have one of those) via the AV cables as my father is not familiar with operating the newer TV.

I doubt this is the cause so something must have gone wrong in the box itself.

Calling the hotline at 6655 5571 is useless. The engineer was supposed to call me back but I waited the entire day and did not receive a callback.

I do not have cable TV or Internet TV subscription as my parents rarely watch them.

tl;dr this is what I want to ask

1. Anyone face the same issue with the NewMedia Solutions box failing to boot? If so, what did you do?
2. Now that I've already claimed the free box, I suppose I have to cough up my own cash to buy a new one if the free box can't be fixed?

Thank you
send for warranty claim.
gregory_choo is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 12:48 PM   #1131
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 498
send for warranty claim.
I'll try and contact the company...there is no receipt so not sure if they will honour the warranty, if any
simwb90 is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 01:05 PM   #1132
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,498
I'll try and contact the company...there is no receipt so not sure if they will honour the warranty, if any
Already enquire, receipt not require, NMS has your record.

Thanks very much for writing to us! No worries, the Starter Kit you have received comes with 1 year warranty and we have your records and it is not necessary to register for warranty.

If you encounter any issues, please feel free to call M1 Hotline dedicated to support the Starter Kit programme at 6655-5571.

Last edited by albertlee; 17-10-2018 at 01:08 PM.. Reason: Include quote from NMS email
albertlee is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 02:44 PM   #1133
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 498
Already enquire, receipt not require, NMS has your record.
Thank you albert
I've sent them an email to see how to follow up on this.
simwb90 is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 03:54 PM   #1134
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,498
Thank you albert
I've sent them an email to see how to follow up on this.
If they don't reply, resend and cc a copy to IMDA, seem like M1 support in this area is lacking.
albertlee is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 04:06 PM   #1135
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,646
If they don't reply, resend and cc a copy to IMDA, seem like M1 support in this area is lacking.
why imda helps them to make $$$$$?
gregory_choo is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 05:18 PM   #1136
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,498
why imda helps them to make $$$$$?
Doesn't matter who as long as someone is doing the job. But if M1 service is not up to par then IMDA has to step in.
albertlee is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 06:10 PM   #1137
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,578
Thank you albert
I've sent them an email to see how to follow up on this.
Try to c if the box has any reset button. My singtel wifi router v occassionally hang when switch on. So there is a little reset button. Reset it n it works.

If tis cant help, send yr box to the nms svc centre. Ask m1 wat is it s they shld knw as we can collect the box direct from m1. Don drag liao s any issue try to resolve asap.
sporeknight76 is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 06:13 PM   #1138
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,578
Doesn't matter who as long as someone is doing the job. But if M1 service is not up to par then IMDA has to step in.
Rem tat time those contractor came to all home to setup the optic fibre from OpenNet. Some areas is delayed n i think i read somewher they gt fine.

Lik u said, doesnt matter who do the job. The contractors who supply the boxes or do the follow-up jobs, hav to do a good one. They tender for this digitaltv project.
sporeknight76 is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 09:32 PM   #1139
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 498
If they don't reply, resend and cc a copy to IMDA, seem like M1 support in this area is lacking.
i have them on separate mails. will combine them if NMS is not forthcoming on this.

Try to c if the box has any reset button. My singtel wifi router v occassionally hang when switch on. So there is a little reset button. Reset it n it works.

If tis cant help, send yr box to the nms svc centre. Ask m1 wat is it s they shld knw as we can collect the box direct from m1. Don drag liao s any issue try to resolve asap.
yeah...just waiting till end of this week to see if NMS reply. I've actually already sent an email to IMDA prior to sending to NMS.
It just sucks if i have to bring the box down to the svc centre cux it wastes time. Ubi is ulu as heck.
simwb90 is offline  
Old 17-10-2018, 10:12 PM   #1140
Supremacy Member
 
FD Trinitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 5,794
Where did I say about removing your living room's antenna? Just leave it alone and let the STBs do the moving.
My new TV delivered today, now antenna connected directly to the TV no more issue.
FD Trinitron is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On