HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread VI

Like Tree19Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2019, 08:58 AM   #211
Honorary Member
 
mrclubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 138,203
Apr 2019 channel and frequency update on Malaysia DTT frequency for Southern Johor:

682MHz (Mux 1) - 2 HD and 4 SD channels
TV3 HD, NTV7, 8TV, TV9, TVAH (HD), BNC


698MHz (Mux 2) 5 HD channels
TV1 HD, TV2 HD, TV Okey HD, RTM Sports HD and BES (also known as Saluran Berita RTM).

Frequency rescan on digital TV STB / iDTV is required as all RTM channels has moved to second multiplex (another frequency), and Channel W has ceased transmission on Malaysia DTT platform.

If previously you can't receive Malaysia DTT channels on 682MHz in Singapore, perhaps you can try receive the 698MHz one.
Nice ! I can receive all the channels from Malaysia now

682MHz
0800 TV3 HD
0801 TVAH
0802 NTV7
0803 8TV
0804 TV9
0805 BBC

698MHz
0806 TV1
0807 TV Okey
0808 RTM HD Sports
0809 BES
0816 TV2

But then:
Channels under 698MHz, their signal intensity fluctuate from 58% -> 62% -> 58% continously and signal quality also same thing but wider range between 70% to 100%

Channels under 682MHz, their signal quality is always 0% and the signal intensity keeps moving from 90% -> 91% -> 90%, and frequently there is no image, even if have also every 5-10 seconds will hang once
mrclubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 04:42 PM   #212
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
sTiCkY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24,352
Hi sorry to bother I am looking for a setop box that is able to records show for my mom to watch in her free time, any recommendations really new to this area. Thanks!
sTiCkY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 06:55 PM   #213
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,361
Hi sorry to bother I am looking for a setop box that is able to records show for my mom to watch in her free time, any recommendations really new to this area. Thanks!
Any cheap PRC STB will do the trick. Can refer to my thread over here for more info.
__________________
PM me if you're looking for Ohm referral code. Tks.
albertlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2019, 08:39 AM   #214
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
5star_pundit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 24,190
How to take screenshot using NMS tv box
5star_pundit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2019, 08:47 AM   #215
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
5star_pundit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 24,190
Hi sorry to bother I am looking for a setop box that is able to records show for my mom to watch in her free time, any recommendations really new to this area. Thanks!
With the New Media Solutions tv box you can record tv programme using EPG to select the various channel and then press the red button. Leave the box on and it will auto record tge selected programme when it is on air
5star_pundit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2019, 12:29 PM   #216
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
For DVB-T2 set top box (STB), I would recommend IMDA approved products only. The sole reason being that the products have been approved with evidence, among other requirements, that the sets comply with Singapore's electrical safety standards.

Brief details of some of the approved STB are listed below, in alphabetical order.

AscenD STB 1687 with active antenna

1 year warranty. ~$45 + shipping where applicable. TV programs recorded can be played elsewhere, eg pc or lap top, which means that you can do editing also with video editors. For specs, buyers' reviews and seller's answers to queries refer to:

https://www.lazada.sg/products/ascen...ektbd&search=1

https://shopee.sg/Ascend-DVB-T2-Set-...102.1427382657

Draco HDT2-7700 with active antenna

~$100. Duration of warranty not stated (Discontinued model HDT2-7300 came with 1 year warranty). Available at Courts. Stock may be limited. For specs and user manual refer to:

https://www.skycomsatellite.com/prod...aco-hdt2-7700/

Hyundai HDV-360

6 month warranty. ~ $30 + shipping where applicable. For buyers' reviews and seller's answers to queries refer to:

https://www.lazada.sg/products/hyund...iABEgJJ7_D_BwE

Telematrix TM-IRD-S2

6 months warranty ~$38 + shipping where applicable. For specs refer to:

https://telematrixtv.wordpress.com/2...g-no-n0275-18/

Online website: https://www.99sme.sg/it-and-electron...-and-av-cable/

Note: all STB mentioned above can record TV programs. For more specific information such as instant/schedule recording and pause/time shift which means you can pause the tv program while being viewed and come back to continue viewing where you have left off, refer to the respective websites.

Disclaimer: I have no business interests in any one of these products. You are advised to compare and decide on the one that suits your requirements best.
mrsun18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2019, 08:51 PM   #217
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
...
Now the problem is how to fix the DARCO dvb-t2 (Bought it from Gain city by using IMDA $100 voucher)tv channel 8 lagging?
If what you see is pixelated or frozen/still image, then the problem of your Draco is probably caused by below average signal intensity/signal quality for ch 31 (554 MHz) used for chan 8 and Vas, even if there is no problem for Vas.

What you can do it to do "Channel Scan" (pg. 7 of user manual) for this channel. While watching the indicators for the intensity and quality, adjust the antenna to achieve the best values (quality more important than intensity). After this has been done you have to verify the receptions for the other channels are not affected by the new antenna position.

If you don't have a copy of the user manual, you can download a soft copy using the link just before this post.
mrsun18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2019, 09:18 PM   #218
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
5star_pundit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 24,190
i am using my monitor (see below) as a living room TV by connecting it to New Media Solutions tv box to watch mediacorp programmes using HDMI at resolution 1080i at 50Hz. The audio sound come out from the monitor itself

_________________________________________________________________

Processor
AMD Ryzen 1700X | EK-Supremacy EVO
Mainboard
MSI B350 Tomahawk Arctic
Graphics Card
MSI GTX1080 Gaming X | EK-FC1080 GTX TF6
Memory
Adata XPG Spectrix D40 2400mhz 2x8gb
Display
Acer XB271HU
Storage
WD Black NVMe 512Gb SSD
Casing
Be Quiet Dark Base Pro 900
PSU
Enermax Platimax DF Platinum 1200w
Audio
Edifier S1000db | Sound Blasterx AE-5 | Sennheiser HD600
OS
Windows 10
5star_pundit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2019, 12:43 AM   #219
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
some question on ukobox.
if there anyway to use our own USB wireless adapter to connect to our wireless network?
Or we need to buy the one from the seller?

I have tired to use my tplink wireless adapter but it cant seem to connect to my wireless network. Anyone has the settings or solution. Thanks in advance.
linksys2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2019, 09:07 AM   #220
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,361
some question on ukobox.
if there anyway to use our own USB wireless adapter to connect to our wireless network?
Or we need to buy the one from the seller?

I have tired to use my tplink wireless adapter but it cant seem to connect to my wireless network. Anyone has the settings or solution. Thanks in advance.
Unless your wifi adapter uses the MT7601 chipset, it would not work. Refer to my thread over here for more info.
__________________
PM me if you're looking for Ohm referral code. Tks.
albertlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2019, 10:26 AM   #221
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Unless your wifi adapter uses the MT7601 chipset, it would not work. Refer to my thread over
am thinking of using ukobox with wifi usb to stream iptv in the car. anyone tried using this? read a few review in qoo10 that itv is pretty laggy. appreciate any feedback. thanks.

Last edited by kurau15s; 22-04-2019 at 10:33 AM..
kurau15s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2019, 08:43 PM   #222
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 90
i am using my monitor (see below) as a living room TV by connecting it to New Media Solutions tv box to watch mediacorp programmes using HDMI at resolution 1080i at 50Hz. The audio sound come out from the monitor itself

_________________________________________________________________

Processor
AMD Ryzen 1700X | EK-Supremacy EVO
Mainboard
MSI B350 Tomahawk Arctic
Graphics Card
MSI GTX1080 Gaming X | EK-FC1080 GTX TF6
Memory
Adata XPG Spectrix D40 2400mhz 2x8gb
Display
Acer XB271HU
Storage
WD Black NVMe 512Gb SSD
Casing
Be Quiet Dark Base Pro 900
PSU
Enermax Platimax DF Platinum 1200w
Audio
Edifier S1000db | Sound Blasterx AE-5 | Sennheiser HD600
OS
Windows 10
Yes, you can do that......
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Isof8Qx9Ppk
Enjoy!!!!!!!
Durian Shell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2019, 08:55 PM   #223
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,477
am thinking of using ukobox with wifi usb to stream iptv in the car. anyone tried using this? read a few review in qoo10 that itv is pretty laggy. appreciate any feedback. thanks.
it has more than 200 channels, some are very smooth, some are not.

try your luck, if the good channels are what you want, then it is a good match. by the way, the dongle costs only $5, low risk to take.
gregory_choo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 10:40 AM   #224
Master Member
 
yes1705's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,173
If what you see is pixelated or frozen/still image, then the problem of your Draco is probably caused by below average signal intensity/signal quality for ch 31 (554 MHz) used for chan 8 and Vas, even if there is no problem for Vas.

What you can do it to do "Channel Scan" (pg. 7 of user manual) for this channel. While watching the indicators for the intensity and quality, adjust the antenna to achieve the best values (quality more important than intensity). After this has been done you have to verify the receptions for the other channels are not affected by the new antenna position.

If you don't have a copy of the user manual, you can download a soft copy using the link just before this post.
At my place, Channel 5 HD screen is constantly frozen. It is worse in the evenings / night. There goes my weekends trying to watch re-runs of blockbuster movies in full HD and OKTO programs (from 1 May 2019) showing on Channel 5 now.

Tried shifting the antenna but little room since I live on low storey with surrounding flats all around my block.
yes1705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 01:46 PM   #225
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,477
At my place, Channel 5 HD screen is constantly frozen. It is worse in the evenings / night. There goes my weekends trying to watch re-runs of blockbuster movies in full HD and OKTO programs (from 1 May 2019) showing on Channel 5 now.

Tried shifting the antenna but little room since I live on low storey with surrounding flats all around my block.
Buy a RF extension cable for you antenna and place the antenna next to window.
gregory_choo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On