HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread VI

Like Tree29Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2019, 10:08 PM   #391
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,560
Go google search....

Better look for STB built in with SPDIF.

https://ezbuy.sg/product/51000024956...-productDetail

Look for active antenna
https://www.lazada.sg/shop/newmedia-solutions/

Receive MYTD program? It's depend on your location (you stay at), how you place your Antenna and Antenna location correctly.......
new media antenna is a bad recommendation.

can get draco dsc250 for $29.

or pay a bit more for dsc550/dsc560.
bumperbee likes this.
gregory_choo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 11:35 PM   #392
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 100
new media antenna is a bad recommendation.

can get draco dsc250 for $29.

or pay a bit more for dsc550/dsc560.
Show us your video of your TV program of the reception signal to prove that you are right. If no, please **** off ..... Stop your idiot and mislead to everyone here. Go use your own $2 or $4 antenna and **** off here......
Durian Shell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 01:26 AM   #393
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
8-lane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22,077
need advise on some digital tv boxes recommendations....

landed house, level 1 and 2... 1 hisen TV, 1 samsung TV...

just able to receive local channels, if can receive malaysia then good, cannot nvm...

any recommendations which model to go for?
I have a brand new unused digital tv box if u're interested..
__________________
"The most important decisions in life are never easy"
8-lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 02:15 PM   #394
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 214
Hi,
Anyone knows how to do an exchange of the NMS set-top box issued by M1? It was given to me by a friend. After using for about 2 weeks, screen becomes faulty (pixelated).
Called M1. They said actual owner need to bring it to either IMM or Paragon Orchard to get it check.
Just wanted to know if a 3rd party can get it exchange instead, rather than bothering my friend. Thanks
BeeGees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 03:18 PM   #395
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
Hi,
Anyone knows how to do an exchange of the NMS set-top box issued by M1? It was given to me by a friend. After using for about 2 weeks, screen becomes faulty (pixelated).
Called M1. They said actual owner need to bring it to either IMM or Paragon Orchard to get it check.
Just wanted to know if a 3rd party can get it exchange instead, rather than bothering my friend. Thanks
Nope, serial number of the box is tagged to the house address.
BeeGees likes this.
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 03:22 PM   #396
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 214
Nope, serial number of the box is tagged to the house address.
Thanks. Guess I've to trouble my friend then.
BeeGees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 03:37 PM   #397
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
Thanks. Guess I've to trouble my friend then.
Pixelated is not a faulty set-top box. Most likely the antenna is not placed in an optimal position (like near windows and away from TV/router interference). Check that the antenna power is turned on inside the set-top box menu.
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 03:54 PM   #398
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
FreshMaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,464
thank you.

https://www.lazada.sg/catalog/?q=act...92c5634cELcRa2

which one do u recommend?

the DVB-T2 is good enough right? then add 1 antenna..? which antenna above link do u recommend, thanks in advance...
FreshMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 01:05 PM   #399
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
thank you.

https://www.lazada.sg/catalog/?q=act...92c5634cELcRa2

which one do u recommend?

the DVB-T2 is good enough right? then add 1 antenna..? which antenna above link do u recommend, thanks in advance...
If your TV is placed further away from the windows, get this 6m antenna from NMS. You can paste it on the wall or windows.

https://www.lazada.sg/products/activ...Y7Q3O&search=1

Do not get the stick antenna as it's reception is omni-directional and can pick up interference signals easily.
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 01:52 PM   #400
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
FreshMaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,464
If your TV is placed further away from the windows, get this 6m antenna from NMS. You can paste it on the wall or windows.

https://www.lazada.sg/products/activ...Y7Q3O&search=1

Do not get the stick antenna as it's reception is omni-directional and can pick up interference signals easily.
thank you.

so the digital set top box i get DVB-T2 is good enough or do u have other recommendations?

Last edited by FreshMaker; 11-09-2019 at 02:36 PM..
FreshMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 11:36 AM   #401
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
thank you.

so the digital set top box i get DVB-T2 is good enough or do u have other recommendations?
DVB-T2 is the standard Mediacorp is using to broadcast their digital TV. Most of the set-top boxes are manufactured in China, it really depend on their QC at the factory.

NMS box is known to spoil easily but the exchange can be quite easy if still within warranty period. Those boxes that you bought online is really heng sway.

I would recommend user to change their TV set if the TV is older than 5 years. Hassle free from using a set-top box, sharper image due to better LCD technology and energy efficient. Furthermore, SMART TV can let you watch Youtube, Toggle, etc.

I have seen someone boasting about his 10k Loewe TV that he bought many years back but the TV picture quality & sharpness are not that fantastic compared with a recently released cheap China-brand TV.

Last edited by dexter9898; 12-09-2019 at 01:23 PM..
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2019, 10:32 PM   #402
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
WhiteAnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23,702
Just collected the Draco HDT2-7700+Funke DSC250 from Harvey Norman (Millenia Walk).
Pretty straight forward set up except somehow the provided HDMI cable does not work with my LG monitor.
Works with my LG TV though.

The box came with software version DVB-T2 HD V1.3.0 (May 30 2018)
Is this the latest software?
I tried updating via OTA but it always fails at the "Collecting information" part.
Went to best denki and courts, can't find this draco TV box...

Which other type of TV box should I claim as I have the letter from my mom.

Anyone knows? Pls advice pls!

I saw this one in best denki, issit good? $99

https://www.bestdenki.com.sg/antenna/newmedia/stb2-t2

Or where can I get the draco TV box?

Last edited by WhiteAnt; 14-09-2019 at 11:30 PM..
WhiteAnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 10:16 AM   #403
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
Went to best denki and courts, can't find this draco TV box...

Which other type of TV box should I claim as I have the letter from my mom.

Anyone knows? Pls advice pls!

I saw this one in best denki, issit good? $99

https://www.bestdenki.com.sg/antenna/newmedia/stb2-t2

Or where can I get the draco TV box?
Go online and redeem though the set-top box given is by NMS. Get them to help your mom to install for free...if you are planning to install it at your place rather than the address on the letter, get them to mail the set-top box to the address on the letter.
https://starterkit.digitaltv.sg/#redeem
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 04:23 PM   #404
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
WhiteAnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 23,702
Go online and redeem though the set-top box given is by NMS. Get them to help your mom to install for free...if you are planning to install it at your place rather than the address on the letter, get them to mail the set-top box to the address on the letter.
https://starterkit.digitaltv.sg/#redeem
Okays thank you
WhiteAnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 05:04 PM   #405
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
digital tv

hi, I followed the steps to install digital tv but cannot receive any channels, I do not know what is wrong
koupenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On