HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread VI

Like Tree29Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 16-09-2019, 05:58 PM   #406
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,559
hi, I followed the steps to install digital tv but cannot receive any channels, I do not know what is wrong
you never mention what steps? may be wrong steps?
gregory_choo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 09:18 PM   #407
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
those steps in imda website
koupenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2019, 12:09 AM   #408
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 838
hi, I followed the steps to install digital tv but cannot receive any channels, I do not know what is wrong
Antenna problem, is it an active antenna? Those that has a usb?
mankind66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2019, 11:39 AM   #409
Master Member
 
Trueblue82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3,832
is it all new tvs juz use the usb antenna can see channels
Trueblue82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2019, 02:20 PM   #410
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
those steps in imda website
what's your tv brand and model. got dvb-t2 tuner built in?

indoor antenna brand / model...got use power inserter (usb)?
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2019, 02:22 PM   #411
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
is it all new tvs juz use the usb antenna can see channels
new tv that comes with built-in dvb-t2 tuner.
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2019, 08:20 PM   #412
Senior Member
 
justpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,901
Looking for a new TV, may i know is this TV required any additional setup box to watch MediaCorp channels? Or I can just plug into my power socket and enjoy . Thanks a lot

https://shopee.sg/product/22800308/2...087?smtt=0.0.9
justpee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2019, 12:46 AM   #413
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 838
is it all new tvs juz use the usb antenna can see channels
My dvb-t2 set top box needs usb antenna to receive tv program, passive antenna no pictures.

While the same passive antenna can watch tv program with my 4k digital tv.
mankind66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2019, 09:05 AM   #414
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 275
My dvb-t2 set top box needs usb antenna to receive tv program, passive antenna no pictures.

While the same passive antenna can watch tv program with my 4k digital tv.
Tuner sensitivity...how much is your TV compared to a China made set-top box with maybe production cost less than 10 USD.
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2019, 06:58 PM   #415
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
digital tv

any recommendation for indoor antenna that can receive malaysia channels, I live in the north of sg, on the 5th floor

by the way, mediacorp sent a technician and found that the antenna cable is faulty, suggested buying a new antenna
koupenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2019, 08:35 PM   #416
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 30
any recommendation for indoor antenna that can receive malaysia channels, I live in the north of sg, on the 5th floor

by the way, mediacorp sent a technician and found that the antenna cable is faulty, suggested buying a new antenna
Hmm, this one seems not bad...
Do give us a review if you bought and tried.
https://shopee.sg/%F0%9F%8F%86-S%CD%...308.1498692287
joshhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2019, 08:54 PM   #417
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 225
I still have the IMDA letter. Need to redeem by 30 Sept. Can anyone tell me what's the best box to redeem if I am not purchasing a TV?
oakhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 02:19 PM   #418
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 30
Wanna ask. Are you guys able to receive some digital TV signals on these frequencies, but no channels inside?

35 586MHz
36 594MHz
37 602MHz
38 610MHz

These muxes belongs to Singapore. But I got the info that these frequencies are actually transmitting "blank" signal (no channels, nothing inside). You guys try manual search these 4 frequencies, see if you can detect any signal readings (although there's no channels in it) and share with us the signal strength % readings you got.

Anyone knows since when and why Singapore is transmitting these "blank" DTT signals? Why not they just switch it off to save electricity?
joshhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 02:52 PM   #419
Master Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,518
I still have the IMDA letter. Need to redeem by 30 Sept. Can anyone tell me what's the best box to redeem if I am not purchasing a TV?
If the set top box is NewMedia Solution then the recorded media can only play back on the same set top box. Once the set top box died, all the recorded media is useless. The recorded media is encrypted and tied to the particular set top box. The media cannot play on VLC or even the same model of NewMedia Solution.
peterchan75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 02:55 PM   #420
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 225
If the set top box is NewMedia Solution then the recorded media can only play back on the same set top box. Once the set top box died, all the recorded media is useless. The recorded media is encrypted and tied to the particular set top box. The media cannot play on VLC or even the same model of NewMedia Solution.
Wow, didn't know about this. Anyway managed to find Draco box at Harvey Norman.
oakhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On