HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

HDTV, Digital TV and antenna discussion thread [consolidated]

Like Tree26Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 20-06-2012, 05:02 PM   #61
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 112,196
Oh... thanks.. Then how?

Govnt giving free DVB-T2 box? or must buy?
Giving free? U wait long long long long long long.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 20-06-2012, 05:06 PM   #62
Junior Member
 
waterstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Giving free? U wait long long long long long long.
That mean 3 options :

1) Subscribe to Singtel
2) Subscribe to Starhub
3) buy DVB-T2 box

All option mean pay more $$... Swiss standard of living
waterstone is offline  
Old 20-06-2012, 05:22 PM   #63
Moderator
 
sunsetbay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 45,814
My TV can support dvb-t2, it is Sony KDL-40EX520.

I think all Sony new TVs support dvb-t2!
seem like only your series support dvb-t2~ i check the higher end sony models, all didn't indicate~

HX925 Series
http://support.sony-asia.com.edgesui...4268267141.pdf

HX850 Series
http://support.sony-asia.com.edgesui...4411920121.pdf

EX650 Series
http://support.sony-asia.com.edgesui...4416730121.pdf
__________________
۩₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪۩

sunsetbay is offline  
Old 20-06-2012, 05:22 PM   #64
Senior Member
 
AnDyLe0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,242
it's EX523 and EX524?
__________________
Luv`N`Peace
AnDyLe0 is offline  
Old 20-06-2012, 07:34 PM   #65
Senior Member
 
AnDyLe0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,242
That mean 3 options :

1) Subscribe to Singtel
2) Subscribe to Starhub
3) buy DVB-T2 box

All option mean pay more $$... Swiss standard of living
actually u have 2013-2020 to switch to digital.
that means most will choose option 4... wait for tv to spoil then buy new HDTV with built-in tuner.
anyway... singapore is already at least 5 yrs lagging behind other countries... some countries already have analog signal switched off...
waterstone likes this.
__________________
Luv`N`Peace
AnDyLe0 is offline  
Old 20-06-2012, 10:52 PM   #66
Master Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,136
My TV can support dvb-t2, it is Sony KDL-40EX520.

I think all Sony new TVs support dvb-t2!
Erm, EX520 is not the same as EX523 or EX524?
kun1he2 is offline  
Old 21-06-2012, 09:18 AM   #67
Senior Member
 
AnDyLe0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,242
Erm, EX520 is not the same as EX523 or EX524?
not the same.
how come no one noticed?
__________________
Luv`N`Peace
AnDyLe0 is offline  
Old 21-06-2012, 09:39 AM   #68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 659
Just wondering whether MDA considers to use the fibre network for transmission of FTA channels. Just feel that DVB-T network can have problems such as reception issues, bad weather affecting reception etc.

Costs could be higher with the DVB-C network.
viv4080 is offline  
Old 21-06-2012, 09:58 AM   #69
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 112,196
Just wondering whether MDA considers to use the fibre network for transmission of FTA channels. Just feel that DVB-T network can have problems such as reception issues, bad weather affecting reception etc.

Costs could be higher with the DVB-C network.
Rightfully there about the aerial antenna issues with the DVB-T broadcast.

As for the use of fibre, gahmen will tell u to use SingTel MIO TV which has an option to use the fibre network for the provision of service, so there u go.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 21-06-2012, 10:02 AM   #70
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 71
Sorry for my mistake.

EX520 is different from EX523 or EX524, it can't support DVB-T2.

EX523/524 is for Europe market.

Erm, EX520 is not the same as EX523 or EX524?
fromnuaa is offline  
Old 21-06-2012, 10:33 AM   #71
Junior Member
 
waterstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
actually u have 2013-2020 to switch to digital.
that means most will choose option 4... wait for tv to spoil then buy new HDTV with built-in tuner.
anyway... singapore is already at least 5 yrs lagging behind other countries... some countries already have analog signal switched off...
Yes, there should be option 4. But TV dont spoil so easily unless you want it to spoil
waterstone is offline  
Old 27-06-2012, 03:09 PM   #72
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,156
Anyone had DVB-T2 tuner or TV already? Can try to scan if the trial signal still there?
Soul77 is offline  
Old 28-06-2012, 01:07 PM   #73
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 703
Like to know that too.
chuppachop is offline  
Old 29-06-2012, 07:26 AM   #74
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,603
I think the new standard is still in the developmental phase, and given our current shoddy coverage by DTV, don't hold your breath on radical changes.

So use whatever you have, and even then don't swop out your current set just because of this. Instead when the old set needs replacement, then consider a set specced with the new tuner. For all you know, those tuners with DTV-2 now may not be the same ones that is needed, since this is a new development.
__________________
POST YOUR QUESTIONS INSTEAD OF SENDING A PM



Use the Search Button and Read the Stickies!




My home theatre gear and my blog:

https://peteswrite.blogspot.com/2020...tup-22020.html
petetherock is offline  
Old 29-06-2012, 10:33 AM   #75
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,156
I just want to know if the DTV-T2 singal for HD5 is there.
Because I'm having problem receiving HD5 on my new room. If it's there, i want to get a DVB-T2 pci-e cards. Saw that on ebay for $130
Soul77 is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On