HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

HDTV, Digital TV and antenna discussion thread [consolidated]

Like Tree26Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 30-07-2012, 09:02 PM   #91
Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 5,232
Official Olympic Channel by the IOC - YouTube
Somemore HD too
Spirax is offline  
Old 30-07-2012, 11:16 PM   #92
Supremacy Member
 
Citiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,823
Official Olympic Channel by the IOC - YouTube
Somemore HD too
Thanks for sharing, Spirax.
Citiguy is offline  
Old 31-07-2012, 11:55 AM   #93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,163
Official Olympic Channel by the IOC - YouTube
Somemore HD too
This is the future of television... If only they are allowed to do this for every free to air channels in the world
Soul77 is offline  
Old 06-08-2012, 04:27 PM   #94
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
nice article knowledge on antenna.now i got 1 Qs what filter to use to filter the signal or how to do the filtering.i been searching on this info.
I have been absent from this forum for quite some time. Just saw your question (to refresh your memory please read thread #1).

Generally, there are band pass and band stop filters. They may be found in specialist shops selling TV antennae, amplifiers & parts in Sim Lim Tower (and perhaps elsewhere).

First, you have to know what are the signals (or interference), their frequencies and signal levels. Then you decide on the appropriate filter to attenuate them to below the wanted signal.

If there are more specific questions please let me know.

Edit Note: More information can be found here>>http://www.tinlee.com/Matv_filters.php?active=3

Last edited by mrsun18; 07-08-2012 at 03:11 PM.. Reason: URL link added
mrsun18 is offline  
Old 16-08-2012, 08:07 PM   #95
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,370
how do i route my tv wall socket to hdb rooftop antenna? currently the tv wall socket in my room is linked to scv
xFBUUx is offline  
Old 16-08-2012, 08:29 PM   #96
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,261
how do i route my tv wall socket to hdb rooftop antenna? currently the tv wall socket in my room is linked to scv
If ur HDB has antenna means u've a socket in ur hse tat is connected to it. Just run cable from there to ur room.
__________________
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]
Streetwise is offline  
Old 16-08-2012, 08:55 PM   #97
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
If ur HDB has antenna means u've a socket in ur hse tat is connected to it. Just run cable from there to ur room.
Only partially correct. Most owners opted to change the connection over to SCV during their roll out. They can receive free-to-air channels even if they don't subscribe.

xFBUUx

Starhub (SCV) disallow tempering of their connections. Why do you want to change? HDB signals only give you one extra channel TV2. I don't include TV1 because it is hopeless with all the interference.
mrsun18 is offline  
Old 16-08-2012, 09:09 PM   #98
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,261
Only partially correct. Most owners opted to change the connection over to SCV during their roll out. They can receive free-to-air channels even if they don't subscribe.

xFBUUx

Starhub (SCV) disallow tempering of their connections. Why do you want to change? HDB signals only give you one extra channel TV2. I don't include TV1 because it is hopeless with all the interference.
If there is an existing antenna at the rooftop, means the hses should hve two socket one for SCV and the other for antenna??
__________________
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]

Last edited by Streetwise; 16-08-2012 at 09:12 PM..
Streetwise is offline  
Old 16-08-2012, 11:00 PM   #99
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
If there is an existing antenna at the rooftop, means the hses should hve two socket one for SCV and the other for antenna??
Not for HDB, may be for private properties. Are you living in HDB apartment?

I have both in my condo.

Edit: If HDB owners make their own modifications, then it's a different story.

Last edited by mrsun18; 16-08-2012 at 11:03 PM..
mrsun18 is offline  
Old 16-08-2012, 11:44 PM   #100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,261
Not for HDB, may be for private properties. Are you living in HDB apartment?

I have both in my condo.

Edit: If HDB owners make their own modifications, then it's a different story.
Yes, I'm in HDB. Rooftop antenna means there is a socket in ea house for it. SCV came into the pix later.....thus, if the newer HDB do not hve antenna socket and only SCV...then there shouldn't be any rooftop antenna....since all hsehlds using only SCV cable...and it doesn't make sense for HDB to install rootop antenna if there is no users right??
__________________
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]
Streetwise is offline  
Old 17-08-2012, 12:02 PM   #101
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
Yes, I'm in HDB. Rooftop antenna means there is a socket in ea house for it. SCV came into the pix later.....
Correct, but I will qualify by saying new flats have more than one socket.

thus, if the newer HDB do not hve antenna socket and only SCV...then there shouldn't be any rooftop antenna....since all hsehlds using only SCV cable...and it doesn't make sense for HDB to install rootop antenna if there is no users right??
Perfectly logical, but they are owners who continue to use HDB MATV.
mrsun18 is offline  
Old 17-08-2012, 12:39 PM   #102
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,261
Correct, but I will qualify by saying new flats have more than one socket.
Yes, of course......my hse has 3 MATV points and 3 SCV points. Wat I was pointing out was tat if hse owner has no socket in their room and there is a rooftop antenna, they logically should hve MATV sockets and tat the alternative to putting in a socket in their room....is to use a splitter from their existing socket and run a TV cable to their room. This thought also applies to SCV cable. Of course, it's up to the owner to decide wat's best for themselves

Perfectly logical, but they are owners who continue to use HDB MATV
Yes, those who hve a choice, ie, both SCV and MATV points; case in point, I'm using MATV point as my place can rec Malaysia/Indo channels....besides S'pore and last but not least, HD channels on MATV is a bonus.
__________________
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]

Last edited by Streetwise; 17-08-2012 at 12:43 PM..
Streetwise is offline  
Old 17-08-2012, 01:23 PM   #103
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,370
If ur HDB has antenna means u've a socket in ur hse tat is connected to it. Just run cable from there to ur room.
All the tv wall socket in my house is now connected to SCV signals. previously the tv wall socket in my room is connected to HDB signals and the living room and master bedroom are connected to SCV signals. i want to change back to HDB MATV. how do i go about doing it?
xFBUUx is offline  
Old 17-08-2012, 01:25 PM   #104
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,370
Only partially correct. Most owners opted to change the connection over to SCV during their roll out. They can receive free-to-air channels even if they don't subscribe.

xFBUUx

Starhub (SCV) disallow tempering of their connections. Why do you want to change? HDB signals only give you one extra channel TV2. I don't include TV1 because it is hopeless with all the interference.
I want to receive TV2 and HD5
xFBUUx is offline  
Old 17-08-2012, 01:42 PM   #105
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
I want to receive TV2 and HD5
No HD5? It's a surprise to me. Thanks.
mrsun18 is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On