HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

HDTV, Digital TV and antenna discussion thread [consolidated]

Like Tree26Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 18-01-2012, 11:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 808
HDTV, Digital TV and antenna discussion thread [consolidated]

This post is to address the question of whether filter is used in the design for the rooftop antennae, common known as Master TV Antenna (MATV).

In this discussion MATV refers to the whole system while antenna (singular) or antennae (plural) refers to the metal element assembly only.

For simplicity, consider a MATV catering just for Chan 5 and Chan 10 (TV2). The antenna for Chan 5 will be pointing towards Bukit Batok, which is where the transmitter is. For TV2, the antenna will be pointing towards JB.

The Chan 5 antenna is receiving, at the same time, Chan 10 signal. But the quality may be poor, containing a lot of ghosts. Similarly, TV2 antenna is receiving good Chan 10 signal but poor Chan 5 signal. Now if the outputs from these 2 antennae are simply fed into the amplifier without processing, the amplified output will contain poor quality signals in both Chan 5 and TV2. It is necessary to filter out weak and poor signals from antennae so that only clean and good signals are fed into the amplifier.

So, in this particular example, only Chan 5 and TV2 signals will be available through the MATV.

In the case of HDB MATV, the design cater only for local TV stations, TV1 and TV2, no signals from other transmissions will be available. If one can receive other stations, that is because of strong ambient signals resulting in good direct pick up. These don't come from the rooftop antennae.
nice article knowledge on antenna.now i got 1 Qs what filter to use to filter the signal or how to do the filtering.i been searching on this info.
KardBoard is offline  
Old 18-01-2012, 11:28 PM   #2
High Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 32,503
Hi, need advice from Pros here... my father just bought Akira 32LED700. he plug in the RF cable, and turn on the TV. the screen quality looks grainy. any idea on how to get HD5? i checked the RF cable, and it says coaxial cable. by changing to a filtered coaxial cable, can i improve the quality? my father says the cable is running from starhub, and not from rooftop antenna.
shadow84 is online now  
Old 19-01-2012, 10:43 AM   #3
Supremacy Member
 
Citiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,815
shadow84, as mentioned in the earlier postings, HD feed is not available from the Starhub antenna point in your house.
Citiguy is offline  
Old 19-01-2012, 07:35 PM   #4
High Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 32,503
shadow84, as mentioned in the earlier postings, HD feed is not available from the Starhub antenna point in your house.
so, even if i get a iDVB-t tuner, oso no use? also, where can i get Belkin HDMI v1.4 cables?
shadow84 is online now  
Old 19-01-2012, 09:29 PM   #5
Master Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,136
so, even if i get a iDVB-t tuner, oso no use? also, where can i get Belkin HDMI v1.4 cables?
Got use, just that u need an external dtv antenna.
kun1he2 is offline  
Old 24-01-2012, 11:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 808
shadow84,try and use antenna.maybe your area able to get HD5,etc.from starhub tv point directly will not give your good quality picture unless you use the mio/starhub box.
KardBoard is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:19 PM   #7
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
HDTV, Digital TV and antenna discussion thread [consolidated]

This thread is for all discussion on matters related to:
Digital TV
High Definition TV
Antenna to receive HDTV in Singapore.

Please post your discussions here.
__________________
POST YOUR QUESTIONS INSTEAD OF SENDING A PM



Use the Search Button and Read the Stickies!




My home theatre gear and my blog:

https://peteswrite.blogspot.com/2020...tup-22020.html
petetherock is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:20 PM   #8
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
Equipment you will need:

- a Set top box from Starhub / MIO

Or

- a set top digital TV tuner eg Humax

Or

- a built in tuner in the latest TVs
petetherock is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:22 PM   #9
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
However ultimately whether you can receive will depend on Location Location Location..

You will also need a Digital Tuner Antenna.
petetherock is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:24 PM   #10
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
Antenna

More on the antenna

www.hardwarezone.com.sg - View Single Post - iDTV (integrated DVB-T tuner)

Ok for the benefits of everyone here that want to receive Digital TV aka DVBt you need to know a few things.

1. DVBt is much much clearer than Analog transmitted tv signals no ghosting what so ever even if signal strenght is only at 22% you still get crystal clear picture unlike analog signals just as long there is signal for the TV to detect and quality dun go below 50% where picture starts to pixilate.

2. DVBt like analog is transmitted over the air and on UHF frequencies, HD5 is 610Mhz while the rest is 538Mhz.

3. Those staying in HDB and connecting through SCV point and want to receive digital 5, 8, CNA & HD5 sorry you need a digital set top box if not you just getting a normal one without digital capability. Dun know more as I dun have SuckHub or Milo TV.

4. For those that plug into the wall socket that connects to HDB rooftop antenna probably gonna be disappointed as I believe the roof top antenna isn't optimise to receive Digital TVs unless HDB decides to spend on upgrading them which I feel is a long long wait unless is new estate.

Ok for those staying at HDB and want to receive DVBt you need a powered UHF antenna that is rated to receive frequencies up to 1000Mhz / 1Ghz the higher the frequencies it is rated the better and you good to go. For those that want analog also and don't want to walk up walk down pressing that bloody A/B switch go buy a VHF/UHF mixer ~$15 at UF technology at SLS, please dun use a splitter, splitter is splitter while mixer is mixer and you get to watch both digital as well as analog Okto, U, Vasathan, Suria etc etc. How to connect very simple self explanatory once you get the mixer quite idiot proof. VHF to VHF, UHF to UHF sockets. Suria, normal 5 n 8 is VHF, Okto, U, TV3 is UHF.

For those advanturious you can build the DB4 HDTV ant seen on youtube - trust me it works I built one myself but please use RG6 75ohm coxial not older RG59 75ohm ones thats the reason I was getting massive signal lost and also throw in a signal booster for better signal strength again self explanatory once you get the thing idiot proof ~ $16 buy at SLT the electronics component shop on the right once you enter the building can't remember the shop name.

REMEMBER that it all depends on location on where you stay if your block is low and has many many other HDB that is much much higher that block you than you may not receive anything at all go KPKB to mediacock to increase signal strength.

Ok this is all I know and what I did to receive my DVBt and analog TVs.
petetherock is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:25 PM   #11
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
Building one:

I have made one out of parts bought from Sim lim as well for 8 bucks.
Here is the proof of concept video that it works for Singapore HD5.

DIY Antenna for Watching Singapore HD5 - YouTube

Instruction to build.
Fractal Antenna for HD + Digital TV - YouTube

P.S. if you want a switch for SCV Point and HD Antenna you need this.
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...ct_id=11600138
petetherock is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:28 PM   #12
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
Previous threads and discussions:

HDTV Tuner Setup and Reception Issues - www.hardwarezone.com.sg

iDTV (integrated DVB-T tuner) - www.hardwarezone.com.sg

Hd5 and mediacorp digital channels - www.hardwarezone.com.sg

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/ho...d-2077700.html

Last edited by petetherock; 19-02-2012 at 10:35 PM..
petetherock is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:29 PM   #13
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
www.hardwarezone.com.sg - View Single Post - iDTV (integrated DVB-T tuner)

Here are the things you need to get dvb-t with HD5:
1. a iDTV with build in DVB-T tuner, ex my samsung series 4 plasma with dvb-t, or sharp D series LCD, or an external Draco box.

2. you need a simple digital antenna. It is only a stick of few inches long. The SCV cable point and HDB rooftop antenna may not work.

3. you need to face the antenna to the direction of Bukit Batok. Try to move it around, out of the window, to get good signal. You should be able to get TVMobil in most direction. HD5 required best/strong signal.

4. If you still can not get it, most like your area is not covered. Please wait till 2012 when Mediacorp fully launch digital broadcast for all channel, all area. Or, you can move your house to where there is digital signal. BTW, I stay in Bukit Panjang, you are always welcome.

5. You need to have a A/B switch to switch between analog (SCV point or rooftop) and digital antenna, as the channel U and Okto have no digital yet. The antenna mixer does not work here.

You will know your money well spend only when you get HD5 on your LCD or Plasma. Even the digital 5,8 & CNA are sharper than analog SCV point.
petetherock is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:30 PM   #14
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
HDB antennae:

www.hardwarezone.com.sg - View Single Post - Hd5 and mediacorp digital channels

There are many different types of hdb antenna. Those old HDB blocks with unfiltered antenna will be very good for HD reception. If you can receive the indonesian channel from your hdb antenna, then you will have very good chance receiving hd5 perfectly.
2nd type will be filtered hdb antenna. Those antenna had some frequency jammer to disrupt those indonesian / malaysian free to air channel. You won't be able to receive hd5.
3rd type will be SCV installed antenna. Again, there are frequency jammers to disrupt signals. HD5 is not possible.
My block is using this 3rd type antenna.

Answering to the above post, there are differences between using booster powered antena vs normal antenna. If I turn off the power, I can't receive the HD5. But if I turn on, I'm able to receive it. And I'm using PCI DTV card btw. Last time I run some application that able to detect the signal quality of the DVB-T, and a good quality booster powered antenna really make the difference.
petetherock is offline  
Old 19-02-2012, 10:32 PM   #15
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,601
www.hardwarezone.com.sg - View Single Post - Off-the-shelf DVB-T Unitdirectional antenna "booster"

The DVB-T antenna that came with my usb DVB-T tuner looked like this


it has a magnetic base but when orientated vertically as shown on image above, it cannot receive digital 8, 5 or CNA.

To receive digital 8/5/ CNA channels, the antenna needs to be located near the window and the tip pointed somewhat at the horizon without any blocks blocking the line of sight. I pointed it to the south. Signal Strength is only 3 out of 5 bars at best. HD5 signal can not even be detected during channel scanning.

So I bought a cheap round metal plate such as the stainless steel drop-lid sold at diaso. Refer to the link below:
http://www.daisojapan.com/p-13244-st...nch-12pks.aspx

then I bought a big pop/cosmo clip, sold at Popular Bookstore, to hold the metal plate in place. A clip like the one seen in the link below also sold at Daiso but smaller and less sturdy and is transparent in colour. http://edisplays.en.ec21.com/offer_d...6.html?gubun=S



By sticking the base of the magnetic dvb-t antenna onto the centre (or slightly off center) of the round metal plate and pointing it to the direction of the horizon without any blockage by nearby walls or HDB blocks. I can receive HD5 and 2 other HD5 test channels (3 out of 5 bars). The normal digital 5/8/CNA signal strengths increased from 3/5 bars to 5/5 bars.
petetherock is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On