HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Singapore Digital TV discussion thread - all related talk, please post here

Like Tree13Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 30-11-2013, 07:46 AM   #166
Senior Member
 
edwinz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 754
Yup!! The test channels very clear.. Later got time I post from my HD media files to compare ...
Test Channel


1080p format in compressed media file


HD5(ok lah, much better than ch8 but feel it lose to test channel


Pictures uploaded with iPhone and maybe rotated

Last edited by edwinz; 30-11-2013 at 08:00 AM..
edwinz is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 07:52 AM   #167
Senior Member
 
edwinz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 754
Folks which antennas r u using again? Cannot use the hdb aerial antenna?
I am using my 2-4 meter cable, looping it around some of sections in my window grill and touching the coaxial connector directly to the grill.


Word of warning! Mileage may vary and my location is in Pheonix/CCK. Perhaps close to signal station?
edwinz is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 07:59 AM   #168
Senior Member
 
edwinz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 754
I have an LG DvB-T2 build in TV. I tried auto tuning at 7am just now.Under DTV auto tuning, it doesnt detect any digital channel. Any idea why?
You got connect coaxial to over the air antenna or the windows grill like me?
edwinz is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 08:04 AM   #169
Senior Member
 
edwinz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 754
Folks which antennas r u using again? Cannot use the hdb aerial antenna?
Are you sure it's Aerial antenna?just doing a sanity check
edwinz is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 08:47 AM   #170
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,632
You got connect coaxial to over the air antenna or the windows grill like me?
i just connect from the wall scv cable to tv lah. Is that correct?
stamina is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 08:59 AM   #171
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 112,176
I have an LG DvB-T2 build in TV. I tried auto tuning at 7am just now.Under DTV auto tuning, it doesnt detect any digital channel. Any idea why?
i just connect from the wall scv cable to tv lah. Is that correct?
The wall SCV cable antenna only has DVB-C signals and no DVB-T2 signals. If your DVB-T2 TV doesn't support DVB-C then it can't receive the channels.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:09 AM   #172
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,632
The wall SCV cable antenna only has DVB-C signals and no DVB-T2 signals. If your DVB-T2 TV doesn't support DVB-C then it can't receive the channels.
Alamak. Then this dvb-t2 channels come from which source? I thought in flats, only got two source, scv wall cable and rooftop antenna cable?
stamina is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:15 AM   #173
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 112,176
Alamak. Then this dvb-t2 channels come from which source? I thought in flats, only got two source, scv wall cable and rooftop antenna cable?
DVB-T2 channels are in the air (ie wireless), so u can receive them from rooftop antenna or indoor antenna. This contrasts with DVB-C channels which are carried on StarHub's cable network.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:22 AM   #174
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,632
So for my case, shouldnt then the tv detect automatically even though the scv cable is connected to the tv?
stamina is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:24 AM   #175
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 112,176
So for my case, shouldnt then the tv detect automatically even though the scv cable is connected to the tv?
So u have not answered the question. Does your TV support the tuning of DVB-C channels?
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:28 AM   #176
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,632
So u have not answered the question. Does your TV support the tuning of DVB-C channels?
i dnt see any mentioning of dvb-c in the online product page of my lg 47la690t.just dvb-t2. Can help me check and confirm?but it should support dvb-c too rite since i can watch scv wall cable channels now.

Last edited by stamina; 30-11-2013 at 09:36 AM..
stamina is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:29 AM   #177
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Silverback84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14,394
if I have a dvb-t hd receiver can it receive hd5 n hd8?
Silverback84 is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:35 AM   #178
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 112,176
i dnt see any mentioning of dvb-c in the online product page of my lg 42la690t.just dvb-t2. Can help me check and confirm?
Only DVB-T2.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:38 AM   #179
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,632
Only DVB-T2.
okay.but how come i can watch the scv wall cable channels which u say are dvb-c? So how is my tv able to detect T2?
stamina is offline  
Old 30-11-2013, 09:40 AM   #180
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 112,176
okay.but how come i can watch the scv wall cable channels which u say are dvb-c? So how is my tv able to detect T2?
The SCV wall cable still has analog channels. Your TV also can tune to analog channels. So it's probable that u are tuning to analog channels.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On