HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Singapore Digital TV discussion thread - all related talk, please post here

Like Tree13Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2013, 06:44 AM   #91
Supremacy Member
 
yxyxx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8,280
Those of u who are tuning to DVB-T signals, wanna ask u something.

Did MediaCorp change the location of the transmitters recently?

I ask this, cos recently I had to relocate my DIY directional antenna to another sweet spot as the previous location suddenly failed to be the sweet spot.
Yes it did. I cannot scan channels and had to switch position
yxyxx8 is offline  
Old 09-07-2013, 11:38 AM   #92
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 111,907
Yes it did. I cannot scan channels and had to switch position
Thanks for confirming.

I was wondering why my HD5 recordings failed, so in the end it was due to no signal.

Luckily I had parallel recording from CH5.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 12-07-2013, 04:52 PM   #93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,389
Those of u who are tuning to DVB-T signals, wanna ask u something.

Did MediaCorp change the location of the transmitters recently?

I ask this, cos recently I had to relocate my DIY directional antenna to another sweet spot as the previous location suddenly failed to be the sweet spot.
It is still at Bukit Batok Hill. UHF Ch 38.
suangern is offline  
Old 13-07-2013, 03:10 PM   #94
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 111,907
It is still at Bukit Batok Hill. UHF Ch 38.
It can be at the same premises but either the power of the transmitter was changed, or the location of the transmitter was changed, albeit slightly within the same premises.

This can make a big difference to the signal travel patterns.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 13-09-2013, 10:21 AM   #95
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
Product Listing of DVB-T2 Receivers

Panasonic 13 tv models - stereo sound only;
Draco Set top box - stereo sound;

LG - 15 tv models - surround sound, no product info;
Samsung - 9 tv models - surround sound;
Sony - 13 tv models - surround sound.

Some Sony models were approved as early as in Apr 2013.

Source: DTV Label Mark
mrsun18 is offline  
Old 13-09-2013, 10:26 AM   #96
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,809
DVB -T2 Signal Coverage Concern

"...4 Given the massive scale of this nation-wide project, we will be progressively rolling out the digital broadcasting infrastructure. In other words, when MediaCorp begins its digital broadcast in December this year, some Singaporeans will be able to enjoy the benefits of Digital TV, while others may have to wait until full island coverage is completed. Further details will be announced by MediaCorp and the Media Development Authority (MDA) later this year..."

Full text: MCI's response to PQ on digital television
mrsun18 is offline  
Old 13-09-2013, 11:49 PM   #97
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Raffles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10,177
any place which sell the dvb-t2 usb dongle?
__________________
[IMG]http://www.wikitree.co.kr/webdata/editor/201402/06/img_20140206102802_03e45bea.gif[/IMG]
Raffles88 is offline  
Old 21-09-2013, 12:34 AM   #98
Master Member
 
fuzzybear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,775
if dont have dvb receiver
we just hoot mio and hubstation will do right haha


too bad mio no NHK i want NHK
fuzzybear is offline  
Old 21-09-2013, 08:05 AM   #99
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 111,907
any place which sell the dvb-t2 usb dongle?
Can order online.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 26-09-2013, 01:45 AM   #100
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 198
Recently bought a DVB-T2 receiver box from ebay, scan and got a list of channels:

001 NDP
002 Beautiful Singapore
003 Taiji
004 CNN (scrambled)
005 BBC World (scrambled)
:
:
009 HBO (scrambled)
010 Fox Movies (scrambled)
:
:
018 Discovery Channel (scrambled)
:
:

Only the first 3 channels above are viewable but they are just looping and replaying the same clip. Where are the usual channel 5,8,news Asia, etc?

I am able to get the usual channels using an older USB PCTV stick on DVB-T.

Does it mean that the DVB-T2 box I bought is working properly? Need to wait till December 2013 to get those usually channels?

Thank you for any insights and pardon if the question is flawed.
Just want to know if that the DVB-T2 (seems to be made for Russia) is something I can use in future...?
prosumer is offline  
Old 26-09-2013, 11:12 AM   #101
Honorary Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 111,907
Recently bought a DVB-T2 receiver box from ebay, scan and got a list of channels:

001 NDP
002 Beautiful Singapore
003 Taiji
004 CNN (scrambled)
005 BBC World (scrambled)
:
:
009 HBO (scrambled)
010 Fox Movies (scrambled)
:
:
018 Discovery Channel (scrambled)
:
:

Only the first 3 channels above are viewable but they are just looping and replaying the same clip. Where are the usual channel 5,8,news Asia, etc?

I am able to get the usual channels using an older USB PCTV stick on DVB-T.

Does it mean that the DVB-T2 box I bought is working properly? Need to wait till December 2013 to get those usually channels?

Thank you for any insights and pardon if the question is flawed.
Just want to know if that the DVB-T2 (seems to be made for Russia) is something I can use in future...?
Does your DVB-T2 box support DVB-T mode too? If not, then u will have to wait until MediaCorp broadcasts the DVB-T2 channels.
__________________
No mercy for the despicable IB scums. We must take the offensive against them.

Mourning Singapore democracy's death due to the 2017 presidential election farce.







If you are signing up to giga mobile plan and need a referral code, you can use my referral code <Ym8UNG>.
Ends 26 Nov 2020. Not applicable to $18 popup plan.
Kiwi8 is offline  
Old 27-09-2013, 01:12 AM   #102
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 198
I don't think so, just DVB-T2...

Fully comply with DVB-T2 and H.264,AVC,MPEG4,Mpeg2 Standard
The maximum speed of the traffic flow of at least 50 Mbit/sec
In the 32K mode a larger part of the standard &MHz channel can be used,adding about 2% extra capacity.
HDMI 1.3 (up to 1080P) Output
Support EPG Display present/Next TV program
DVB-T2 is specified for 1.7,5,6,7,8,and 10Mhz channel bandwidth
PAL&NTSC Auto Switch
Support VBI&OSD teletext,OSD subtitle,LCN
TV SCART jack
Multi-languages support
Auto/Manual scan
1000 channels
parent control
Support Timer recording
Eup
Support USB Software Upgrade/Media playback & Recording optional
Real-time recording function with delay
Anyway, will wait a few more months. Thx!
prosumer is offline  
Old 27-09-2013, 04:00 AM   #103
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 20,395
if dont have dvb receiver
we just hoot mio and hubstation will do right haha


too bad mio no NHK i want NHK
mio and hubstation is pay service. Not everyone need that.
cscs3 is offline  
Old 27-09-2013, 07:13 PM   #104
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,628
I hears the dvb t2 launch is postponed to next year 2014.true?
stamina is offline  
Old 28-09-2013, 05:45 AM   #105
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 20,395
I hears the dvb t2 launch is postponed to next year 2014.true?
Just like our "first" class fibre system and previously the digital TV on the bus. This would not be a surprised to me. Typically these people talk and plan, but do not implement. I hope they better have a good coverage island wide this round and do not end up like to poor Telco coverage on hand phone system.
cscs3 is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On