HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

TV antenna discussion thread

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2007, 11:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 235
TV antenna discussion thread

I just want to watch normal tv shows on my 32" hdtv.

not looking for HD5, i know that one need set top box.

Which type of antenna should i get? What do i need to look out for? (my roof antenna is gonae and my current one is almost dead)

should i get a powered one?

also can i plug into an upscaling dvd player to upscale the image?
izt_is is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 01:49 AM   #2
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
XxDrAg0nxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21,309
Upscaling dvd player sure can no problem.

But I think even with a powered antenna, i doubt you could get a decent signal on analog.
__________________
Black-Tactical.com
XxDrAg0nxX is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 10:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 235
so how does this work do i plug in the antenna through my dvd player?

only certain dvd players can do this?
izt_is is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 10:58 AM   #4
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
alanchia67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,907
Upscaling dvd player sure can no problem.

But I think even with a powered antenna, i doubt you could get a decent signal on analog.
you sure upscaling dvd player can upscale FTA content?
alanchia67 is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 12:40 PM   #5
Moderator
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,604
I think there is some confusion here.
You can upscale both.

BUT:

Free to air reception through a DVD - nope.


DVD content upscale through a proper DVD player - yes but why bother at 32" to spend too much?

If you have a set top box yes you can also send a signal to be upscaled via an amp or a video scaler, but remember, crap in crap out.

At 32" I don't think you are keen on spending so much to achieve marginal gains.

Just make sure you use an outdoor antenna in a good location, that will matter more.

Cheers
__________________
POST YOUR QUESTIONS INSTEAD OF SENDING A PM



Use the Search Button and Read the Stickies!




My home theatre gear and my blog:

https://peteswrite.blogspot.com/2020...tup-22020.html
petetherock is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 01:59 PM   #6
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
XxDrAg0nxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21,309
Woops, Ok i think i read wrongly

I tot he ment "also" use a DVD upscaler on a HDTV to watch upscaled DVD.
__________________
Black-Tactical.com
XxDrAg0nxX is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 12:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
where to buy an indoor / outdoor antenna tv?

i just got a LCD 37" and want a good antenna tv to be put it .. does anyone knows where to buy them? i brought one in mustafa (indoor antenna) and its very bad.

please hgelp and thanks.

i buy a LG 37" LCD TV HD ready at 1099 (get a 200 dolars ntuc voucher) yesterday at comex .. is it too expensive?
bejathz is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 09:11 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
nobody knows huh ? helppp

a good antenna tv
bejathz is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 04:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
interguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 623
Sometimes it depend on where you place your indoor antenna and your surrounding. I also got mine from mustafa.
interguy is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 04:49 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
is there is a big one like you usually put outdoor? i can just put the big one inddor
bejathz is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 535
Are you watching ch5 or ch8 analogue channels? do u mean the reception is bad or image quality is bad?

Last edited by zhchiam; 02-09-2008 at 05:10 PM..
zhchiam is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 01:11 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
ch5 and ch5 ... all in bad shape ... there is ants and the picture usually "moving"
bejathz is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 01:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,340
1. If stay in HDB, can use cable point or HDB rooftop point.
2. If need HD channels, TV must have the tuner to receive HD. Then need antenna that can receive digital signal. Or subscribe to starhub and get HD box.
3. If stay in house without signal source, then install rooftop antenna. Need professional to install.
4. Otherwise, Sim Lim Tower got indoor and outdoor antenna. Huge rooftop type and indoor type available.
samtang is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 02:09 PM   #14
Supremacy Member
 
Phrajile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,659
If I buy those "indoor" external-powered antenna, with booster feature, and if I place this near the window to get a better reception, what are the chances of lightning strikes hitting it? This is one of my main concerns before getting one of those. Or am I being overly paranoid?
__________________
CHIO BU HERE, CHIO BU THERE!
CHIO BU CHIO BU EVERYWHERE!
NNB, WHERE WHERE??
Phrajile is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 09:03 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
so itsa almost implossible to get a good analog display on your lcd tv ?

beacuse its even look more "ant-ier" ... but when you use a small CRT tv everything looks ok
bejathz is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On