HDB dream internet setup

wahjohreno

Master Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm going to do a major renovation to a resale flat I just purchased. As such I'm planning rewire the whole flat.

The flat is a jumbo flat that is around 1900sqft or 176sqm.

I am a tech idiot, but I'd like the best internet setup possible.

There will basically be 3 rooms, 3 toilets, a kitchen, and living/dining areas.

One of the rooms will be my work space, and my fibre point is situated there. In this room, my work computer will be connected by an Ethernet cable for maximum speed. This room will also be where my internet will be split from. This room will be a floated room, meaning it's a room built within a room with double air lock doors and 2 layers of double glazed glass, for soundproofing purposes, so radio signals might find it difficult to get in or out.

In my living room and master bedroom, I also want a computer at each location to be hard wired for maximum speed.

The rest of the house needs to have fast wifi.

How would you guys set it up given the opportunity to do anything and everything possible?

Hoping to learn from esteemed shifu's here!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

eric3743

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
If possible, do provide a layout of your house.
Also to include any other settings, such as tables, current power and cable points, and any other planning you have already fixed.
In other word, the layout and planning of fixed items as in beds, cupboards and any structure obstruction.

How about which ISP(s) you have intend to subscribe to as other may give you their opinion including routers and hubs, if any.

In this way others able to understand better and provide some ideas for you.
Beside, what sort of connections you need, such as wireless required in the rooms or not; and location of data points which should be next to power points x2 &or extension power cord.

For example, my new BTO flat is having thick walls, so wireless is a big issue in my rooms.