M1 FIBRE BROADBAND DISCUSSION - Part 2

badsector

yea the local mirrors with peering with singtel dont have any issues. some international mirrors like http://mirror.dkm.cz/ubuntu-releases/20.04/ubuntu-20.04-desktop-amd64.iso (mirror used by m1 to derive their typical speeds) are limited to a few mb/s on singtel

https://www.singtel.com/personal/support/broadband/typical-download-speeds
"Assured International Download Minimum Speed" is only 25mbps ~3.125Mb/s which explains it. each international connection may be limited to 25mbps (multithread can increase the speed by spawning more connections) so this is a form of throttling

try using internet download manager app

xiaofan

yea the local mirrors with peering with singtel dont have any issues. some international mirrors like http://mirror.dkm.cz/ubuntu-releases/20.04/ubuntu-20.04-desktop-amd64.iso (mirror used by m1 to derive their typical speeds) are limited to a few mb/s on singtel

https://www.singtel.com/personal/support/broadband/typical-download-speeds
"Assured International Download Minimum Speed" is only 25mbps ~3.125Mb/s which explains it. each international connection may be limited to 25mbps (multithread can increase the speed by spawning more connections) so this is a form of throttling

Actually I do not see M1 and Starhub number for International connection speed. Where is it?

M1's number of above 400Mbps can not be for international site, right?

https://www.m1.com.sg/support/typical-speeds
Theoretical Speed Typical Speed Range*
300Mbps 208.9 – 278.1Mbps
500Mbps 458.6 – 473.5Mbps
1Gbps 472.3 – 917.0Mbps
GamePRO 1Gbps 471.9 – 920.4Mbps

If the above speed is measured against both local sites and international sites listed in the M1 site, then we should say M1 number is really good.

xiaofan

crystalnox

yes i use idm but 32 threads still wont max out 1gbps of bandwidth. the fact that each thread is limited in speed is evidence of throttling :)
I don't agree, I see very large variations of per thread download speed using IDM depending on server and file.

dango_daikazoku

after your current contract ends and you sign up for another re-contract, it will be your last re-contract cos the rate will stay the same after that re-contract ends.

As for AC1200, its a very basic router but serve well for 500Mbps... I use it as an AP bridge.

"after your current contract ends and you sign up for another re-contract, it will be your last re-contract cos the rate will stay the same after that re-contract ends."

Huh I don't quite get this sentence. Can help rephrase?

dango_daikazoku

For wired setups, more than enough.
For wireless setups, there are tons of better options, but key question is, do you need the additional speed/bandwidth?

i am using my AC1200+ as a wired router and recently recontracted and got the Asus Zenwifi AC setup as the wireless router + mesh

Currently my laptop on the 5G band only getting 190 down and 180 upload.:(

xiaofan

tat i'm not sure.
i just test ur ISO link.
my avg 58-60Mb/s
Are you on M1? If yes then that M1 number is not really correct.

I actually really doubt M1 can reach 400Mbps+ if including the international sites listed in the M1 link.

Hafi

"after your current contract ends and you sign up for another re-contract, it will be your last re-contract cos the rate will stay the same after that re-contract ends."

Huh I don't quite get this sentence. Can help rephrase?

it means your next re-contract (after current contract ends) will be your last one so if you renew this year 2020, in 2022 you do not have to re-contract and your price will still be the same $29.90 (provided they dun increase price then =:p).

badsector

Are you on M1? If yes then that M1 number is not really correct.

I actually really doubt M1 can reach 400Mbps+ if including the international sites listed in the M1 link.

yes. 500Mbps plan

which site u wish to compare?
what's ur avg speed?

xiaofan

yes. 500Mbps plan

which site u wish to compare?
what's ur avg speed?

I am referring to the above site.

Typical download speed for 500Mbps plan is 458.6 – 473.5Mbps.

Are you able to reach above 400Mbps with the international sites?

TYPICAL BROADBAND SPEEDS MEASUREMENT AND METHODOLOGIES FOR FIXED ACCESS (DATED: 26 MARCH 2020)
Fibre Broadband Typical Download Speed Range

1Gbps 472.3 – 917.0Mbps

* The Typical Speed Range refers to the range of download speeds that users can experience 80% of the time based on the specific test conditions and parameters stipulated below. Testing Time Frame: January to March 2020.

4. Websites and size of file transfer

The download throughput was assessed based on the following mix sites.

Local Webpages
ftp://202.65.247.21/1gig
http://mirror.nus.edu.sg/archlinux/iso/2016.09.03/archlinux-2016.09.03-dual.iso
https://download.nus.edu.sg/mirror/.../10.3/FreeBSD-10.3-RELEASE-amd64-memstick.img
ftp://202.65.242.254/testfile/1

International Webpages
http://ftp.iinet.net.au/pub/archlinux/iso/2017.01.01/archlinux-2017.01.01-dual.iso
http://ftp.tsukuba.wide.ad.jp/Linux/archlinux/iso/2017.01.01/archlinux-2017.01.01-dual.iso
http://mirror.dkm.cz/archlinux/iso/2017.01.01/archlinux-2017.01.01-dual.iso
http://ftp.knoppix.nl/os/Linux/distr/knoppix-dvd/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN.iso
http://anorien.csc.warwick.ac.uk/mirrors/scientific/7/x86_64/iso/SL-7-DVD-x86_64.iso

badsector

I am referring to the above site.

Typical download speed for 500Mbps plan is 458.6 – 473.5Mbps.

Are you able to reach above 400Mbps with the international sites?

TYPICAL BROADBAND SPEEDS MEASUREMENT AND METHODOLOGIES FOR FIXED ACCESS (DATED: 26 MARCH 2020)
Fibre Broadband Typical Download Speed Range

1Gbps 472.3 – 917.0Mbps

* The Typical Speed Range refers to the range of download speeds that users can experience 80% of the time based on the specific test conditions and parameters stipulated below. Testing Time Frame: January to March 2020.

4. Websites and size of file transfer

The download throughput was assessed based on the following mix sites.

Local Webpages
ftp://202.65.247.21/1gig
http://mirror.nus.edu.sg/archlinux/iso/2016.09.03/archlinux-2016.09.03-dual.iso
https://download.nus.edu.sg/mirror/.../10.3/FreeBSD-10.3-RELEASE-amd64-memstick.img
ftp://202.65.242.254/testfile/1

International Webpages
http://ftp.iinet.net.au/pub/archlinux/iso/2017.01.01/archlinux-2017.01.01-dual.iso
http://ftp.tsukuba.wide.ad.jp/Linux/archlinux/iso/2017.01.01/archlinux-2017.01.01-dual.iso
http://mirror.dkm.cz/archlinux/iso/2017.01.01/archlinux-2017.01.01-dual.iso
http://ftp.knoppix.nl/os/Linux/distr/knoppix-dvd/KNOPPIX_V7.6.1DVD-2016-01-16-EN.iso
http://anorien.csc.warwick.ac.uk/mirrors/scientific/7/x86_64/iso/SL-7-DVD-x86_64.iso

so many?:s13:

u pick 1. tell us ur speed.
then i try lah. maybe can take video if u want

btw.. i'm using aria2

edit:
i tried a few int link above. all dead links.
so i test this ISO again

xiaofan

so many?:s13:

u pick 1. tell us ur speed.
then i try lah. maybe can take video if u want

btw.. i'm using aria2

edit:
i tried a few int link above. all dead links.
so i test this ISO again

Haha, I just tried the international links as well, all are dead links, no wonder M1 can claim that kind of speed. :D

But your speed on that Ubuntu ISO is really fast. Nice.

silentears

hi all, i am currently on singtel 100mbs and i wanna switch to 500mbs for m1.

Can help with my questions?

• is the line stable?
  • i think the $5 dollar rental for the router not worth it.
  • noob here, so my old singtel router cant use?
  • if so, any recommendations for router?
  • usage pattern --> 2 PCs, 3 phones usually HDB 4 room

thanks

xiaofan

hi all, i am currently on singtel 100mbs and i wanna switch to 500mbs for m1.

Can help with my questions?

• is the line stable?
  • i think the $5 dollar rental for the router not worth it.
  • noob here, so my old singtel router cant use?
  • if so, any recommendations for router?
  • usage pattern --> 2 PCs, 3 phones usually HDB 4 room

thanks

Which SingTel 100Mbps plan? Is a type that you actually have Singtel 1Gbps plan? Which old SingTel router?

Most of the SingTel routers can not be with other ISPs.

If your Singtel router can cover your home and you are satisfied, most likely you will be happy with any cheap router out there, for example, Asus RT-2600AC dumped by M1 users in Carousell.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.