HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Starhub Modem / Router

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2018, 04:32 PM   #1

Starhub Modem / Router

Hi all, I have been using Starhub Fibre for many years.
It is very standard for Starhub to provide a free modem after re-contracting. Whenever I try to switch to new equipment, the connection is always intermittent.
Then I have to use back to old equipment to get the connection working normally.
Did I miss out any steps? Shouldn't the new equipment be better than the old one?

Can someone help please?
ki113r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 07:02 PM   #2
Supremacy Member

Hi all, I have been using Starhub Fibre for many years.
It is very standard for Starhub to provide a free modem after re-contracting. Whenever I try to switch to new equipment, the connection is always intermittent.
Then I have to use back to old equipment to get the connection working normally.
Did I miss out any steps? Shouldn't the new equipment be better than the old one?

Can someone help please?
1. In the initial stage to connect it is best to power off the ONT before connect the ethernet cable to the new/used Router and then to computer.
ONT -> Router -> Computer

2. Next is to power on the ONT first and best to wait for the PON indicator to show green light stable (about 1 minute) before power on the Router.

3. Then may wait for about 2 minutes to power on the computer, that's after router have completed booting process.
It is best to connect to the computer to update the Router firmware to the latest.
As most routers are on-the-shelf & in production for some time, hence it is to update to the latest firmware to ensure it is up-to-date.
Usually this is advice in the simple Guide that come with the Router in the package.
At the same time do the necessary changes in the router settings as in SSID & password and other optional settings as you wish.

4. Finally connect your wireless devices on the SSID/password as set by user.