Buffetlicious! The All You Can Eat Buffet thread - Part 6

xberri

Buffet is steamboat buffet n 1 of the better ones around. Whereas cafe 2k is intl. Spread not big, but i find their food consistently quite decent. Last few times i tried, their crab legs also good.

I prefer cafe 2k > buffet, but i will not pay full price or even the voucher price (slightly cheaper nia) to go either.

fwah rly? i go beo the reviews online like notch bad reh... hmmm...
any more recommendations?

anyone can recommend a good place for lunch buffet, preferably japanese or international? <$50. Thinking of going back to kushi or zen.... but wonder if there are any others? Thanks!

Senki japanese restaurant @ killiney road.

Toons

fwah rly? i go beo the reviews online like notch bad reh... hmmm...
any more recommendations?

Senki japanese restaurant @ killiney road.

They're not bad, else i will not go back regularly. Just that at full/voucher price, i prefer other places like Sq@Furama. Of cos i am a meat lover n dun care for oysters, so your preference might differ.

Shin yuu will be my recommendation for jap buffet. En i find good too if you like beef dishes. Sashimi @ Ikoi is good, but tats a couple of yrs back. Not sure abt now.

carey

If you like lobsters, can try Elements, Amara Hotel. The lobsters are as good as the ones at Claymore, plus they replenish faster too. I see if i can take pics. Claymore ones i tend to get the claws nia :(

Wah, bo jio! Got simi special theme or promo? Line which theme night you going?

Never disappointed by Marriott's lobsters as well ah :s13:

Toons

Both days are okay for me :D

I :love: XJN
Date: Mon 1 Dec 2014
Time: 630pm
Venue: XJN @ Marina Square
Price: $25 nett with free flow tea n wet towel

Participants:
1. Toons
2. Duriand24
3. Carey
4. Robin
5. Dennyz
6. Lengbebe

euko82

I :love: XJN
Date: Mon 1 Dec 2014
Time: 630pm
Venue: XJN @ Marina Square
Price: $25 nett with free flow tea n wet towel

Participants:
1. Toons
2. Duriand24
3. Carey

Tot u say not nice?

Spidie

Eh xjn this one no need voucher also can eat at 19.90++ de just tell the female boss.

I eat a few times at $19.90 without voucher.

(^@^)"

you going staycation soon? ya... no good promo now for the food i think.

No good deals for staycation. Signed up for RWS Invites. The Gentings card signup is inside the casino. So too bad. Need the card to have cheap parking. $28 each time very xiong. Went to USS twice last week. That's $56 parking fees saved.

robincheok

If u go M hotel buffet, please try their chili crab pasta, Soooo Good........the rest can forget it, oyster not fresh and only top up once......... I give it 5 star just for the pasta

got any good weekday dinner buffet recommendations?
budget... about $60 T_T sigh i poor & only have posb debit carddddd
edit: m hotel's the buffet vs cafe 2000, which is better? looking at online deals T_T

shalome

Scdh... 口水雞! XD~~~~~~

i realize this thread got quite a few people like to eat saliva chicken..

Hi Shalome,

To boost further your craving for lobsters, these were what we had during our Sunday brunch at Checkers Hilton last Sunday.

https://storeandshare.singtel.com/link/view/HcNCxPpEuQtoLATq/#

However, I must agree with Robin that the lobsters at 10@Claymore are better! Even the chef whom we spoke to agreed that the lobsters are not so good. But I will give a thumbs up to their Alaskan Crabs. You should witness for yourself the amount of crabs Robin has "swallowed"! He was first in the queue to get the crabs too! I have not try those good hairy crabs before, am also very eager to have a go, but I think the hairy crab seasons have ended, it is normally Sep-Nov period. As for Tung Lok, it is my usual buffet place many years back and I can still remember they tasted good! Not sure about nowadays. But I do have confidence on them. Anyone tried Tung Lok recently? Once again, thanks for your vouchers! It made this buffet the best value for money for thus far!

Striker22: Thank you for the croissant link, I shall check it out, and I am a bit apprehensive. Anybody knows of a place that serves irresistible croissant, please let me know.

:love: lobsters.. thank you for the pictures. luckily you redeemed for toons.
hcm vietnam lobster been in my mind too.
10@claymore also not so of value for me imo esp when there is no promo.
i like crabby too but i often eat way too slow for those. i think robin 80% feasting on them. yea.. if got a chance try hairy crab! left few days for nov. need wait next year then.. :(
lbb that time want the fish skin with salted egg yolk?
your welcome.
i like buttery croissant.. actually sometime i will buy from cold storage one tray.. quite buttery..

i think i didnt try marriott before too. :(

Tot u say not nice?

he go there suppork lady boss can? =:p

No good deals for staycation. Signed up for RWS Invites. The Gentings card signup is inside the casino. So too bad. Need the card to have cheap parking. $28 each time very xiong. Went to USS twice last week. That's $56 parking fees saved.

oh shiet. they closed the outside counter? they forcing people to renew the card inside casino?! hmm i go check when i go rws.

striker22

The tunglok fried fish skin with salted egg is very nice. Tried the one at Chinese Swimming club. Their lunch pricing of around $29++ weekday is very worth it imo, considering no vouchers and promo needed. Liu Sha Pau also is the oozing type one. TungLok ala carte buffet generally not too bad except Lao Beijing ones.

Durian, unless you can change the water and the ambient temp + humidity here, you cannot replicate the results of the croissant here. The baking schools there have entire modules on seasons, altitude, temperature and humidity. If you apprentice there, you can learn the hard way. The water is different also so the bread and pasta won't taste the same region to region. My friend apprentice in France for 2 years then work there for 3 years and even after he return back to Japan, he say still have to refine his recipes.

richey

Agree. I was looking high and low for a good buffet to bring my overseas vip. Guess i will be at marriot all sunday and all friday at the edge in December

xberri

If u go M hotel buffet, please try their chili crab pasta, Soooo Good........the rest can forget it, oyster not fresh and only top up once......... I give it 5 star just for the pasta

wtf rly. i was considering thr sia. i no like oyster anyway so idc :D
how's the variety?

They're not bad, else i will not go back regularly. Just that at full/voucher price, i prefer other places like Sq@Furama. Of cos i am a meat lover n dun care for oysters, so your preference might differ.

Shin yuu will be my recommendation for jap buffet. En i find good too if you like beef dishes. Sashimi @ Ikoi is good, but tats a couple of yrs back. Not sure abt now.

lmfao i'm a meat lover too. fwah very fan dunno go whr jiaks :(

xberri

lip lai recommend weekday international dinner buffet @ approx $60/pax prease :s12:

Toons

wtf rly. i was considering thr sia. i no like oyster anyway so idc :D
how's the variety?

lmfao i'm a meat lover too. fwah very fan dunno go whr jiaks :(

lip lai recommend weekday international dinner buffet @ approx $60/pax prease :s12:

K, for Cafe 2k, there will be 1 fish dish, whether steamed or deep fried. I like it. Their carving will be beef n ribs + sausages. The beef steak not bad. They will grill it to your likening before serving it to you, so its hot unlike most other buffets which serve the carving cold. Plus you can really get it rare to medium depending on your preference. There will be 2-3 other meat dishes, which i normally find not bad or at least okay. I will recommend going on Fri or Sat nites. They have an additional bbq stn where you can get big prawns, scallops, beef, lamb, salmon etc bbqed. The carving also upgraded to prime ribs. Their durian paste also quite fragrant, only thing is i find too sweet. Most ppl should like it though.

If you're a meat lover, how abt Brazil Churrasco? Other more meaty buffet spreads tat i like are Sq@furama (30ish, so you need to moderate your expectations) n Indulge at Park @ Grand Park Cityhall.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.