Buffetlicious! The All You Can Eat Buffet thread - Part 6

Toons

Bro Toons, hows the taste and quality of the tomahawk , beef Wellington and beef tartar at escape?

I found the tomahawk avg nia. Quality varies. 1st visit the tomahawk was dry. 2nd visit much better. I prefer the wagyu on skewer which they serve, but they only did it once, so dunno if its a regular or special.

Beef wellington looks dry, lean n well cooked. Did not try at all.

The beef tartar is not bad, can be more beefy though :s13: Can just eat it w some little garnishments like oil n lime to taste more of the beef flavour or dress it up with all the stuff they have.

They also have this wagyu rice bowl. Once off nia, n 2 pax 1 bowl. The beef also not bad.

carey

Sun is smoked duck n something else which i dun find interesting, so can't remember :o

@ striker, next wed is peking duck n something else (refer to something else above) :s13:

PS: i remembered liao, 1 of the something else is pork knuckles. I think its for Sun.

Note tat above are subject to changes, bo bao jiak. The staff stressed tat.
The beef wellington, beef tartar n slow roasted tomahawk are available daily.

Wah sian if it's going to be smoked duck

They called me to confirm just now but I forgot to ask them about the menu :(

Toons

Wah sian if it's going to be smoked duck

They called me to confirm just now but I forgot to ask them about the menu :(

Wah, so early they called to confirm? Do on fri/sat better mah.

Err, should be smoked chicken n pork knuckles. My memory is going going gone liao :s13:

3000kmh

Wah, so early they called to confirm? Do on fri/sat better mah.

Err, should be smoked chicken n pork knuckles. My memory is going going gone liao :s13:

What are the must whack one over there? I’m going next Friday

Toons

Pics from Sunday Brunch @ Ash & Elm ...

Scallop dish from their unlimited ala carte menu. The scallops are big, has a nice bite n sweet. The savoury sauce w cabbage n bacon really brings out the sweetness of the scallops.

For me, the best dish in the entire brunch.
tV8ICn5.jpg

0m9E7BW.jpg

For size comparison.
HotnGBX.jpg

Ate 16 in total ... wanna whack more, but was struggling to finish the last few :o
RgjUdvi.jpg

Toons

The unlimited ala carte menu is on top of the intl buffet spread. Sampling portions, but you can order as much as you like. Current theme is British. You can check out the menu over at their website.
TAxXaAo.jpg

Meh Meh, my :love:
rSsH6Gg.jpg

The meat is tender, but the fats part is too chewy. Enjoyed chewing the fats out, but just can't break it down. End up jaws sore, so spit the fats out =:p
Leekksf.jpg

Cod fish n chips. I dun gamble, so never get the chips ... keke, cold joke. The cod fish is good. Thin crispy batter coating the moist n creamy cod fish. If only they have it BIGGER :s13:
slxgF7R.jpg

Swordsman

Pics from Sunday Brunch @ Ash & Elm ...

Scallop dish from their unlimited ala carte menu. The scallops are big, has a nice bite n sweet. The savoury sauce w cabbage n bacon really brings out the sweetness of the scallops.

For me, the best dish in the entire brunch.
tV8ICn5.jpg

0m9E7BW.jpg

For size comparison.
HotnGBX.jpg

Ate 16 in total ... wanna whack more, but was struggling to finish the last few :o
RgjUdvi.jpg

The unliMited ala carte is for Sunday brunch only ?

Sent from Single is not a status. It's a word that describes a person who is strong enough to enjoy life alone. using GAGT

carey

Just came back from Escape on Saturday

Pretty disappointing (place was less than 50% filled)

No suckling pig (available on Monday)

40086203_10204829632496071_6346535038561026048_n.jpg

Only got roast pork

40025995_10204829631896056_1372590613437874176_n.jpg

The lamb leg was cold and bland

The tomahawk was also cold and uninspiring

The saving grace was the oysters

40009878_10204829633456095_900214613981790208_n.jpg

They did serve a wagyu beef bowl - not bad

The beef tartare wasn't very good - I was the only person who tried cos the serving bowl was spotless before I came along hahah

40033231_10204829635056135_5329224776978268160_n.jpg

Some other cooked dishes

40103480_10204829634696126_6640663018990469120_n.jpg

Beef Wellington

40077680_10204829632216064_7985062124227395584_n.jpg

Crab legs (they didn't replenish)

40051802_10204829633136087_1847947715334373376_n.jpg

spectral

Fri is suckling pig n pork ribs. Whole lamb & pork belly on sat.

Sun is smoked duck n something else which i dun find interesting, so can't remember :o

@ striker, next wed is peking duck n something else (refer to something else above) :s13:

PS: i remembered liao, 1 of the something else is pork knuckles. I think its for Sun.

Note tat above are subject to changes, bo bao jiak. The staff stressed tat.
The beef wellington, beef tartar n slow roasted tomahawk are available daily.

10q 10q:s13::s13:
going to eat piggy this fri liao

Toons

10q 10q:s13::s13:
going to eat piggy this fri liao

I think you better call them up and check

I asked the chef and was told that tonight is going to be the last suckling pig

@ spectral, Yea, when i asked, it was for last fri. Better check w them again. Their staff told me that Tue also suckling pig, but better trust the chef :D

@ carey, wah, how come whole lamb became lamb leg?

williamgohsg

Just came back from Escape on Saturday

Pretty disappointing (place was less than 50% filled)

No suckling pig (available on Monday)

40086203_10204829632496071_6346535038561026048_n.jpg

Only got roast pork

40025995_10204829631896056_1372590613437874176_n.jpg

The lamb leg was cold and bland

The tomahawk was also cold and uninspiring

The saving grace was the oysters

40009878_10204829633456095_900214613981790208_n.jpg

They did serve a wagyu beef bowl - not bad

The beef tartare wasn't very good - I was the only person who tried cos the serving bowl was spotless before I came along hahah

40033231_10204829635056135_5329224776978268160_n.jpg

Some other cooked dishes

40103480_10204829634696126_6640663018990469120_n.jpg

Beef Wellington

40077680_10204829632216064_7985062124227395584_n.jpg

Crab legs (they didn't replenish)

40051802_10204829633136087_1847947715334373376_n.jpg

Oh no. Doesn't look good sia!!! :eek:

carey

@ spectral, Yea, when i asked, it was for last fri. Better check w them again. Their staff told me that Tue also suckling pig, but better trust the chef :D

@ carey, wah, how come whole lamb became lamb leg?

Ya lor, really disappointing siah

Anyway, I asked the chef and he went to the kitchen to check the menu - it was for tonight and that's it :(

Think they cut back cos losing money :s13::s13::s13:

So many one-for-one deals - how to make money? :s22:

Toons

Is there foie gras?

I read from danielfooddiary.com like quite good.

No, this new british theme no foie gras, but the scallops were much nicer this time round. Both the halibut n cod fish & chips also nicer than the previous fish dish ... and the lamb also not available in the previous theme. Oh yea, this time round no sushi or sashimi ... in line w the theme according to the chef i asked. However, i still prefer this theme more.

Disclaimer hor, they had a media tasting event ytd when i went. I saw Wong Ah Yoke (i think, i'm bad w faces) n some other ST food columnists. Not sure if the food quality is affected :s13:

johndoe02

hi guys.
sat night, 6 pax
any buffets to recommend? not much budget.. most impt is quality..
spread: international (seafood/grill/sashimi)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.