Food at Johor

Kaki369

DSC00943-1.jpg

DSC00944-1.jpg

DSC00945-1.jpg

WAH HOw much this fish? Ang Gao aka Red grouper aka Hong Shi Ban right?

LuffyMonkey

WAH HOw much this fish? Ang Gao aka Red grouper aka Hong Shi Ban right?
can u recognise dat fish? :s11:

supposed to be 七星石斑 (7 stars grouper)~ :s22:
cost RM$20, about 25-30cm long~

the auntie who took our orders kept promoting it~
saying it's cheap cos their boss bought alot~

n dat if we go to other restaurants n ask for same price, will kena laughed 吹水 (blow water, canton)~ :crazy:

LuffyMonkey

peppery one.... long long rib.... i can only think of Sin Ming BKT.. SLURPZ!!!!
the sin ming bkt is nice~ :lick:

will patron it about once a yr when going to the nearby temple~ :s22:

the ones along balestier road also not bad leh~

发起人肉骨茶
Founder Bak Kut Teh

some other are in kopitiams... dunno name~ :s22:

Kaki369

ok lah... quite reasonably priced for that size... but the color doesnt look good... bet its frozen fish... judging from the bone color... isit nice? to me it doesnt look that fresh.. from the look of the skin and tail.. haha... and it sure is a skinny fish.. judging from the cheeks!

and uhh.. yeap its a grouper alright.. but simi 7 star or what i donch know... all i know its grouper aka shi ban leh luffy kor! :p

Kaki369

the sin ming bkt is nice~ :lick:

will patron it about once a yr when going to the nearby temple~ :s22:

the ones along balestier road also not bad leh~

发起人肉骨茶
Founder Bak Kut Teh

some other are in kopitiams... dunno name~ :s22:

yeah baby..

kiam chai ark, pig trotters, bi chiang kueh also all v nice wor!!

the one at Balestier is Alright nia to me.. super duper expensive... not worth to eat it 2nd time :) Once is enough :)

LuffyMonkey

ok lah... quite reasonably priced for that size... but the color doesnt look good... bet its frozen fish... judging from the bone color... isit nice? to me it doesnt look that fresh.. from the look of the skin and tail.. haha... and it sure is a skinny fish.. judging from the cheeks!

and uhh.. yeap its a grouper alright.. but simi 7 star or what i donch know... all i know its grouper aka shi ban leh luffy kor! :p
we were suspecting dat it's a frozen fish~

but there wasnt any "frozen" taste~

cos some of the meat were stuck to the bone~
(dunno if u know wat i meant) :s22:

anyway, we were all not fish experts~
juz find dat it's not expensive~ :crazy:

LuffyMonkey

yeah baby..

kiam chai ark, pig trotters, bi chiang kueh also all v nice wor!!

the one at Balestier is Alright nia to me.. super duper expensive... not worth to eat it 2nd time :) Once is enough :)
can't really remember the price~ :s22:
but is definitely not cheap~

juz remember dat i like the soup very much~ :crazy:

mosmos

can u recognise dat fish? :s11:

supposed to be 七星石斑 (7 stars grouper)~ :s22:
cost RM$20, about 25-30cm long~

the auntie who took our orders kept promoting it~
saying it's cheap cos their boss bought alot~

n dat if we go to other restaurants n ask for same price, will kena laughed 吹水 (blow water, canton)~ :crazy:

i ask mama, she said is not 7 star fish. :s22:

7 star fish should be red with poker dots. :s22:

Kaki369

Hmmm... fish if well steamed and under the right hands with the right ingredients.. VERY hard to taste the frozen taste de :)

my assumption would be it is frozen, deep frozen to be exact :)

Anyway judging from the bone color.. and ur suspicion of frozen fish.. i think it is lah :) Besides the color of it tells alot liao... On a sidenote, monsoon coming, im not suprised they sell so cheap.. perhaps some wholesaler selling his bulk that has been deep frozen for months.. and released closed to the monsoon period where fish supply is low.. so if the wholesaler let go now... not suprising ppl wack.. and if wack alot quantity.. of course cheaper cost which is passed to the consunmer lor :)

Kaki369

Yeah... thats why in my post i was asking isit a Red Grouper mah...

Anyway its a Coral Trout alright :) Hokkien we call it Ang Gao!

have caught a few before from Sentosa... DELICIOUS!

After catching... straightaway go home, clean and steam! Fillet some of the buggers, keep the bones and slice the flesh thin thin and cook fish porridge!

SEDAP!

Kaki369

i ask mama, she said is not 7 star fish. :s22:

7 star fish should be red with poker dots. :s22:

WAH.. ur Mama very pro.. haha.. from the cooked fish can tell isit 7 star grouper anot.. i myself cant tell..

Ermm anyway that fish has polka dots when its alive or when fresh... and fyi 7 star grouper = ang gao = red grouper.. they just give it funny names for marketing gimmick..

:) :)

LuffyMonkey

Hmmm... fish if well steamed and under the right hands with the right ingredients.. VERY hard to taste the frozen taste de :)

my assumption would be it is frozen, deep frozen to be exact :)

Anyway judging from the bone color.. and ur suspicion of frozen fish.. i think it is lah :) Besides the color of it tells alot liao... On a sidenote, monsoon coming, im not suprised they sell so cheap.. perhaps some wholesaler selling his bulk that has been deep frozen for months.. and released closed to the monsoon period where fish supply is low.. so if the wholesaler let go now... not suprising ppl wack.. and if wack alot quantity.. of course cheaper cost which is passed to the consunmer lor :)
Yeah... thats why in my post i was asking isit a Red Grouper mah...

Anyway its a Coral Trout alright Hokkien we call it Ang Gao!

have caught a few before from Sentosa... DELICIOUS!

After catching... straightaway go home, clean and steam! Fillet some of the buggers, keep the bones and slice the flesh thin thin and cook fish porridge!

SEDAP!

fwah! the expert has spoken! :love:

u even know the workings of the fish sellers~ :D

so... the fish, when alive is red in color, but when dead is more white?

Kaki369

Erm.. my Sifu is a Fish Monger... and i used to work with him too :)

I think Mosmos mama more pro ba... even my sifu one look at the steamed fish need to think awhile.. Is it Red Grouper aka Ang Gao or 7 Star Grouper etc..

But one thing for sure.. its not fresh fresh and frozen :)

Ang Gao is Red in color when alive .. yes... when dead.. will turn pale red... this one is pinky... it could be the pink version of Coral Trout.. BUT.. judging from the cheeks/tone of the skin.... i would say its not fresh fresh :)

Perhaps mosmos mama would like to add in a thing or 2.. my experience is better when it comes to eating and selling fish.. identifying with pictures... nahz.. :)

Kaki369

anyway... i forgot to touch on 1 thing..

meat stuck to bone = Flesh that is Uncooked..

So conclusion? Fish not cooked properly.. LOL

LuffyMonkey

Erm.. my Sifu is a Fish Monger... and i used to work with him too :)

I think Mosmos mama more pro ba... even my sifu one look at the steamed fish need to think awhile.. Is it Red Grouper aka Ang Gao or 7 Star Grouper etc..

But one thing for sure.. its not fresh fresh and frozen :)

Ang Gao is Red in color when alive .. yes... when dead.. will turn pale red... this one is pinky... it could be the pink version of Coral Trout.. BUT.. judging from the cheeks/tone of the skin.... i would say its not fresh fresh :)

Perhaps mosmos mama would like to add in a thing or 2.. my experience is better when it comes to eating and selling fish.. identifying with pictures... nahz.. :)
not very fresh ah? :(

it tasted quite ok to all of us~ :crazy:

maybe is like u said, "well steamed and under the right hands with the right ingredients"~

durkheimian

maybe be a lot of people neglect this stall..
it's opp the mobil near the custom..
typical jaybee wanton mee.. not impressive and not expensive

28iqcyp.jpg

mosmos

maybe be a lot of people neglect this stall..
it's opp the mobil near the custom..
typical jaybee wanton mee.. not impressive and not expensive

i saw their dry yong tau foo quite nice leh, noodles is put black soy sauce.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.