Wine

ikileo

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score

xkeijix

Reaction score
What the diff between Bordeau Vs Burgundy Red Wine?

I new to this so can any of the expert enlighten me??

nethdale

Reaction score
exactly! Chapoutier is a very good producer that makes excellent wines across the board. This wine is inexpensive, readily available at FP and tastes better than the vast majority of sub $25 supermarket type of wines.

Hi ikileo,

To narrow my search, does it also readily available at finese? Thanks in advance.

[C]hEWy

Reaction score

Disclaimer first, I'm not an expert.

Burgundy are generally mainly lighter reds, like ur Pinot noir.. don't get me wrong, I love Burgundy wines.. like the M. Chapoutier and my fav is Grevy chambertin.. Smooth, complex and well-balanced..

Bordeaux, u have a huge range from light to the heavy weights.. Great if ur wine paring across a degustation menu.. I love St Julien and St Emilion..

Just my 2 cents..

ikileo

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score

They are made in 2 very distinct regions with each having their own different soil, climate and legally permitted grapes; each with their own grape characters.

To keep it simple the permitted red grapes for the 2 regions are:

Burgundy: Pinot Noir
Bordeaux: Primarily Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot based wines blended with other permitted grapes.

Pinot noir in comparison is more lightweight in body than a bordeaux blend but pinot is still the darling of wine enthusiasts because of its complexity, elegance and ageworthiness.

Bdx blends start off richer and fuller bodied with riper fruits and ages well too. It is generally more structured and tannic than a pinot noir.

The world of Burgundy can be confusing for the Newbie and you need to navigate not only the producers but also the vineyard plots, which can be owned by multiple producers. Plus it can start quite expensive already due to the premium nature.