Johor Bahru - share is caring

Yuripa

Can anyone recommend me a reliable and trustworthy shop that sells reasonably priced Samsung mobile phones in JB?

I'm assuming that I can always go into JB Samsung service centre if I've a Malaysia warranty for it.

Sent from Tokyo-3 (NERV) using GAGT

x3dnd3x

The kway chap at cedar point used to be my fav. The old aunty stopped selling n her son took over. Still ok but quite ex already. 2 person makan easily rm30.

But the one at tampoi still quite good n reasonable. Their chilli sauce is also quite solid. It's in the kopi tiam beside the hardware shop.

I go Cedar Point only jiak claypot rice and the satay. Sometimes if wanna action during staycation, oyster omelette add oysters. :o

really_noob

Can anyone recommend me a reliable and trustworthy shop that sells reasonably priced Samsung mobile phones in JB?

I'm assuming that I can always go into JB Samsung service centre if I've a Malaysia warranty for it.

I always thought it will be cheaper in SG because Malaysia imported stuff have additional tax, now also have GST like us. Their weak currency isn't helping either. I see the Malaysians like to come here to buy Apple and IT products. Do your homework first and check SG prices.

Yuripa

I always thought it will be cheaper in SG because Malaysia imported stuff have additional tax, now also have GST like us. Their weak currency isn't helping either. I see the Malaysians like to come here to buy Apple and IT products. Do your homework first and check SG prices.
Yup, appreciate your word of caution.

Just to give you 1 of the few price examples that I've researched -

Local Samsung A50 (4/64gb) - sgd355

Malaysia A50 but sold in Singapore hp shop (6/128gb) - sgd345

really_noob

If I were you, I'll compare the official Samsung shops like for like. More fair, because nowadays have export set etc.
I'm very kiasu kiasi one. Even SG ah beng shop I'm also skeptical.

x3dnd3x

I think even if cheaper, also cheaper by abit nia lar which isn't worth the hassle.

My Msian friends all come in SG buy leh. Seldom hear them say they buy in JB unless sign contract.

Yuripa

If I were you, I'll compare the official Samsung shops like for like. More fair, because nowadays have export set etc.
I'm very kiasu kiasi one. Even SG ah beng shop I'm also skeptical.
I think even if cheaper, also cheaper by abit nia lar which isn't worth the hassle.

My Msian friends all come in SG buy leh. Seldom hear them say they buy in JB unless sign contract.
I think in purchase scenarios such as tech gadgets, it won't be that straight forward and it's like what you guys have previously mentioned - Practice due diligence before committing into a purchase.

Local Samsung (4/64) SRP - sgd398
Mys Samsung (6/128) SRP - rm1,199

3rd party sg vendor selling mys export set (6/128) - sgd344
3rd party sg vendor selling local set (4/64) - sgd348

I'm trying to find a reliable and trustworthy shop in JB itself so that I can make a purchase directly from JB instead.

x3dnd3x

I think in purchase scenarios such as tech gadgets, it won't be that straight forward and it's like what you guys have previously mentioned - Practice due diligence before committing into a purchase.

Local Samsung (4/64) SRP - sgd398
Mys Samsung (6/128) SRP - rm1,199

3rd party sg vendor selling mys export set (6/128) - sgd344
3rd party sg vendor selling local set (4/64) - sgd348

I'm trying to find a reliable and trustworthy shop in JB itself so that I can make a purchase directly from JB instead.

This one i really have no idea. I only buy handphone accessories in JB, not handphone itself. :s13:

bbmars1128

Beware of buying tech gadgets especially hp from JB.... really need trusted shop. Otherwise, you think you got a better price but instead, inside the hp are filled with faked parts or replacement parts. Original parts ar4e being taken out. That's why many Malaysian like to come to SG to buy.

Even though I have not been buying anything for some years.... as I recalled asking my colleagues to buy source for me a Nokia original battery from Nokia shop at City Square. My colleague's wife discovered they trying to sell 2nd hand battery to him... further probing, staff indirectly admitted but later quote an original 1 which cost higher than SG.

Just beware, situation might have change, but his nephew, a Malaysian also warn him about such cases.

laeticia

What's the traffic like coming back on a Fri evening using public transport vs another weekday? I usually go on Wednesdays but planning a staycation

myviowner

Beware of buying tech gadgets especially hp from JB.... really need trusted shop. Otherwise, you think you got a better price but instead, inside the hp are filled with faked parts or replacement parts. Original parts ar4e being taken out. That's why many Malaysian like to come to SG to buy.

Even though I have not been buying anything for some years.... as I recalled asking my colleagues to buy source for me a Nokia original battery from Nokia shop at City Square. My colleague's wife discovered they trying to sell 2nd hand battery to him... further probing, staff indirectly admitted but later quote an original 1 which cost higher than SG.

Just beware, situation might have change, but his nephew, a Malaysian also warn him about such cases.

Agreed... Just be like most Singaporean.... check and compare from all sources available and then make a decision.

myviowner

Go for higher end ones.... Those less than RM10/pcs cannot last long... Tried couple of this at such low price, cracks within days. Maybe is my handling... lolz
Since switched to one that cost me RM 50+ (can't rem exact price) at Aeon in Permas Jaya.
Clean the screen surface, tape up all the edges and possible holes. Pour a adhesive liquid before put on the actual screen protector. Let it dry under a ultra-violet light....
Six mths liao still doing great. No cracks on the edges.

koolaid

was in penang last yr march, when i saw this shop selling rm10 protectors. when ahead to change it on the spot. now still looks fine. no scratches or chips.

i think the privacy ones prob cost a bit more but i dont really like it.

really_noob

Go for higher end ones.... Those less than RM10/pcs cannot last long... Tried couple of this at such low price, cracks within days. Maybe is my handling... lolz
Since switched to one that cost me RM 50+ (can't rem exact price) at Aeon in Permas Jaya.
Clean the screen surface, tape up all the edges and possible holes. Pour a adhesive liquid before put on the actual screen protector. Let it dry under a ultra-violet light....
Six mths liao still doing great. No cracks on the edges.

I got mine done at KSL for iPhone 8. RM5 tampered glass, basic no fancy blue light filter. After 8 months, still going strong. Good value.
If you want fancy filters, the price goes up. RM20 is also possible.

I also changed battery for an old iPhone (use as spare phone), RM45.

myviowner

I got mine done at KSL for iPhone 8. RM5 tampered glass, basic no fancy blue light filter. After 8 months, still going strong. Good value.
If you want fancy filters, the price goes up. RM20 is also possible.

I also changed battery for an old iPhone (use as spare phone), RM45.

Most likely my handling liao... Haha... Only happens on my S9+, curved edges. Not on Note 4....

Elon Jobs

XIrB49M.jpg

a0OGEbd.jpg

Midvalley SouthKey The Mall
Jalan Tok Siak, Kampung Tok Siak, 81100 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
+60 16-373 7555
https://goo.gl/maps/M3yaD3ZGkJZihVyC9

Free parking, free WiFi.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.