Question about Malacca

Habrosus

I am also thinking of this hotel. Are there roads to cross? Is the distance similar to Holiday Inn to jonker?
I've not walked from Holiday Inn coz that one time I stayed there, it's still a kampung area :grin: but I remember a time when someone here mentioned there's already traffic lights somewhere up or down the road? Think I've to get on Google map to look as I've never ventured into that area since... (Edit: Couldn't find traffic lights on Google Map :o )

The way from Courtyard by Marriott will take you along shophouses. I'd quite a nice time walking preC19 as I could look through many of the old shops there. Only shopping mall was a 3-storey emporium like place with a lift which was my aircon refuge. :s34:

courtyard v clean. Less than a yr old. Need to cross few times head to little India... Safe dah.

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.
I used to follow a friend who visited that church in front for short errands during weekday afternoons. How did you cross that road in front? We found it quite a challenge as the traffic was quite heavy there. There wasn't a proper walkway on that side of the road too, maybe that's why we didn't walk back to the area nearer the hotel where we wouldn't have to face the turning vehicles as well, but instead used the church's driveway entrance as a waiting point even for Grab :crazy:

kelvin_99

I will be in Malacca for about 2 weeks to take care of a family member. In between, there will be days where I will be free on my own. I have a car at my disposal during these times. Any suggestion on interesting activity or places to go? I suppose for the places for good food, I can search that up for myself. I will probably go to the historical sites and Jonker Street, but not so keen on tourists sights like zoo, temples, etc. I am considering driving out of Malacca town to nearby places. A suggestion is to take a day trip to Port Dickson. Any other suggestions? Thank in advance.

Eviltrap

I will be in Malacca for about 2 weeks to take care of a family member. In between, there will be days where I will be free on my own. I have a car at my disposal during these times. Any suggestion on interesting activity or places to go? I suppose for the places for good food, I can search that up for myself. I will probably go to the historical sites and Jonker Street, but not so keen on tourists sights like zoo, temples, etc. I am considering driving out of Malacca town to nearby places. A suggestion is to take a day trip to Port Dickson. Any other suggestions? Thank in advance.
Port Dickson nothing much, but popular for the resorts. So I will recommend staying 2D1N at Port Dickson, maybe Grand Lexis or Lexis Hibiscus. They have a small pool in the rooms, so you can soak in peace with no one disturbing you.

Meals can eat at the resort or PD city centre. I was in PD city centre on a Sunday afternoon, and it was close to being a dead town. :o But got a drive through Macs and Starbucks right beside it, so should be fine.

kelvin_99

Port Dickson nothing much, but popular for the resorts. So I will recommend staying 2D1N at Port Dickson, maybe Grand Lexis or Lexis Hibiscus. They have a small pool in the rooms, so you can soak in peace with no one disturbing you.

Meals can eat at the resort or PD city centre. I was in PD city centre on a Sunday afternoon, and it was close to being a dead town. :o But got a drive through Macs and Starbucks right beside it, so should be fine.
Thanks for the suggestion!

SongManKranji

I've not walked from Holiday Inn coz that one time I stayed there, it's still a kampung area
biggrin.gif

but I remember a time when someone here mentioned there's already traffic lights somewhere up or down the road? Think I've to get on Google map to look as I've never ventured into that area since... (Edit: Couldn't find traffic lights on Google Map
redface.gif

)
The way from Courtyard by Marriott will take you along shophouses. I'd quite a nice time walking preC19 as I could look through many of the old shops there. Only shopping mall was a 3-storey emporium like place with a lift which was my aircon refuge.
blushed.gif

I used to follow a friend who visited that church in front for short errands during weekday afternoons. How did you cross that road in front? We found it quite a challenge as the traffic was quite heavy there. There wasn't a proper walkway on that side of the road too, maybe that's why we didn't walk back to the area nearer the hotel where we wouldn't have to face the turning vehicles as well, but instead used the church's driveway entrance as a waiting point even for Grab
crazy.gif
cross over to that building beside specialist clinic. Fr there jitao walk straight. Yes traffic there can be quite fast. Need be fast. I done it few times can.

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.

Habrosus

https://www.airbnb.com.sg/rooms/471...share_id=91220b5d-f02d-4106-90bb-87500eb9de4f

I'm going during CNY staying there for 3 nights.
Lai any good lobang can share with me!

This time no going to any attraction. Just mainly rest and relax, eat, massage and sleep. :p
My first stop is always Sun May Hiong Satay House :grin:

If you like asam pedas, my haunt is Hajjah Mona Asam Pedas that's somewhere across from Casa del Rio Residences.

For simple coffee shop fare, I go to Jonker Street Hawker Centre (actually a kopitiam). My must-have, Singapore fried prawn noodles. :s13:

Pak Putra is another popular makan place, but my stomach's always too full by the time I make my way anywhere there. Then I'd cross the road and grab a Hagen Das ice cream from a shop before walking back. :grin:

But if you go on from there, the asam pedas claypot joints that tour guides like to recommend, are there.

(Above are all within walking distance from Jonker and Casa del Rio. One straight road except for satay that's on the parallel road nearer the river.)

Andrew833

If you like asam pedas, my haunt is Hajjah Mona Asam Pedas that's somewhere across from Casa del Rio Residences.

For simple coffee shop fare, I go to Jonker Street Hawker Centre (actually a kopitiam). My must-have, Singapore fried prawn noodles. :s13:

Pak Putra is another popular makan place, but my stomach's always too full by the time I make my way anywhere there. Then I'd cross the road and grab a Hagen Das ice cream from a shop before walking back. :grin:

But if you go on from there, the asam pedas claypot joints that tour guides like to recommend, are there.

(Above are all within walking distance from Jonker and Casa del Rio. One straight road except for satay that's on the parallel road nearer the river.)
Thanks bro.
You stay in Double tree hotel before, any nice food or shops in that area?
I didn't go that area before.

Andrew833

Jonker street is good for morning breakfast. Evening nothing much and too crowded.

Habrosus

Thanks bro.
You stay in Double tree hotel before, any nice food or shops in that area?
I didn't go that area before.
Initial years in Casa del Rio, and later ones in DoubleTree. DT area back then preC19 nothing much, anyway too full after buffet breakfast so makan wherever else we head for shopping. Closest would be Portuguese Village for early dinner, though there's only 1 joint that's away from the row of restaurants as I'm allergic to the "welcome party". :crazy:

Jonker street is good for morning breakfast. Evening nothing much and too crowded.
Oh, I normally sit in the lot that's somewhere behind the right of the stage. Can dabao/order food from anywhere, and just need to order their drinks to sit inside.

Fri to Sun is madness sibei. Crowded
I'm normally at pasar malam from 5ish to 7.30pm, before I run off. :s13:

CNY thot will be ghost town dah
Not necessarily. Some of the local Chinese will still open for business, and the non-Chinese too. And not forgetting the Eurasians there.

Not fussy can find food :grin:

Andrew833

Initial years in Casa del Rio, and later ones in DoubleTree. DT area back then preC19 nothing much, anyway too full after buffet breakfast so makan wherever else we head for shopping. Closest would be Portuguese Village for early dinner, though there's only 1 joint that's away from the row of restaurants as I'm allergic to the "welcome party". :crazy:

Oh, I normally sit in the lot that's somewhere behind the right of the stage. Can dabao/order food from anywhere, and just need to order their drinks to sit inside.

I'm normally at pasar malam from 5ish to 7.30pm, before I run off. :s13:

Not necessarily. Some of the local Chinese will still open for business, and the non-Chinese too. And not forgetting the Eurasians there.

Not fussy can find food :grin:
Portuguese Village look interesting, will go check it out.
I just walk walk, see any place nice, food nice, walk in to try.

When is the pasar malam open and at where?

Habrosus

Portuguese Village look interesting, will go check it out.
I just walk walk, see any place nice, food nice, walk in to try.

When is the pasar malam open and at where?
Portuguese Village's row of restaurants is basically a tourist attraction, place built by their authorities upgraded from the old days. That one time I'd lunch there, was told no pork allowed to be sold there, so dishes like babi pongteh became ayam pongteh.

Subsequently I discovered and went to a joint that's near their museum instead, more homely. The only time we'd pork dishes was when they're celebrating a religious festival and there're makeshift stalls set up by some residents.

Grabbed to/from DT.

Pasar malam at Jonker Street, Fridays to Sundays. About 5pm the setting up will start and road closed.

I walked to outside Casa del Rio to Grab back to DT.

Eviltrap

Eviltrap

My wife and I tried Sun May Hiong Satay, but not to our liking>

We like Pak Putra (naan), but only been there once or twice. :o

Eviltrap

Wife yesterday suddenly asked whether wanna go Melaka this weekend.

But I checked Hatten. All full. And other hotels quite pricey.

Maybe won't be going this time round. :(

SongManKranji

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.