HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

TPG Technical Discussion Thread

Like Tree9Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 18-01-2019, 08:16 PM   #151
Member
 
galaxyuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 295
The 4G speeds are very slow omg.

SPEEDTEST TPG >>> MYREPUBLIC

PING 30ms
DOWNLOAD SPEED 5.31Mbps
UPLOAD SPEED 3.05Mbps

Can't stream Spotify smoothly. The speeds hover between 37kB/s to 100kB/s even though I haven't reached 2GB daily cap.
galaxyuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 10:20 AM   #152
High Honorary Member
 
mosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 158,004
Samsung A7 - LTE Ok, VoLTE not working (M1 network - LTE Ok, VoLTE OK)
ZTE Axon - LTE Ok
Samsung Tab A 8.0 (2017) - LTE Ok
Mi4i - no service
Update to my earlier list, I just collected version 2 of the SIM card, it works on Mi4i on SIM slot 2


Last edited by mosmos; 20-01-2019 at 10:23 AM..
mosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 04:23 PM   #153
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 928
Update to my earlier list, I just collected version 2 of the SIM card, it works on Mi4i on SIM slot 2

Samsung A7 volte still can't?
vddgnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 04:34 PM   #154
High Honorary Member
 
mosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 158,004
Samsung A7 volte still can't?
still cannot, not sure why, even i set M1 to 3G the volte option still on M1

mosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 05:13 PM   #155
Master Member
 
ngbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,252
Quote.....

These steps are for Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 mtk export set...might work for other Xiaomi phones too.

Go to yr phone dial pad & enter *#*#4636#*#*

Choose Phone info1 or Phone info2.
If you put yr TPG sim card on Sim 2 then choose Phone info2.

Enable 'Turn on SMS over IMS'
Enable 'Toggle DNS Check - 0.0.0.0 allowed'

Next step. Install MTK Engineering mode app from playstore.

Run it & choose MTK settings.

Under Telephony tab, go to BandMode.

Then select Sim 1 or Sim 2 (where you put yr TPG sim card. Mine is in Sim 2.

Then choose 'SET' and go back to Telephony tab.

Go to IMS. Scroll down to 'VOLTE SETTING', select 'CMW500 setting' and
'SET' it.

That's it!
__________________
False accusations, Flamers & Trollers will be ignored.
ngbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 08:11 PM   #156
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 18,679
Looking at their progress, it looks like they really cannot make it. Coverage really bad.
cscs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2019, 02:02 PM   #157
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 827
Looking at their progress, it looks like they really cannot make it. Coverage really bad.
Good ma so their "trial" will last longer
squarepipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2019, 03:45 PM   #158
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 18,679
Good ma so their "trial" will last longer
Hope so. But do not think MIDA will let them go on this way.
cscs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2019, 03:11 AM   #159
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 148
Did some single stream download test from US sites and wow, TPG doesn't cap the speed at all, can achieve max link speed on a single stream. It is even faster than M1 fibre (M1 caps around 11mbps)

My stats:

  • TPG Mobile ... 3512.1 KB/Sec , 28.77 Mbps
  • M1 Fibre ..... 1425.6 KB/Sec , 11.68 Mbps
jianlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2019, 08:13 AM   #160
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2,113
I think TPG still tinkering with their setup. I got 500kbps around my house area currently when previously I will get 20+Mbps
dryteletubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2019, 12:58 PM   #161
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 489
Anyone know how to connect wireless@sgx with TPG sim.
comex_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2019, 01:02 PM   #162
Greater Supremacy Member
 
Sinkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 77,121
Any 4g LTE router to recommend? Budget $100?
Sinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2019, 01:36 PM   #163
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 148
TPG still need to fix their region setting.

VIU app cannot work, show service not available to your country error.

jianlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2019, 03:28 PM   #164
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2,113
TPG still need to fix their region setting.

VIU app cannot work, show service not available to your country error.


I just connect back to the VPN server at home when this happens.

I doubt it will be fixed anytime soon. It seems TPG using the same block of IP they bought for their Australian users.
dryteletubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2019, 06:03 PM   #165
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 18,679
Any 4g LTE router to recommend? Budget $100?
https://shopee.sg/sing4gsg/1096553774?version=930718bfbb2e358b0bb514d483a30187
cscs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On