*Official* Shiny Things club - Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

BBCWatcher

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Leaving your CPF mostly in cash is a pretty good option. CPF cash pays interest rates that are well above market; it's literally free money.
Once you have maxed out your Special Account transfers and top ups, and you then have Ordinary Account dollars piling up with a long enough time horizon, you could consider investing those OA dollars in something like a stock index fund (the lowest cost one you can find).

flowerpalms

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
jr02jDU.jpg

I don't know who "we" is, but it doesn't include basic math.

cytosine12

Reaction score
If I can invest $1000 a month for a year. What is the most hassle free long term investment I can make?

I was thinking of 80% POSB Invest Saver STI ETF and 20% REITs. Keen to hear any comments.

Last edited:

Okenba

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Newbie Question...

Hullo. I'm new to this investing thing and thought to get some advice from the more experienced folks.

Am intending the invest both in SRS and in Cash.
Would there be a difference in the broker I choose? Which would you advise and why?

In terms of what to invest in, I am thinking more of overseas ETFs. Likely a Global Irish domiciled ETF. Since this is sold in the London Stock Exchange, how would this impact my choice of broker? Which broker would be cheapest for UK listed ETFs? Do they deal with both Cash and SRS?

Many thanks in advance.

Okenba

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
If I can invest $1000 a month for a year. What is the most hassle free long term investment I can make?

I was thinking of 80% POSB Invest Saver STI ETF and 20% REITs. Keen to hear any comments.

Why not leave it with a Robo?
Most Robos will also do monthly DCA for you and the risk is usually more US or global as opposed to STI and reits which would be more SG focused.