Guide to SPF Enlistment

Starbarks!

But it seem like TransCom is giving out SGT rank like nobody business unlike NPCO.

I think they are the same. Most of them from SC2 to Cpl to Sgt1 then Sgt2 (for those selected as leaders)..

U have this impression think bcos TransCom has a big team of above 500 officers compared to a very limited num of NPCOs lah haha..

ChunkyBoy

I have applied for sponsorship 2 weeks ago,
Today I received an email asking me for more documents.

Just wondering if I have chance to be selected?

ClearlyCryptic

I have applied for sponsorship 2 weeks ago,
Today I received an email asking me for more documents.

Just wondering if I have chance to be selected?

Just supply those documents they ask for. Do not worry too much. They would need to have a lot of paperwork done. Give it time and if it's meant to be, it will be. All the best to you.

darkgoju

Anyone experience receiving reservist letter during Exit permit period? :O

matey1982

your EP was / is from when to when

rightfully shouldn't receive since the unit will prolly put u on some holding list or something

Parmesean

Anyone experience receiving reservist letter during Exit permit period? :O

It's probably a mistake, like they didn't take your name off the list or sth... Just call up the ns Hotline, or if you have your unit's pnsd number, or just email the respective people.

Ghostaque

help a pre-enlistee

Thank you for this guide. This will certainly help me in preparing for my NS service in the SPF.

I am going to enlist in the 174th fit intake ( Jan) . I am an oversea pre enlistee and was very certain I was going to get into the SAF. Getting the SPF letter was a big surprise to me and there are not a lot of experiences/ guides out there and as such this guide would be greatly appreciated.

However I do have a few other questions I need clarifications on. Advice would be nice.

1) Is it true that SOC only accepts members from odd numbered intakes? If it is yes that sia la because I am aiming to be a PTT or a K9 handler, and I am (obviously) from an even numbered intake

2) The test in CMPB will affect vocation selection or not? It is stated it is one of the factors taken into account ( but also possibly its an illusion of choice ) but I also heard that you will get another chance to pick your top 3 vocations for NS during POBC. Is this true or not?

3) Would doing very well during POBC increases your chance of getting the vocation you want? What can I do in order to increase my chances of getting into desired vocations especially for PTT? I am guessing good ippt and shooting score is a must.

4) PTT got any myopia restrictions?

All in all, I am very excited to enter into SPF NS and feel that I can survive in POBC without much issue, possibly even excel at it. However, what I am most worried about is life after POBC. I want to get into a vocation that I have great interest in as it means I will put in extra effort and thus enjoy myself more. It also makes sense as the vocation accounts for like 75% of NS life and if I get into one that I do not like. GG for me liao.

Although luckily PTT is not really a popular vocation ( I think?) so maybe got chance la.

For those interested in my vocation interest. they are:
3) GRF
2) K9 Handler
1) PTT

Although I do have a question. In the SAF there is the SCS and even OCS Those that do well get sent to those leadership schools. In the SPF, only like 0- 3 from each cohort get to go to OCC and there is no SCS equivalent for the SPF ( heck even SCDF has their SCC) . If so , then I wonder what would a PNSF gain from doing well in POBC? I am curious because without any substantial gain or rewards from doing well , people are more likely to chao keng and what not. Hence, I wonder what drives some PNSF to excel despite the ridiculously low chance of getting into OCC.

I know there is a lot of questions and I do apologise for them . Getting enlisted into SPF was a big surprise for me and I had to redo my research from scratch to understand what I should expect. Any advice or help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Kyoji83

I am not from SPF. This is how I feel.

POBC determine your posting such as OCC. So if going to OCC is not what you want, just do your POBC normally and you get to pass out as a Police Officer (PO).

However if you over chao keng (CK), you may end up in Vigilante Corps (VC) and not a PO. That why there is a limitation of how one will CK cause most rather be a PO than a VC.

Thank you for this guide. This will certainly help me in preparing for my NS service in the SPF.

I am going to enlist in the 174th fit intake ( Jan) . I am an oversea pre enlistee and was very certain I was going to get into the SAF. Getting the SPF letter was a big surprise to me and there are not a lot of experiences/ guides out there and as such this guide would be greatly appreciated.

However I do have a few other questions I need clarifications on. Advice would be nice.

1) Is it true that SOC only accepts members from odd numbered intakes? If it is yes that sia la because I am aiming to be a PTT or a K9 handler, and I am (obviously) from an even numbered intake

2) The test in CMPB will affect vocation selection or not? It is stated it is one of the factors taken into account ( but also possibly its an illusion of choice ) but I also heard that you will get another chance to pick your top 3 vocations for NS during POBC. Is this true or not?

3) Would doing very well during POBC increases your chance of getting the vocation you want? What can I do in order to increase my chances of getting into desired vocations especially for PTT? I am guessing good ippt and shooting score is a must.

All in all, I am very excited to enter into SPF NS and feel that I can survive in POBC without much issue, possibly even excel at it. However, what I am most worried about is life after POBC. I want to get into a vocation that I have great interest in as it means I will put in extra effort and thus enjoy myself more. It also makes sense as the vocation accounts for like 75% of NS life and if I get into one that I do not like. GG for me liao.

Although luckily PTT is not really a popular vocation ( I think?) so maybe got chance la.

3) GRF
2) K9 Handler
1) PTT

Although I do have a question. In the SAF there is the SCS and even OCS Those that do well get sent to those leadership schools. In the SPF, only like 0- 3 from each cohort get to go to OCC and there is no SCS equivalent for the SPF ( heck even SCDF has their SCC) . If so , then I wonder what would a PNSF gain from doing well in POBC? I am curious because without any substantial gain or rewards from doing well , people are more likely to chao keng and what not. Hence, I wonder what drives some PNSF to excel despite the ridiculously low chance of getting into OCC.

I know there is a lot of questions and I do apologise for them . Getting enlisted into SPF was a big surprise for me and I had to redo my research from scratch to understand what I should expect. Any advice or help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Parmesean

Woah, those are a lot of questions, and quite a lengthy post. I'll try to answer them to the best of my ability...

Unfortunately, you are right, SOC only accepts members from odd number intakes for PTT, you might still be in luck for K9 though. There is another way to go into PTT if you are from an odd intake, and that would be to qualify for OCC, but more on this later.

I'm not too sure about this one, as when I enlisted I didn't have the vocation selection choice during my medical checkup. But you will get another choice when you are about a month away from Passing Out, so you shouldn't be too worried about this.

Definitely doing well during POBC will get you your desired vocation. Your "score" during POBC is determined by your final IPPT score (you will take 3 in the course of POBC), final shooting score, and the two law tests. The law tests are the easiest to score in my opinion, so definitely try to score there. For PTT, odd intakes will have a separate test. One day, closer to your POP date, there will be a bunch of vocations that will come down and interview you. SOC will have a fitness test, where you will have to complete a series of physical tests, one of them is pull ups, I can't remember off the top of my head what the number was to qualify.

They do, SOC requires you to get contacts, if you can't wear them, then they won't let you in.

3) GRF
2) K9 Handler
1) PTT

I know there is a lot of questions and I do apologize for them . Getting enlisted into SPF was a big surprise for me and I had to redo my research from scratch to understand what I should expect. Any advice or help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Doing well in POBC will affect your future vocations, as if you get a good score, you are likely to be a Team Leader's first pick into his/her team.

For Sergeant courses, there is a new course, where 'A' level/Diploma holders will have a chance to go for it, but you have to perform well enough in your vocation to get selected for it, or so they say.

You are correct, that there really isn't much going for PNSFs, which is why you will notice that halfway through, those who were initially the most "on", will start to lose motivation, as training is super long, 14-weeks, and you might lose motivation as well. For me, personally, although I had no intention of going into OCC, I set that as my end goal, to make sure I did well in POBC. It helped me stay motivated to do well, in the final IPPT, and Law test.

Parmesean

I am not from SPF. This is how I feel.

POBC determine your posting such as OCC. So if going to OCC is not what you want, just do your POBC normally and you get to pass out as a Police Officer (PO).

However if you over chao keng (CK), you may end up in Vigilante Corps (VC) and not a PO. That why there is a limitation of how one will CK cause most rather be a PO than a VC.

Honestly, VC demotion is only for those super jialat cases; it rarely happens. like you stated, as long as you complete your POBC, and don't OOC, you should be fine...

Ghostaque

Woah, those are a lot of questions, and quite a lengthy post. I'll try to answer them to the best of my ability...

Unfortunately, you are right, SOC only accepts members from odd number intakes for PTT, you might still be in luck for K9 though. There is another way to go into PTT if you are from an odd intake, and that would be to qualify for OCC, but more on this later.

I'm not too sure about this one, as when I enlisted I didn't have the vocation selection choice during my medical checkup. But you will get another choice when you are about a month away from Passing Out, so you shouldn't be too worried about this.

Definitely doing well during POBC will get you your desired vocation. Your "score" during POBC is determined by your final IPPT score (you will take 3 in the course of POBC), final shooting score, and the two law tests. The law tests are the easiest to score in my opinion, so definitely try to score there. For PTT, odd intakes will have a separate test. One day, closer to your POP date, there will be a bunch of vocations that will come down and interview you. SOC will have a fitness test, where you will have to complete a series of physical tests, one of them is pull ups, I can't remember off the top of my head what the number was to qualify.

They do, SOC requires you to get contacts, if you can't wear them, then they won't let you in.

Doing well in POBC will affect your future vocations, as if you get a good score, you are likely to be a Team Leader's first pick into his/her team.

For Sergeant courses, there is a new course, where 'A' level/Diploma holders will have a chance to go for it, but you have to perform well enough in your vocation to get selected for it, or so they say.

You are correct, that there really isn't much going for PNSFs, which is why you will notice that halfway through, those who were initially the most "on", will start to lose motivation, as training is super long, 14-weeks, and you might lose motivation as well. For me, personally, although I had no intention of going into OCC, I set that as my end goal, to make sure I did well in POBC. It helped me stay motivated to do well, in the final IPPT, and Law test.

Wow. Thanks for this detailed reply. I want to be a PTT and in SOC because it is the closest thing in which I get to wield non-pistol/revolver firearms as I do have a great interest in them ( alongside the riot gear as well of course) .

I just however, found that the transcript for the graduation parade of 172nd intake states that:

11. In the days to come, many of you will undergo further training and specialisation before being deployed on the ground. Besides being deployed at the frontline Neighbourhood Police Centres, many of you will also be deployed in specialist units like the Police Coast Guard, Special Operations Command, the Protective Security Command, and the Public Transport Command.

(can't post link due to not enough posts but its on MHA website)

So not sure if they recently changed the rules or something ( especially with the formation with the Public Order Troops and also seeing photos of PTT with specs on ) but in the worst case scenairo, are there any other vocations that gives you a chance to train to use the mp5? The only other vocation I can think of is ProCom and even then it is very unlikely and only a few will be selected .

I figured that there will be something for those that do well in basic training. Ah well, I suppose I will still try my best and aim for OCC to have a chance of becoming a PTT. However, If I do fail at least I will try to work with the doggies or be a GRF

Once again, thank you for your help. Hopefully will get some good stories to share once I get in and out of the SPF! Are you a SPF regular by any chance because you seem to know a lot about the process.

Parmesean

Wow. Thanks for this detailed reply. I want to be a PTT and in SOC because it is the closest thing in which I get to wield non-pistol/revolver firearms as I do have a great interest in them ( alongside the riot gear as well of course) .

I just however, found that the transcript for the graduation parade of 172nd intake states that:

11. In the days to come, many of you will undergo further training and specialisation before being deployed on the ground. Besides being deployed at the frontline Neighbourhood Police Centres, many of you will also be deployed in specialist units like the Police Coast Guard, Special Operations Command, the Protective Security Command, and the Public Transport Command.

(can't post link due to not enough posts but its on MHA website)

So not sure if they recently changed the rules or something ( especially with the formation with the Public Order Troops and also seeing photos of PTT with specs on ) but in the worst case scenairo, are there any other vocations that gives you a chance to train to use the mp5? The only other vocation I can think of is ProCom and even then it is very unlikely and only a few will be selected .

I figured that there will be something for those that do well in basic training. Ah well, I suppose I will still try my best and aim for OCC to have a chance of becoming a PTT. However, If I do fail at least I will try to work with the doggies or be a GRF

Once again, thank you for your help. Hopefully will get some good stories to share once I get in and out of the SPF! Are you a SPF regular by any chance because you seem to know a lot about the process.

I think that that is what they say at all POPs, it's a standard script.... The other vocation that train MP5 is PCG, but that's only if you go to the northern regions. During my NS time, PCG had the most amount of fire power, like even NSFs are trained. PCG will train you in M4, then if you get posted to the northern region, you get to fire the MP5.

I'm not a regular, I am a NSman now, I have ORD'd over a year ago at this point.....

Although a lot of stuff has changed, if you wish to know more about PCG, or just need more information on your Basic Police Training, feel free to PM me, and I will be able to go more in depth, as some things are classified, and I can't really share them on a public forum.

Hellion85

hey, I'll be in enlisting on the 13th nov, PTP (BP) batch, your guide has been really important to me, thank you!

I have a kiwi, but it's not those normal kind. its the Shine & Protect (looks like armpit roller), and im wondering if that is allowed?

Parmesean

hey, I'll be in enlisting on the 13th nov, PTP (BP) batch, your guide has been really important to me, thank you!

I have a kiwi, but it's not those normal kind. its the Shine & Protect (looks like armpit roller), and im wondering if that is allowed?

I'd strongly suggest against bringing that, as that is instant shine, and will damage your boot. Get the normal kiwi, and if you are unsure of how to polish your boots, ask some of your bunk mates, or your field instructor, he will be happy to teach you...

Acre45

I'd strongly suggest against bringing that, as that is instant shine, and will damage your boot. Get the normal kiwi, and if you are unsure of how to polish your boots, ask some of your bunk mates, or your field instructor, he will be happy to teach you...

10 kiwi swipe
Rub on boots
Spray water on cloth
Rub on boots
Rinse n repeat until satisfied or lights out / whichever comes 1st

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.