Question abt ICA Specialist

Parcivale

anyone working at ICA? or has worked there before?

can share what's it like?

I interested in applying for this job and I heard got 8 week training.

Potatoe

to be honest, those 'SSG' and 'SGT' whom i see at the airport after flying back to sg don't look like real sergeants lor. i wonder if they really are in charge of a section of men/personnel?

KopRulez

anyone working at ICA? or has worked there before?

can share what's it like?

I interested in applying for this job and I heard got 8 week training.

Be mentally prepared for the followings, before you decided to take up ICA job, as an immigration or enforcement officer.

Must maintain your fitness physically regularly.
Be prepared to work graveyard shifts.
Be prepared to report to work upon activation.

You might be posted to ulu places like jurong island, Pulau Brani for example.

_bEar_

but nowadays like more and more gals take up this job loh

passport.jpg

Potatoe

dun play play leh she got IPPT skill badge :)
But honestly i dont see the point why customs and immigration is a uniformed service leh. like no link.

anyway OT here: what exposure did you set your camera at? she looks like she has 3 hands! LOL.

ox2009

Speaking from experience. Immigration and Customs are actually two different jobscope. Immigrations is under ICA, Ministry of Home Affairs. Customs is under Singapore Customs, Ministry of Finance. Following the police force, ICA is the second largest agency in the Home Team.

The functions have been seperated in 2003 to enhance the border security by moving into Home Team. ICA work is more than what you see as choping passport. This is a wrong impression. That is just one area of work and definately is the place you will work when u get your first posting as an ICA Specialist. How can 1 organisation function just by chopping passport... Once you gain experience, there is also enforcement & investigation work, working on technology, processing paperwork, raiding, etc. You will also get to carry firearms when selected.

Being a SGT in ICA is different from army. SGT do not have a team of man to lead. The rank given to you indicate you "specialise" in your work. Dun forget, not all documents produced by people are genuine. You will be trained to detect forgery. Following the ICA specialist track, you can lead a team when u reach Checkpoint Inspector (Warrant rank of army) and above. The overall team lead is still headed by the Senior Officers. Regimentation is currently not the culture in ICA, perhaps in future as it is still in transition phase in the Home Team. Being so, the environment is more friendly and you can really make friends. So as long you do what you need to do, you will definately have a great time. If you are hardworking, you can further study private degree and convert to Senior officer. Of cse, you need a maintain a good performance record all along. There are lots of such examples already.

Some brief stuff abt your first posting at checkpoint.. You will perform clearance work at counters which you get to see different countries travel documents. Do not keep thinking abt woodlands, there is other checkpoints like Tuas and Sea checkpoints for first posting. You will follow the standard procedures. Anything you dun feel right will be referred to your superior for further followup. After your first posting, you will have the chance to be posted to Airport for future postings. Rotation of postings is within every few years.

Following the new wave of recuirtment, you can see that more and more pple is joining ICA to make sure officers are not overworked. In short, the workload of ICA officers at checkpoints are quite heavy as they handled high volume of passengers daily. But once you get used to it, you will move on.

As now is recession period, it is good to join as it is more stable and nice to give it a try. Just remember, opinions from pple who dun work inside are not going to help much. Just hope that above help u.

ox2009

ya why not? I am sgforum user but seldom surf this forum. Since some 1 need help, I guess I can chip in some basic info.

afrovillain

SGT in MHA doesnt means you have men around you.Like the prevoius post stare.it is diff from MOD.

CyanSupra

I got a malay fren who just joined ica not long.
ard 2-3mths ago.

askxyz

What about Singapore Customs Specialist? Any career prospect?

meleagent

ica senior officer

Anyone can tell me more about 8-10 week training course for ica senior officer? Further to that is there a need to pass ippt in order to pass out as a senior officer? I understand the course will start in 2 weeks time and my fitness now leaves much to be desired.

Ferrari^^

ive seen her at woodlands b4....shes quite friendly....and when i was going to JB....the vehicle was searched by a guy and a lady b4.....but i think for any of the services in sg...i think u need a good military record and be pes a or b.....

hantu_96

Anyone can tell me more about 8-10 week training course for ica senior officer? Further to that is there a need to pass ippt in order to pass out as a senior officer? I understand the course will start in 2 weeks time and my fitness now leaves much to be desired.

when's ur official date? Hehe.. I'm joining too but as specialist on 30 Mar..

CyanSupra

Ok, but I am guessing the training will start soon, like 30th March 2009... Shouldnt they contact me soon so that I can prepare.. I think some already got contacted.
U mean u haven went 4 the interview?
So I guess u shall have to wait for
the next intake if u successfully pass the interview.

jgho83

U mean u haven went 4 the interview?
So I guess u shall have to wait for
the next intake if u successfully pass the interview.

yep, i did not receive any calls from them nor did I went for any interview. When could be the next intake?

CyanSupra

this 1 I'm not so sure.
I went for ica interview on 16 dec08 and received the letter of acceptance on early jan stating to sign the contract on early feb.

But in the end , I never turn up for the bond signing.
Haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.