HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

ViewQwest Fiber Broadband Official Thread - Part 5

Like Tree1557Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2017, 06:19 PM   #5881
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
DeadmanINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12,908
first tell me vpn now said maybe fiber cable wtf vq goodbye january
DeadmanINC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 06:27 PM   #5882
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 61
@franstam I think bulk of the issue here is the download speed we are getting when we are downloading directly from file hosts sites.

Not much to do with speed test results from ookla. What seems to be 80-90MBps becomes 80KBps download. This is of coz unreasonable and has to be addressed. To which, they are not doing much. As such, when this prompted us to terminate, we are then notified of disconnection fee. One by one will be pek chek
Speedtest is pretty ok for me like many others.

However, there is really something wrong with VQ routing to services in Europe. These include e.g. Uploaded.to file hosting site. I'm using 3rd party VPN and when I connect to their HK servers the download speed increases 10x and when disconnected it drops to crawling speed.

Anyone know any easy method to do traceroute to individual files in different filehosting services? Behind the link there are different servers but at least JDownloader 2 does not show the actual remote host info which is required for traceroute.
peter_tee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 07:23 PM   #5883
Senior Member
 
physistry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,379
Speedtest is pretty ok for me like many others.

However, there is really something wrong with VQ routing to services in Europe. These include e.g. Uploaded.to file hosting site. I'm using 3rd party VPN and when I connect to their HK servers the download speed increases 10x and when disconnected it drops to crawling speed.

Anyone know any easy method to do traceroute to individual files in different filehosting services? Behind the link there are different servers but at least JDownloader 2 does not show the actual remote host info which is required for traceroute.
Yeap, same for me.

Speedtest no issue. But real download speed to filesharing sites is crawling worst than 56KBps adsl days. And guess what the tech told me? If speedtest is okay, means nothing wrong. This is true to an extent.

Sent them the traceroute - "working" on it. Called me back days later, and remote control my PC from wherever they are based. Then run speedtest again - say speed not an issue.

- Says im not on wired (which i am on wired connection
- blames file hosting sites (but i told them the download affects EVERY major sites as well).
- advise me to use different download manager and not IDM (did that via remote access but still don't believe it's their issue).

Just did another test: General Failure



Regardless, I don't see any attempt to resolve the latency / download issues we are facing.

Last edited by physistry; 07-12-2017 at 07:26 PM..
physistry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 10:27 PM   #5884
Supremacy Member
 
Phrajile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,100
Ok this is weird. I get both these readings:

The one above.
The one below.




1. First thing in the morning, my PC gets 900Mb/s
2. If I turn on my phone Wifi, my PC gets 200+Mb/s
3. Turn off phone Wifi, my PC still only gets 200+ Mb/s
4. Firefox, Chrome, IE all check out the same phenomenon

Router issue? My setup is currently

Zhone ==> Asus AC66U ==> PC
Troubleshooted every setting, updated router Firmware, did factory reset etc.

Can only conclude that it's a hardware issue. Since router is a few years old, time to go shopping again........
__________________
CHIO BU HERE, CHIO BU THERE!
CHIO BU CHIO BU EVERYWHERE!
NNB, WHERE WHERE??
Phrajile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 11:47 PM   #5885
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
civicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 17,233
Regardless, I don't see any attempt to resolve the latency / download issues we are facing.
I don’t understand these support people. If you have 10 knowledgeable users who has the same issue (ie slow downloads from Europe or file sharing hosts), how can you even think it is an individual person issue and not a systematic issue.

I will fire my support team if they ever said that to my users.
franstam likes this.
civicguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 08:46 AM   #5886
Supremacy Member
 
Ark Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9,499
I don’t understand these support people. If you have 10 knowledgeable users who has the same issue (ie slow downloads from Europe or file sharing hosts), how can you even think it is an individual person issue and not a systematic issue.

I will fire my support team if they ever said that to my users.
If I'm VQ boss, I'll keep them and give them a bonus. Ignore all problems and claim all is well. Cut cost, don't invest in infra, don't maintain networking assets, minimal invest, maximum sign ups, superb profits.

Why actually spend money in being the best ISP when I can just have more cash for myself by being as rubbish (if not rubbisher) as traffic light ISPs?

Hence all the rubbish service, rubbish billing, rubbish support, rubbish tech, rubbish speeds
Ark Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 09:14 AM   #5887
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,531
I don’t understand these support people. If you have 10 knowledgeable users who has the same issue (ie slow downloads from Europe or file sharing hosts), how can you even think it is an individual person issue and not a systematic issue.

I will fire my support team if they ever said that to my users.
They know about the issue. They just cant do anything about it probably due to incompetence
dryteletubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:29 AM   #5888
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
civicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 17,233
Is it better this morning ? For me slightly better download speeds from Europe.
civicguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:12 AM   #5889
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,264
bye vq. gonna return the stuff to u tmr.
Xtreme_Funktions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:43 AM   #5890
Senior Member
 
Apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,456
bye vq. gonna return the stuff to u tmr.
Remember to check if you need to pay disconnection fee..
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 12:19 PM   #5891
High Supremacy Member
 
derrickgoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 35,643
Remember to check if you need to pay disconnection fee..
They will say need. Then after i KPKB then they say “miscommunication” so no need. Try their luck only 🙄 If i dont say they also act blur.
derrickgoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 12:21 PM   #5892
High Supremacy Member
 
derrickgoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 35,643
Vq anonymous already. Don't wanna reply email or follow up. Been weeks on a single issue.
Really like machiam company going to uplorry liao
derrickgoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 12:46 PM   #5893
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,865
They will say need. Then after i KPKB then they say “miscommunication” so no need. Try their luck only 🙄 If i dont say they also act blur.
So far many customers got their shock from this disconnection fee...

Honestly nobody remember or recall that there were told about the disconnection fee.


Unlike major telco will cross that section and asked u sign that they have explain and inform u there is a disconnection fee.
sadboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 01:32 PM   #5894
Master Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3,998
They know about the issue. They just cant do anything about it probably due to incompetence
This is not totally about staff incompetence.
It may involve in more cost require to handle.
Hence it is the TOP Management decision.
Apply to all Companies just like smrt...past n present.

If you ever work closely in service and support depts you may understand and able to see what's going on.
Most staff want to help but sometime it may beyong them.

Last edited by eric3743; 08-12-2017 at 01:36 PM..
eric3743 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 03:59 PM   #5895
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,531
This is not totally about staff incompetence.
It may involve in more cost require to handle.
Hence it is the TOP Management decision.
Apply to all Companies just like smrt...past n present.

If you ever work closely in service and support depts you may understand and able to see what's going on.
Most staff want to help but sometime it may beyong them.
I was mostly referring to the management
dryteletubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On