HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

[Gaming] Official Guild Wars 2 Thread [No Sales of items or currency!]

Like Tree408Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 28-08-2012, 01:38 PM   #5626
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Help!

Hey guys, I've just bought the physical copy of the game and installing via Disk 1 but have problem

got this Crash error that appears after the patcher stops working, similar to this:

*--> Crash <--*

Assertion: Unable to execute patch file 'E:\Guild Wars 2\Gw2.tmp'""

help? anyone know about this?
Phrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 01:43 PM   #5627
Master Member
 
Myu~sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,378
Where u all download GW2 from ? From official web ?

150kb/sec sia . dunno download dao when.
Myu~sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 01:47 PM   #5628
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Myu, you downloading via the Disk issit?

No problem ah?
Phrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 01:57 PM   #5629
Master Member
 
Myu~sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,378
i download from arena there the installer. digital copy.
Myu~sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 02:01 PM   #5630
Master Member
 
Myu~sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,378
Naming .. Does "OMFG" seems offensive ?
Myu~sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 02:03 PM   #5631
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Solution to *Crash*

Hey guys, i just found a fix,

You have to go to the Gw2.tmp location (which also has Gw2.exe and Gw2.dat) and rename your existing Gw2.exe there to Gw2.exe.bk and the Gw2.tmp to Gw2.exe [changign the Tmp file to Exe actually]

Hope that helps anyone, currently downloading without problem at 1.2 Mb/Sec

YAYYYY
Phrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 02:08 PM   #5632
Master Member
 
Myu~sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,378
1.2mb/s so shiok .. dunno why mine so slow sia -.-
Myu~sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 02:12 PM   #5633
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Lol, I speak too soon.. only 3% nia

Hey but the Disk i have has 7GB in the form of Gw2.js leh, how come I still need download..
Phrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 02:22 PM   #5634
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 15
anyone know where to buy the cd?
henglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 02:33 PM   #5635
Master Member
 
MoneyHoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,857
1.2mb/s so shiok .. dunno why mine so slow sia -.-
what ISP u using?

I'm using Singtel Fibre 100MBps and i managed to download the entire thing in 40-45mins, running at 3.5MBps to 5MBps.
MoneyHoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 02:41 PM   #5636
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Eh, actually, I realized that I have all the installation files in the CD, but the SetupFile.exe in the CD seems to be using the Website's file to install... quite bad man, I shouldnt need to to download the files when got CD

Phrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 02:49 PM   #5637
Senior Member
 
Taunee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,250
Erm.. For CD install no matter what also must connect to website to download new update or new build. GW2 update can be huge file like a few GB too. CD only install core file but dont come with latest update.

Eh, actually, I realized that I have all the installation files in the CD, but the SetupFile.exe in the CD seems to be using the Website's file to install... quite bad man, I shouldnt need to to download the files when got CD

Taunee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 03:00 PM   #5638
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
No, it seems that I'm installing the whole game via the online download, instead of the it installing through the CD. I think its because I changed the files in the Temp folder.

When I try install via CD before modifying the files in the Temp folder, they bring me to the patcher. The patcher crashes and says "Execute failed for 'C:\Users\Home\AppData\Local\Temp\Gw2.tmp"

So i dunno T.T

EDIT: I mean that its installing core files from online and not taking it from CD, is it supposed to do that?

Last edited by Phrost; 28-08-2012 at 03:17 PM.. Reason: Info
Phrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 03:02 PM   #5639
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 156
Smile

I've got a Guild Wars 2 - Digital Deluxe Edition account to sell at lower price.. I have not downloaded the game yet. Pls PM me or email me at happinseed@gmail.com if you are interested to buy
mediawaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2012, 03:23 PM   #5640
Senior Member
 
Taunee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,250
wow not rly sure much about cd installation. maybe i can help u check around at other forum.

No, it seems that I'm installing the whole game via the online download, instead of the it installing through the CD. I think its because I changed the files in the Temp folder.

When I try install via CD before modifying the files in the Temp folder, they bring me to the patcher. The patcher crashes and says "Execute failed for 'C:\Users\Home\AppData\Local\Temp\Gw2.tmp"

So i dunno T.T

EDIT: I mean that its installing core files from online and not taking it from CD, is it supposed to do that?
Taunee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On