[AMA] I am a veterinarian. Ask me anything :D

harky

Need some ur advice

i saw this online.
The story is like tht..
This 6yr old jrt few day ago , eat rat urine while walking .
Since then it went sick .. tio toxin

it vomiting what ever he eat he vomit and his urine has a lot of blood, went to see vet.. think the final vet did a test report as shown below

1513652_1693225514296444_3450902349882777765_n.jpg

12509527_1693225500963112_2634298406986673072_n.jpg

vet suspect the dog got Pancreatic Cancer..
do u think is cause by rat urine rather than it is Pancreatic Cancer?

lycans

I dun get this fixation with rat urine, how the person know siah? :s11:

Judging by u/s they suspect abdominal mass which may or may not be cancerous. Ex-lap is the next step up but did they run bloods?

harky

no le.. i was wondering does it cause because of rat urine?

it was told by owner that the dog eat rat urine.
it was abt 1-2week and go many test than suddenly vet suspect is Pancreatic Cancer?? :eek::eek:

it was like from eat rat urine.... suddenly vet suspect is Pancreatic Cancer?? (all happen within a week)

Ya they did the blood test.. all not good.

the dog was too weak to go for ex-lap

I dun get this fixation with rat urine, how the person know siah? :s11:

Judging by u/s they suspect abdominal mass which may or may not be cancerous. Ex-lap is the next step up but did they run bloods?

lycans

I sincerely doubt the dog consumed rat urine, do you know how small a rat urine output is?

Anyway doesnt matter, the vet found some questionable mass on u/s and wants to work it further ...i'd say go ahead but what does the blood test say?

melvados

my dog also had the dark patch.. i think they scratching & lick and become dark patch

last time dont have one.. i suspect his scratching is from the dog vet diet!

So my parents brought the dog to the vet and was told that such patches are 'lao ren pan' or black pigments.. Nothing to worry about but they were skeptical about the vet's answer as she is unable to answer when my parents asked what causes the black patches and what to do about the rest that seems to be forming or if there are any ways to get rid of it..

Currently we are trying to monitor the food we are giving her and see how it goes

harky

Ya something like that..
The thing is they keep lick, that why. Wet + dirty

Hope my vet diet faster got stock. The current one is a replacement due to oos.. Sian going 2month liao . He been lick and get smelly faster than usual!!

So my parents brought the dog to the vet and was told that such patches are 'lao ren pan' or black pigments.. Nothing to worry about but they were skeptical about the vet's answer as she is unable to answer when my parents asked what causes the black patches and what to do about the rest that seems to be forming or if there are any ways to get rid of it..

Currently we are trying to monitor the food we are giving her and see how it goes

harky

bo la.. but he dog seen to be getting abit better

this is what owner say

As wad we were told from the first vet on the first day he admitted to hospital was that he probably ate rats urine and causes him to get infected by bacterials in his liver, the following day they said to found his pancreas and small intestine abnormal suspected cancerous. As he continued hospitalising they didn't really know wad is happening in him they couldn't target on the right spot becuz hiccup was too weak to be lab tested. The next thing we found from the medical invoice was that they actually feed hiccup with few kinds of antibiotics and see which works, that is when we decided to discharge him becuz we dun want him to be tested like a Guinea pig. Then we brought him to another recommended specialist this time they were much more professional, they actually went through the whole scan with us but still they couldn't diagnose. So now they are giving us medication for home care until he is really stabilised then ask us to reconsider surgery in diagnosing in sickness, they told us it could be bacterials, pancreas disease, inflammation or cancer. Though it's not totally about money but we've already spend 2k plus just to get medication, scanning and consultations but it doesn't really help at all and I believe the 3 opt would tell us the same thing, so actually we really cannot do anything right now until he is really stable then we could make a choice in selecting a good vet for him to do surgery or go for another scan and try targeting his sickness..

I sincerely doubt the dog consumed rat urine, do you know how small a rat urine output is?

Anyway doesnt matter, the vet found some questionable mass on u/s and wants to work it further ...i'd say go ahead but what does the blood test say?

lycans

People need to manage their expectations, sometimes a disease has no diagnosis and the vet can only treat symptomatically. What were its blood and urine test results? What sort of symptoms was it presenting?

deliFury

My cats are always scratching the door of our bedroom at night.
Any tips to keep them from doing that?

lycans

My cats are always scratching the door of our bedroom at night.
Any tips to keep them from doing that?

Dont keep cats :o:o

Try spraying citrus solution on the door or use sticky tapes to discourage cat from scratching

Trim nails regularly

lycans

I have been wrong all these years, how sad...but oh well thats part and parcel of medicine

http://www.veterinarypracticenews.com/lysine-for-fhv-researchers-say-dont-bother/

wo virologists are urging veterinarians to immediately stop lysine supplementation in cats suffering from feline herpesvirus-1 because they say the therapy is ineffective.

Their conclusion, published Nov. 16 in the online journal BMC Veterinary Research, drew a measured response from two experts in the field who said anecdotal reports of successful lysine use leave open the possibility that the therapy does work.

Husband-and-wife virologists Sebastiaan Bol, MS, Ph.D., and Evelien M. Bunnik, MS, Ph.D., reached the conclusion after conducting a systematic review—essentially a study of previous lysine studies.

Bol, who like his wife is employed at the University of California, Riverside, began the review after their 8-year-old cat, Aguereberry, was diagnosed with FHV-1, a highly contagious infection of the upper respiratory system. Their veterinarian recommended lysine nutritional supplements to treat and manage the disease.

“With my background in biology and nutrition, I was very suspicious, and I started clicking—doing some searches online—and I was not very convinced,” Bol said. “So I started looking into more and more of the publications, and it was really shocking to see that there’s absolutely no evidence [that lysine is effective in cats].”

Bol and Bunnik’s research article looked at seven studies of lysine and FHV-1—two in vitro studies and five involving cats—as well as 10 studies of human herpesvirus-1. Examining papers dating to the 1970s, Bol found that the lysine recommendation originated with a human study.

The veterinary studies offered no scientific proof of lysine’s efficacy in cats, he said. Those papers, he discovered, all stopped short of advocating an end to lysine supplementation in FHV-1 cases.

What Bol didn’t know at first was how often veterinarians prescribed lysine to FHV-1 cats. Did Aguereberry’s doctor follow the crowd or was she an exception?

“So I did a survey and found that over 90 percent of the veterinarians are recommending it,” Bol said.

He asked 68 cat hospitals spread across the United States, Australia and the United Kingdom whether they prescribed lysine. Of the 23 hospitals that replied, 21 of them, or 91 percent, did.

FHV researcher David Maggs, BVSc, Dipl. ACVO, a professor of veterinary ophthalmology at the University of California, Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine, complimented Bol for that additional research and for Bol and Bunnik’s overall work.

“The authors have done a tremendous review of the literature,” Dr. Maggs said. “It seems to be very comprehensive, very complete. They turned up one or two articles that I wasn’t aware of, and then they certainly turned up all the articles that I am aware of.”

Five of the seven veterinary studies were co-authored by Maggs. But none of Maggs’ studies reached the same conclusion as Bol’s: a recommended “immediate stop of lysine supplementation because of the complete lack of any scientific evidence for its efficacy.”

“I was surprised by the conclusion,” Maggs said. “The conclusion seems to be, at least for science, very boldly stated. Scientists are well known for not really stating things very boldly, and that’s one of the criticisms we get.

“To say that there was no evidence strikes me as a little bit odd because they point out in their own manuscript that there has been at least one study that suggested a benefit.”

Bol responded that of the clinical feline studies he examined, “maybe one study” found something, “but that was only after they very narrowly looked at one specific thing.”

He also noted that the clinical studies had small sample sizes and that one study showing some effectiveness “only compared four cats to four other cats.”

Anecdotal evidence should not be discarded, Maggs said.

“I have clients who tell me that every time they take the cat off lysine the problem returns,” he said. “Now that’s totally anecdotal evidence, but … I’m using it as an example that we should not recommend a blanket immediate cessation of therapy in all cats.

“There are clearly some cats who respond well in a disease that sometimes has very subtle signs,” he added. “Maybe it’s just as well to leave those cats on lysine if the clients genuinely feel that it’s making a difference.”

Maggs’ comment was supported by Texas feline practitioner Gary D. Norsworthy, DVM, Dipl. ABVP, who co-edited “The Feline Patient, 4th Edition.”

“[Lysine] is used frequently by many of my clients at the recommendation of Dr. Google,” Dr. Norsworthy said. “Some cats have a very convincing response in spite of what the science says.

“I do not recommend it as a first-line treatment for feline herpesvirus-1,” he said, “but I also do not discourage it. Cats are not very conversant with the literature. Its use should be based on response, whether scientific or not.”

The textbook “The Feline Patient” acknowledges some uncertainty about lysine. One part states:

“For several years, lysine (250-500 mg/cat q12h PO) has been thought to have activity against the acute and chronic phases of FHV-1 infection. However, two recent studies failed to demonstrate efficacy of lysine against upper respiratory infections in groups of shelter cats. In one of these studies, lysine therapy was associated with worsening of clinical signs and increased detection of FHV-1 viral DNA in oropharyngeal and conjunctiva mucosal samples. As such, use of lysine for treating FVH-1 must be reconsidered.”

Bol suggested that practitioners swayed by anecdotal evidence should consider another possible reason for improvements in FHV cats: the passage of time.

“When people bring their cats to the clinic … the symptoms are pretty severe and [veterinarians] prescribe the lysine,” Bol said. “Over time, with or without treatment, symptoms will improve. When you give the cat lysine, symptoms will improve. Is it because of the lysine?

“They have absolutely no way to say that it is because of the lysine,” he added. “They have no way to say that the same improvement would occur if they would not have treated the cat with lysine. That’s why you need a control group [in studies]. Anecdotal evidence is no evidence. … Anecdotal evidence is a contradiction in terms.”

Bol and Bunnik’s paper, available at http://bit.ly/1O666oi, noted that scientists believe lysine does not possess antiviral properties. Rather, some researchers propose that lysine works by lowering arginine levels.

And therein lies another issue, Bol stated.

“Lowering arginine levels is highly undesirable since cats cannot synthesize this amino acid themselves,” he and Bunnik wrote. “Arginine deficiency will result in hyperammonemia, which may be fatal.”

Having studied FHV himself and after reading the virologists’ systematic review, Maggs remained wary.

recommend perhaps a moderation of the final conclusion because I don’t think we can say that this drug should be stopped in all cats with herpesvirus,” Maggs said. “I think they’ve introduced a useful cautionary note of whether it should be initiated in every cat, but recommending an immediate cessation is probably a stronger conclusion that I would have drawn from the same data.”

harky

dog pass-away today

i hate vet that treat symptomatically, u know why!?
it dont cure the problem.. just like my dog. this vet treat the symptomatically and i go back 2nd day to see her again and she charge me again... (where i tell her my dog is diagnosis with ibd!)

People need to manage their expectations, sometimes a disease has no diagnosis and the vet can only treat symptomatically. What were its blood and urine test results? What sort of symptoms was it presenting?

lycans

dog pass-away today

i hate vet that treat symptomatically, u know why!?
it dont cure the problem.. just like my dog. this vet treat the symptomatically and i go back 2nd day to see her again and she charge me again... (where i tell her my dog is diagnosis with ibd!)

You do realise even for some human diseases the human doctors can only treat symptomatically?

A true cure is rare in the field of medicine, often the medicine is given to help the body, the body itself has to overcome the disease. Take flu for example, there is no cure for it

People need to learn to manage their expectations, that's all i can say

lycans

any recommendation for vet to perform cherry eyes?
I dont work in Singapore so I dont know any vets that do it but its a relatively simple surgery so most vets should be able to do it. Call around and ask

lycans

why do cats always drop so much hair when they are beyond a year old? Anyways to reduce that?

What kind of cat do you have?

Its normal for cats to shed fur unless they have other signs like bald patches, redness, itchy skin, etc other wise I wont be too concerned about it

Regular fur combing and grooming.

melvados

Hi my dog has mild rashes on her belly. I am keeping out a lookout on her diet.Mar wondering if there any cream that I can apply (where can I get it too) without visiting the vet?

harky

i use this for my dog,
almost everything that is not really tht bad

Oscar Botanical Tree Tar Cream
8832578.jpg

Hi my dog has mild rashes on her belly. I am keeping out a lookout on her diet.Mar wondering if there any cream that I can apply (where can I get it too) without visiting the vet?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.