[OFFICIAL] Fish keeping lover lounge - Part 2

jq75

at OTF, they dump a polishing pad in the tank, is it wise?

something like this type, a long rectangular piece
41qn0P5thVL._AC_SY400_.jpg

skytan13

Got a 36 x 22 x 26 cm fish tank.

Thinking of getting a hang on filter.

Saw this - Sunsun HBL-802

https://eastoceansg.com/sunsun-hbl-802-filter

HBL-802

110V/220V/240V

50Hz/60Hz

6W

500L7h

1.5m

1.2kg

160×270×280mm

Suitable? The nice advantages about this is that it is external (doesn't take up space inside - duh!), does not use proprietary filter cartridges, can put own media, and seems rather slim in profile. And below $40. Fluval and Seachem too expensive for what they offer.

Or other options?

this type good. fluval i dun like cos small media space and lots of customized stuff to milk. Tidal is awesome but ur this tank size even 35 also over kill ler.
iirc it is made by sicce.

I bought 1-2grow. 1 pot nia lol
Wow if they dont jump maybe i dont even wanna put the cover leh.

I very worry my tank got algae in some plants that hinder their growth. But seems like java fern, amazon sword is adjusting well.
Also my anubias nana petite seems fine though.
Cryptocoryne wendtii new leave not yet grow.

Maybe later i go add some more species of low tech plants.

add another pot of 1-2 grow hahaha..else jin slow .....maybe ...maybe some day many years down the road i will do iwagumi planted for my 5 feet when every one in the tank uplorry.... else is a simple marine without chiller..

I think i almost get into Ocd keep monitoring and monitoring the progress of the plants.
It gives quite a hard to describe satisfaction when they growing fine.

Think i going to add water wisteria, hornwort, dwarf sagittaria, vallisneria nana in.

Take photo..date stamp see them grow
quite fun.

been there before, theirs generally is between seaview and OTF, but fishes are in better health and water quality=:p
cos QH supply alot of the LFS those common fishes.
And sometimes you can get uncommon things there which LFS dun carry cos not popular , much more variety.

skytan13

whats the minimum required for fishes?

Tat is ur requirement :s13:
they dun need the light mostly

~~~~~
Dun really need the polishing pad per say.
depends on ur filtration type. if OHF jus put fine fine wool at first stage water clean clean one....if you able to clean / change regularly.

shin7829

Ok done

Java fern, amazon sword, anubias nana petite, cryptocoryne wendtii green, dwarf grass, crytocoryne wendtii broad leaf, rotala rotundifolia green, vallisneria nana

IMG-20200902-201113.jpg

hdrpl.jpg

Gotten one more pot of dwarf grass, then cryptocoryne wendtii broad leaves,
rotala rotundifolia green, vallisneria nana
I dont know which will survive and grow up well liao.

Scare some planted too deep, some planted not deep enough.

Lets see their fate liao.
Not going to plant anymore for now.lol

shin7829

what substrate and soil are you on?:o

Ada amazon soil. Quite acidic.
I put 6litre ada amazon soil, 3litre ada powder soil
Dont dont dont ever get the powder one. I gotten 3litre of powder very regret.

Snakekiller

Ok done

Java fern, amazon sword, anubias nana petite, cryptocoryne wendtii green, dwarf grass, crytocoryne wendtii broad leaf, rotala rotundifolia green, vallisneria nana

IMG-20200902-201113.jpg

hdrpl.jpg

Where you get your dwarf grass, I try fews lfs can't find, even pasir ris farm also don't have, but they offer similar type claim is Japan hair glass.

Posted from PCWX using CLT-L29

jq75

what fish you keeping?
longkang fish with some plants.. Water lettuce, duckweeds and hydrilla(same plant in photo)
but plants don't grow well, so considering substrate in containers, but don't know how to go about it:s13:
270-jpg.290558

tankgunner

Mentor
Ok done

IMG-20200902-201113.jpg

hdrpl.jpg

not sure if this is too late for you.
try to slope the soil thin to thick from the front to the back like this.
36215471985_dfb1c4548b_b.jpg

this will give your scape more depth.
but this also need technique to prevent the slope from flattening in the long run.

tankgunner

Mentor
longkang fish with some plants.. Water lettuce, duckweeds and hydrilla(same plant in photo)
but plants don't grow well, so considering substrate in containers, but don't know how to go about it:s13:
270-jpg.290558

this type of fish very hardy.
can do up to 80% water change.
just make sure you intro the new water back into the tank slowly.

shin7829

not sure if this is too late for you.
try to slope the soil thin to thick from the front to the back like this.
36215471985_dfb1c4548b_b.jpg

this will give your scape more depth.
but this also need technique to prevent the slope from flattening in the long run.
I tried before but fail very badly due to one wrong step of forgetting to mist the soil before adding water.

Now i give up trying that.
Wait till i get more experience first.

Really cant hope to do everything nice and correct at one go.
Now hope my plants all grow up well.

That style of aquascape maybe in future will try once i get into the hang of it.

This is the best i could do for now.
This is the right hand side of the tank lol
IMG-20200902-211838.jpg

tankgunner

Mentor
I tried before but fail very badly due to one wrong step of forgetting to mist the soil before adding water.

Now i give up trying that.
Wait till i get more experience first.

Really cant hope to do everything nice and correct at one go.
Now hope my plants all grow up well.

That style of aquascape maybe in future will try once i get into the hang of it.

This is the best i could do for now.
This is the right hand side of the tank lol
IMG-20200902-211838.jpg

ok ok. do slowly.
my try was much much worse than yours. :o

shin7829

Feel like including otto in my fish list but worry they may die. Cause at most i keep 3 of them nia. And worry not enough algae to upkeep them lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.