www.hardwarezone.com.sg

www.hardwarezone.com.sg (/)
-   Post-Degree Programs & Courses (https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/post-degree-programs-courses-215/)
-   -   Which MBA? (https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/post-degree-programs-courses-215/mba-1852354.html)

aisehman 15-02-2008 10:07 AM

Guys,

I stumbled upon this forum while I was doing my research on part-time MBA. You guys are great!

I'm a regional manager in my late 20s, working for a European MNC and they have agreed to sponsor my MBA but I'm having second thoughts on:

1) Is MBA really that great? Should I get into something 'general' like MBA (it's so popular now) or should I get into something 'niche' like M.Sc in Supply Chain Management or M.Sc in International Business etc?

2) If it's MBA, i'm not sure which are the right MBA to take. I know I can't afford to go CSB, Insead, Stanford etc top-tier business school, hence, I would have to go for cheaper alternatives - mid-tier ones. Does it makes any difference of any mid-tier business school I pick? Take Strathchlyde and Manchester, does it makes any difference? Maybe this will lead me to my next question.

3) If it's part-time MBA, which school has a more well-rounded curriculum that focus on students development as a professional? I have enough of NTU/NUS style of teaching which is courseworks after courseworks, exams after exams - Are there any good and reputatable part-time MBA school out there that doesn't 'force' students to learn in this manner?

Hope you guys can help..

danzodanzo 15-02-2008 12:16 PM

1. Depending on your primary objectives of doing the MBA
- career switch vs advancement; knowledge development vs paper development, or both etc...

2. Check out their curriculum and see how they fits into your personal circumstances. Beyond this, you might also want to research the school management and consider where the school would be in say the next 5-20 years of your career.