I am a C++ noob.
Would like to have some enlightenment over this question

Thanks in advance!
saysuzu likes this.
aaronxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2013, 01:24 AM   #2
Great Supremacy Member

Version 1?

If x is greater, then it returns and stops there.
And it use one lesser variable?
saysuzu likes this.
Old 30-10-2013, 01:38 AM   #3
Arch-Supremacy Member

Hi people,

I am a C++ noob.
Would like to have some enlightenment over this question

Thanks in advance!
Fundamentally you can't be fault at any of the both answers. Since (A) both solutions are correct, (B) the codes are too simple for any of both versions to be inappropriate.

However, from the academic perspective, Version 2 will be a more correct approach because of the execution flow.

It is often not encouraged to have multiple exit points in the code. Version 1 have 2 exit points. It is fine for such small codes, but if the code gets larger and also more complicated, it will be beneficial to have a common exit point so that it will assist in debugging and sanity checking.

Using an extra maxNo variable to contain the result before passing back to the callee allows for consolidated sanity check to be performed at the end of the function. Suppose I have a function called double_it(int), for Version 1, I will need to apply it 2 times since there are 2 exit points. For Version 2, I will only need to apply once on the maxNo variable and return it. At the same time, the maxNo variable name helps to explain to another programmer what is the intention of the code and what value is expected to be returned from the function. There isn't any more comments required to explain such simple intention.

Therefore academically I will choose Version 2 as the better solution.

However I personally would have Version 3 as follows

return x > y ? x : y;
This example is too simple to really say it helps a lot, but well, it is just a purely academic discussion, isn't it ?
saysuzu and aaronxg like this.