HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Samsung Galaxy Note thread, a phone so big smaller phones orbits around it

Like Tree256Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 24-11-2011, 08:22 PM   #1906
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
touchme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,734
Impressive battery ,Got review of sheep rom? Does it add flash count,? Cos I gg service soon
touchme is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 08:26 PM   #1907
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,227
Question

few days back, i go jurong point no stock.
i go online, no free flip case and delivery is next monday.
anybody knows which singtel shop got stock plus the free flip case?
i wanna get tomorrow after work.
very frustrated to wait and wait
flea_pepper is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 08:38 PM   #1908
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 668
few days back, i go jurong point no stock.
i go online, no free flip case and delivery is next monday.
anybody knows which singtel shop got stock plus the free flip case?
i wanna get tomorrow after work.
very frustrated to wait and wait
You can try the exclusive singtel shop at jurong point(3rd floor) or the samsung shop at the basement(opp Hello shop).
DarkFord is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 08:40 PM   #1909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 715
Impressive battery ,Got review of sheep rom? Does it add flash count,? Cos I gg service soon
Hmm not much to say about sheep rom. Feels like a slightly sped up version of the stock firmware, but with a few visual tweaks (blue notification icons, battery percentage etc.) The version I'm using is based off the 2.3.6 ROM (KKA). Also, I read that protected apps don't work with this ROM, so you'll need to edit your build.prop.

BTW, I've read reports of people suffering from random reboots and kernel panics (for example, capacitive buttons not working) but I haven't experienced that since flashing on Monday night.

Any way to check if my flash count has changed? I used zergrush to root, then installed Sheep ROM from CWM Recovery (only because I accidentally flashed an incompatible mod that caused bootloops).
doomgaze86 is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 08:49 PM   #1910
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,227
You can try the exclusive singtel shop at jurong point(3rd floor) or the samsung shop at the basement(opp Hello shop).
hmm,
i want to use corporate pricing. there can ?
flea_pepper is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 08:50 PM   #1911
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
avsquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11,259
I think my note's battery is conditioning well, here's toady's report:

13hr 28m 36s on battery
- Android OS @ 40%
- Display @ 23%
- Voice calls @ 14%
- Facebook @ 6%
- Internet @ 4%
- Cell standby @ 4%
- Phone idle @ 3%
- Android system @ 3%
- Mediaserver @ 2%
- Music @ 2%


Battery left: 55%
avsquare is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 09:00 PM   #1912
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
touchme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,734
Hmm not much to say about sheep rom. Feels like a slightly sped up version of the stock firmware, but with a few visual tweaks (blue notification icons, battery percentage etc.) The version I'm using is based off the 2.3.6 ROM (KKA). Also, I read that protected apps don't work with this ROM, so you'll need to edit your build.prop.

BTW, I've read reports of people suffering from random reboots and kernel panics (for example, capacitive buttons not working) but I haven't experienced that since flashing on Monday night.

Any way to check if my flash count has changed? I used zergrush to root, then installed Sheep ROM from CWM Recovery (only because I accidentally flashed an incompatible mod that caused bootloops).
dunno why stock rom excluded brightness toggle in notification area..
becos i use manual birghtness, wanna cut down strokes.
does sheep provide birghtness on notification bar, or volume, even better, like sbsettings?
touchme is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 09:03 PM   #1913
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 715
Nope, notification area is exactly the same as stock, meaning there isn't even a data toggle. I'm hoping they make some new mods for the notification area toggles soon.

EDIT: Does anyone know of any protected apps? I heard that NYTimes, bTunes and History Eraser are protected, but I have no issue downloading them on Sheep rom.

Last edited by doomgaze86; 24-11-2011 at 09:26 PM..
doomgaze86 is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 09:37 PM   #1914
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20,198
Here's a screencap of my battery life. Decided to see how far it could go as I went to bed last night with about 62% remaining. Drained 12% overnight.



Auto brightness on, motion sensors off, all location services on, 3 Gmail accounts set on push (but 2 have very low traffic), 1 Hotmail account on fetch (60 minute interval), 70 minutes of music in an area with no 3G reception, quite a bit of VNC, some browsing/reading via Dolphin and Google Reader, some Google Maps Navigation, some SMS, as well as Whatsapp, Viber and LINE all working simultaneously.

I'm on Sheep ROM 1.2. Only battery saving mods I did was freezing Music Hub, Wi-Fi sharing 1.0 and Wi-Fi sharing manager 1.0. Mobile hotspot still works with these disabled.

Pretty impressive if you ask me (although I don't think my usage is considered very high). I don't think my Desire HD would have lasted this long.
LOL That's not pretty good.
That's freaking good!

Seriously, I'm not sure if there's a smartphone which can reach this sort of battery life.

I moved over from dhd as well.
it could never even reach half of what I had today.
otaku7 is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 09:50 PM   #1915
Senior Member
 
bibiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,056
Hi all, hope I'm not asking a repeater or noob qn. I just got my note from moby but the set is a star hub set, loaded w starhub stuff. I'm using Singtel. Is there a way to load the software for Singtel or how to flash back to the default agent set? Anyone can teach me how? Thanks.
bibiman is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 09:50 PM   #1916
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20,198
ok...mine hit 14hrs flat at 1% on a single charge today.


  • Android OS [32% - 1hr26mins CPU]
  • Display [28% - 3hr26mins Time On]
  • Dolphin Browser HD [9% - 23mins CPU - 29sec Awake]
  • Voice Calls [8% - 22mins Time On]
  • Email [7% - 15mins CPU - 12mins Awake]
  • Android System [7% - 3mins CPU - 19mins Awake]
  • Cell Standby [4% - 14hr4mins Time On - 100% Time without a signal]
  • Phone Idle [2% - 10hrs37mins Time On]
  • Facebook [2% - 4mins CPU - 1min Awake]
  • Gmail [2% - 3mins CPU - 11mins Awake]
  • Whatsapp [2% - 3mins CPU - 8secs Awake]

forgot to mention. I'm on stock and no root too.

one puzzling think i found out...
Cell Standby [4% - 14hr4mins Time On - 100% Time without a signal]

means that I never got any signals?

Last edited by otaku7; 24-11-2011 at 09:53 PM..
otaku7 is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 10:07 PM   #1917
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 715
I noticed the same thing on my set. No clue why it says 100% time without a signal.
doomgaze86 is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 10:11 PM   #1918
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20,198
I noticed the same thing on my set. No clue why it says 100% time without a signal.
or did it meant the other way round...lol
coz if 100% without a signal, the radio would be searching for signals all the time, and end up sucking battery instead.
otaku7 is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 10:20 PM   #1919
Senior Member
 
bibiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,056
Hi all, hope I'm not asking a repeater or noob qn. I just got my note from moby but the set is a star hub set, loaded w starhub stuff. I'm using Singtel. Is there a way to load the software for Singtel or how to flash back to the default agent set? Anyone can teach me how? Thanks.
Anyone can help me noob first time android user here from iPhone? Else I cannot use the phone for tmr. How to load back to the dafault stock software w no starhub stuff....

Pls help.
bibiman is offline  
Old 24-11-2011, 10:21 PM   #1920
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
Guys, any idea if the warrenty if register the product online, still need send?
InfoSec is offline  
Closed Thread
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On