Poll On SSB (Singapore Savings Bond)

Will You Be Applying for SSB? If So, How Much?

• Not Applying For SSB

Votes: 27 33.3%
  • Applying $500-$2,000

Votes: 12 14.8%
  • Applying $2,000-5,000

Votes: 4 4.9%
  • Applying $5,000-10,000

Votes: 10 12.3%
  • Applying $10,000 to $20,000

Votes: 12 14.8%
  • Applying $20,000 to $50,000

Votes: 16 19.8%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

IamBeeP

so far 32% will not be taking SSB

for those not interested in SSB, what changes do they have to make to attract u in?

h returns with 1.55% p.a. interest on 11-month SGD Time Deposit now.

First year must match or better the above. IMHO

chowck

I like SSB a lot, I am currently 80% vested in stocks... so gonna put my 20% into SSB and corporate bonds

if bear bear comes and stocks fall 20-30%, can take out SSB and buy cheap blue chips

is this a good idea?

How do you take out in time to buy the stock cheap cheap if SSB needs 1 mth before you can get back the fund?:s11:

felixleong

How do you take out in time to buy the stock cheap cheap if SSB needs 1 mth before you can get back the fund?:s11:

if market crash 20-30%

dun think will recover within a month ba... if rebound then suay lor LOL

if crash 30% liao, take out.. 1 month later is only drop 20% from peak.. then still okay to buy some ba

xRenol

I am comparing SSB yield with OCBC 360 interest rate.

If one is able to hit the criteria of e.g. 1.75% interest rate for OCBC 360, you need to invest how many years in SSB to achieve the same interest rate.

Invest money in SSB or putting in OCBC 360 also does not incur any capital losses.

Apart from that, OCBC 360 Savings has more flexibility to withdraw the money any time as compared to SSB which requires 1 month period.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Applying $2,000-5,000

Currently I still need hard cash.

felixleong

heard that you only own a portion of the bond, not the whole bond itself, so not attractive to me, and bank fees may come in too. correct me if im wrong

also, unless you plan to put minimum 50k on this, the yield is low and pointless to some extent.

u put 500, 5k or 50k~ isn't the yield % still the same???

felixleong

heard that you only own a portion of the bond, not the whole bond itself, so not attractive to me, and bank fees may come in too. correct me if im wrong

also, unless you plan to put minimum 50k on this, the yield is low and pointless to some extent.

fees $2 only.............

felixleong

$500 X 2% = $10 ; subtract $2 for bank fee, left $8
$5000 X 2% = $100
$50000 X 2% = $1000

enough said

why must 50k then can?

you dun even know what you talking about man..........LOL

do u even know what is a bond fund?

Perisher

He just wanna see something substantial. $1000 is something to him, $100 isn't.

felixleong

heard rumours that its either june start or july start can apply SSB riao

fingers crossed

w1rbelw1nd

I just dislike the way SSB is structured. Unless the yield is higher than 10 years SGS bond, I wouldn't hold it. Prefer longer dated SGS bond

Bedokian

The more I looked at the SSB, the more I felt this is like a bond-cash hybrid. It is not tradeable on the market (thus removing the fluctuating market price risk) and the interest is like a money market fund/T-bill type, i.e. low interest (at least for the short to mid-term).

If so, I may consider this as a cash portion in my portfolio, and with it, I could have different sub-asset classes within cash itself based on liquidity, like fixed deposits, normal savings deposit and money market funds.

iCuteCube

The "Bank" fees should be S$2 leh, but info have not come out.

But won't be buying it, already held some bonds since the F&N bond time..

Flex11

I am comparing SSB yield with OCBC 360 interest rate.

If one is able to hit the criteria of e.g. 1.75% interest rate for OCBC 360, you need to invest how many years in SSB to achieve the same interest rate.

Invest money in SSB or putting in OCBC 360 also does not incur any capital losses.

Apart from that, OCBC 360 Savings has more flexibility to withdraw the money any time as compared to SSB which requires 1 month period.

True.. i think alot of people have already maxed out their ocbc360 cap and SSB provides a nice avenue for them to diversify

felixleong

True.. i think alot of people have already maxed out their ocbc360 cap and SSB provides a nice avenue for them to diversify

your display picture is very disturbing, please change or remove it
else I shall report to mod, thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.